Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
Court of AppealPartially AllowedCivil Appeal No. 120 of 1999· [2000] KECA 392 (KLR)

Lion of Kenya Insurance Company Ltd v Trinity Prime Investments Ltd

Court of Appeal
7 April 2000
2,536 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~10 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

Kenya's Court of Appeal ruled an insurance company could defend a Kshs.6.7 million fire claim because the settlement paperwork was ambiguous and needed a full trial.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The Court of Appeal allowed the appellant insurer's appeal against a High Court summary judgment awarding the respondent Kshs.6,776,471 plus interest under a domestic package fire insurance policy. The property, purchased by the respondent at a bank auction, was insured concurrently by Madison Insurance Company (under the vendor's policy) and by the appellant, both policies containing rateable proportion indemnity clauses. After fire destroyed the property, the appellant paid half the assessed loss of Kshs.12,800,000 and obtained a discharge voucher whose wording the Court found ambiguous, making its character as an absolute or conditional release a triable issue. The Court identified further triable issues: whether the interests insured under the two policies were the same, a factual question requiring oral evidence; whether section 49 of the Transfer of Property Act applied, which depended on proof of transfer and of a demand by the transferee; and the non-joinder of the Bank and Madison. Reiterating the summary judgment standard that leave to defend must be granted where a defence raises issues requiring investigation, the Court set aside the summary judgment and substituted an order granting the appellant unconditional leave to defend. Costs of the appeal and the summary judgment application were ordered to abide the outcome of the suit in the High Court, following Continental Butchery Ltd v Samson Musila Nthiwa. The substantive insurance questions were expressly left for determination by the trial court.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the discharge voucher was an absolute or conditional discharge

Holding

The voucher was ambiguously worded and its construction, possibly with oral evidence, was a triable issue unfit for summary determination

Reasoning

The opening sentence made payment subject to the appellant's own approval, which was incoherent if the release were absolute. The party to be bound signed it, its drafter was unknown, and the respondent afterwards still demanded the balance. The Court held the document's import might require oral testimony, so the defence on this ground required investigation.

p. 2
02

Whether the rateable proportion clause applied given possibly differing insured interests

Holding

Whether the interest insured by the appellant was the same as that insured by Madison was a question of fact requiring oral evidence

Reasoning

The respondent claimed its interest was ownership while Madison's cover was limited to Stone Crest's indebtedness to the Bank. Since the clause applies only where the interests insured are the same, and the parties disagreed, evidence was needed to establish the distinction between the two interests before liability could be apportioned.

p. 3
03

Application of section 49 of the Transfer of Property Act

Holding

Section 49 could only assist the appellant if specified matters, including a demand by the transferee for money actually received under the transferor's policy, were established

Reasoning

The section permits a transferee to require insurance monies received by the transferor to be applied to reinstatement, absent contrary contract. It was unknown whether the property had been transferred to the respondent or whether the requisite demand had been made, so the extent of the appellant's liability required investigation.

p. 3
04

Summary judgment standard

Holding

Leave to defend must be granted where the defence raises issues requiring investigation; only a defendant with no defence or a sham defence is shut out

Reasoning

Under O.XXXV rule 2(1) a defendant may show by affidavit, oral evidence or otherwise that he should have leave to defend. Because multiple triable issues arose on the discharge voucher, the insured interests, section 49 TPA and the non-joinder of the Bank and Madison, the trial judge should have granted unconditional leave.

p. 4

Legal principles established

#
  • On an application for summary judgment, if a defendant's defence raises issues requiring investigation, the court is obliged to grant leave to defend, conditionally or unconditionally
  • A sham defence is one proffered merely for delay; a defendant with no defence or only a sham defence will not get leave
  • A rateable proportion indemnity clause applies only where the interests insured under the concurrent policies are the same

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Appeal allowed
  2. 2.Summary judgment of 24th March 1999 for