Public Trustee v Wanduru Ndegwa [1984] KECA 72 (KLR)
The bottom line
#Kenya's Court of Appeal ruled that a buyer who pays in full and occupies land for twelve years can own it by adverse possession, even without land control consent.
What this practically means
#Executive summary
#Questions the Court framed
#The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.
- 1.Whether the claim was founded on adverse possession under the Limitation of Actions Act rather than on the contract of sale
- 2.From what date time for adverse possession began to run - the date of agreement and entry, or the date the agreement became void for want of land control consent
- 3.Whether the Land Control Act voids a sale agreement 'for all purposes' so as to bar a claim to title by adverse possession
- 4.Whether the respondent's suit in the magistrate's court, his physical entry, or the December 1977 letter offering to buy the land interrupted the adverse possession
- 5.Whether the respondent's right of action accrued through his father under section 7 of the Limitation of Actions Act
Key legal issues
#Whether the void-for-all-purposes sale agreement barred a claim by adverse possession
No - the claim was founded on adverse possession under the Limitation of Actions Act, an operation of law to which the Land Control Act does not apply
The land control legislation prohibits volitional dealings in agricultural land by agreement between parties. Acquisition of title by adverse possession occurs by operation of law, not by agreement, transaction or dealing. Reading the land control voiding provisions into section 7 of the Limitation of Actions Act would render the limitation scheme chaotic and emasculate section 38. The three-month (now six-month) consent period was purely procedural and never intended to curtail limitation periods.
The date from which adverse possession began to run
From March 16, 1967, the date the purchaser paid the full price and entered possession, when the true owner discontinued possession
Under section 9 of the Limitation of Actions Act the right of action accrues on the date of dispossession or discontinuance. The true owner ceased possession on the date of sale, payment and entry. Following Bridges v Mees and Mwangi Githu v Livingstone Ndete, limitation runs in favour of a purchaser in possession after payment of the purchase price. Twelve years therefore expired before the suit was filed on April 2, 1979.
Whether the respondent's magistrate court suit, entry, or the 1977 offer letter interrupted possession
None interrupted the adverse possession
The eviction order in Civil Case No 35 of 1978 was set aside and no judgment stood against the appellants; the respondent did not make the written, signed acknowledgement required by sections 23 and 24; the judge found the respondent's entry did not disturb possession; and the December 1977 offer letter was unproved, the advocate not being called after the second appellant denied authorising it, shifting the onus to the respondent.
Effect of registration on registered land
The registered proprietor holds the legal estate as bare trustee for the adverse possessor once twelve years run, subject to overriding interests not requiring noting on the register
Under sections 27, 28 and 30 of the Registered Land Act the proprietor's rights are subject to liabilities, rights and interests not noted on the register, including rights acquired under written law relating to limitation of actions and the rights of persons in actual occupation. Once the limitation period expires the registered owner's title is held in trust for the adverse possessor, who may apply under section 38 of the Limitation of Actions Act.
Legal principles established
#- The Land Control Act does not apply to acquisition of title to agricultural land by operation of law such as adverse possession, because such acquisition is not an agreement, transaction or dealing.
- The period for applying for land control consent is procedural and does not whittle down the twelve-year limitation period under the Limitation of Actions Act.
- Where a purchaser pays the full purchase price and takes possession, limitation runs against the vendor from the date of payment and entry, the vendor's possession being discontinued.
- A registered proprietor's title is held subject to the overriding interest of rights acquired under the Limitation of Actions Act by a person in possession.
- A successor claiming through the original registered proprietor takes subject to limitation already running; right of action accrues through the person from whom he claims.
- A suit that does not persist to execution does not interrupt adverse possession; an acknowledgement interrupting time must be in writing and signed.
Court orders
#- 1.Decree of the High Court set aside and the orders sought in the originating summons substituted - Mrs Beatrice Muthoni declared entitled to be registered as proprietor of parcel No Loc 8/Manyutha-Ndutumi/84 by adverse possession
- 2.Cross-appeal dismissed
- 3.Costs of the suit in the High Court and of the appeal and cross-appeal given to the appellants, without a certificate for two advocates
The bench
#Judges wrote separately. A dissent does not bind; a concurrence may narrow the ratio.
Wrote the judgment
Lead judgment: the claim was founded on adverse possession, not the void sale agreement; adverse possession ran from the date of entry and payment of the purchase price (March 16, 1967), so the twelve years had expired before the summons was filed; the Land Control Act does not apply to acquisition of title by operation of law; appeal allowed, cross-appeal dismissed, costs to appellants without a certificate for two advocates.
For these reasons I would set aside the decree of the High Court, and substitute therefor the orders sought in the originating summons.p. 4
Wrote the judgment
Agreed that the appeal should be allowed and the cross-appeal dismissed on the adverse-possession analysis, but dissented from Madan JA's characterisation of the matter, noting the claim based on failure to obtain land control consent was premature and the second ground was rightly abandoned at trial.
I would, with all due respect, dissent from the view that this was a straightforward case but otherwise I agree with the orders proposed by Madan JA.p. 7
Wrote the judgment
Concurring judgment: the claim was founded on adverse possession, not contract; the Land Control Act did not apply to the claim, so consent was irrelevant; time ran from March 16, 1967 when the respondent's possession was discontinued; the learned judge erred in calculating limitation by reference to the Land Control Act.
A transaction as envisaged under section 6 of the Land Control Act (cap 302) is a voluntary act, which adverse possession is not.p. 7
- On appeal from
- High Court of Kenya
- null (originating summons heard by Todd J)
- Jurisdiction invoked
- First appellate jurisdiction of the Court of Appeal (appeal from the High Court); specific enabling provision not stated in the judgment
Relief refused
#Certificate for two advocates
No justification; the proceedings became prolix only because of an arithmetical miscalculation of the twelve-year period
Costs
Costs of the suit in the High Court and of the appeal and cross-appeal to the appellants, without a certificate for two advocates.
Quotable passages
#Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.
For these reasons I would set aside the decree of the High Court, and substitute therefor the orders sought in the originating sums.
I would give the costs of the suit in the High Court and also of this appeal and the cross-appeal which is ordered to be dismissed, to the appellants but without a certificate for two advocates which has been asked for.
The provisions of the Land Control Act have no application where the claim to title of agricultural land is by operation of law such as by adverse possession.
The period of three months referred to in section 218 (2) (supra) was purely procedural, as also the period of six months now, or any other period, and not intended to curtail or reduce any period of limitation enacted by the Act.
Under section 9 of the Act the right of action accrues on the date of dispossession or discontinuance.
A transaction as envisaged under section 6 of the Land Control Act (cap 302) is a voluntary act, which adverse possession is not.
She based it on both those facts in paragraph 9 of her March 31,1979 affidavit in support of her summons (and her written statement of defence filed on December 6, 1978 in the senior resident magistrate, Murang'a's Civil Suit 35 of 1978) but during the trial they were split and the second was abandoned.
I would, with all due respect, dissent from the view that this was a straightforward case but otherwise I agree with the orders proposed by Madan JA.
Issues in the judgment
#The judgment contains internal date inconsistencies: the sale and possession dates are given as March 16, 1967 in the lead judgment but Kneller JA twice refers to 'March 16, 1977' and 'June 17, 1977', and the land area is given as 1.82 hectares in the lead judgment but 1.92 hectares in Chesoni Ag JA's judgment; the respondent's name is also rendered variously as Wanduru Ndegwa and Wandugu Ndegwa.
Key timeline
#Practical implications
#Frequently asked questions
#Later judgments citing this (24)
#Judgments in the corpus that rely on this one. Where the Court said how it treated the authority, that is shown.
- Ochola v Omuga (Enviromental and Land Originating Summons E045 of 2025) [2026] KEELC 5363 (KLR)[2026] KEELC 5363 (KLR)12 Aug 2026applied
- Njoka v Irubia & 4 others (Civil Appeal 26 of 2019) [2026] KECA 1469 (KLR)[2026] KECA 1469 (KLR)24 Jul 2026
- Munyi & 5 others v Chagara & 5 others (Enviromental and Land Originating Summons E005 of 2024) [2026] KEELC 4012 (KLR)[2026] KEELC 4012 (KLR)2 Jul 2026applied
- Bett v Tiampai & 2 others (Enviromental and Land Originating Summons E001 of 2025) [2026] KEELC 3500 (KLR)[2026] KEELC 3500 (KLR)4 Jun 2026applied
- Kimani v Kimani & 3 others (Environment and Land Case E100 of 2025) [2026] KEELC 1489 (KLR)[2026] KEELC 1489 (KLR)11 Mar 2026followed
- Okwemba v Mullo & another (Environment and Land Case E014 of 2023) [2026] KEELC 315 (KLR)[2026] KEELC 315 (KLR)29 Jan 2026applied
- Ouko & another (Suing as the Personal Representatives and Administrators of the Estate of Jason Atinda Ouko (Deceased)) v Kageni (Sued as the Personal Representative and Administrator of the Estate of Samuel Muhika Kageni (Deceased) (Civil Appeal 382 of 2019) [2025] KECA 2126 (KLR)[2025] KECA 2126 (KLR)5 Dec 2025applied
- Kitayi v Chesiriken (Suing as Personal Representative of Enock M. Psenjen - Deceased) & 2 others (Environment and Land Case E005 of 2022) [2025] KEELC 7671 (KLR)[2025] KEELC 7671 (KLR)5 Nov 2025applied
- Chacha v Koroso (Enviromental and Land Originating Summons E011 of 2023) [2025] KEELC 7433 (KLR)[2025] KEELC 7433 (KLR)30 Oct 2025applied
- Chepwambok & another v Chepkemboi (Land Case 6 of 2022) [2025] KEELC 7520 (KLR)[2025] KEELC 7520 (KLR)29 Oct 2025
- Mbogo v Njau & another (Enviromental and Land Originating Summons 8 of 2019) [2025] KEELC 5345 (KLR)[2025] KEELC 5345 (KLR)17 Jul 2025applied
- Gitiro (Sued as the Legal Representative of Thomas Chacha Gitiro (Deceased)) v Seria (Sued as the Legal Representative of Seria Boroye Sinda (Deceased)) (Environment and Land Case 30 of 2021) [2025] KEELC 5177 (KLR)[2025] KEELC 5177 (KLR)8 Jul 2025applied
- Gakumo v Mwai Commercial Agencies & another (Enviromental and Land Originating Summons E012 of 2023) [2025] KEELC 4809 (KLR)[2025] KEELC 4809 (KLR)26 Jun 2025applied
- Otieno v Mwai Commercial Agencies & another (Enviromental and Land Originating Summons E018 of 2023) [2025] KEELC 4806 (KLR)[2025] KEELC 4806 (KLR)26 Jun 2025applied
- Sambaya v Mwai Commercial Agencies (Enviromental and Land Originating Summons E019 of 2023) [2025] KEELC 4788 (KLR)[2025] KEELC 4788 (KLR)26 Jun 2025applied
- Ayiemba v Mwai Commercial Agencies and another (Enviromental and Land Originating Summons E015 of 2023) [2025] KEELC 4770 (KLR)[2025] KEELC 4770 (KLR)26 Jun 2025applied
- Wambui & 3 others v Mwai Commercial Agencies & 2 others (Enviromental and Land Originating Summons E017 of 2023) [2025] KEELC 4768 (KLR)[2025] KEELC 4768 (KLR)26 Jun 2025applied
- Okwiri v Mwai Commercial Agencies and another (Enviromental and Land Originating Summons E010 of 2023) [2025] KEELC 4771 (KLR)[2025] KEELC 4771 (KLR)26 Jun 2025applied
- Ochieng v Mwai Commercial Agencies & 2 others (Sued as Administrators of the Estate of the Late Charles Mathenge - Deceased) (Enviromental and Land Originating Summons E009 of 2023) [2025] KEELC 4764 (KLR)[2025] KEELC 4764 (KLR)26 Jun 2025applied
- Mucha v Mwai Commercila Agencies & another (Environment and Land Case E014 of 2023) [2025] KEELC 4763 (KLR)[2025] KEELC 4763 (KLR)26 Jun 2025applied
- Aluoch v Mwai Comercial Agencies & another (Enviromental and Land Originating Summons E011 of 2023) [2025] KEELC 4762 (KLR)[2025] KEELC 4762 (KLR)26 Jun 2025applied
- Majimbo v Jesang (Environment & Land Case E034 of 2024) [2025] KEELC 4441 (KLR)[2025] KEELC 4441 (KLR)10 Jun 2025applied
- Ndeto (Suing as a legal representative of James Mutua Ngui - Deceased) v Chania Enterprises Ltd & Nominees (Civil Appeal 121 of 2019) [2025] KECA 299 (KLR)[2025] KECA 299 (KLR)21 Feb 2025
- Tue (Suing as the Legal Administrator of the Estate of Kipkoech Arap Tue - Deceased) v Nganga (Enviromental and Land Originating Summons E8 of 2023) [2025] KEELC 563 (KLR)[2025] KEELC 563 (KLR)13 Feb 2025followed
Cite this brief
#Cite this brief
Caselaw, "Public Trustee v Wanduru Ndegwa [1984] KECA 72 (KLR)", Case Analysis (1984). null (not stated in the judgment). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keca/1984/72/eng@1984-05-09
Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.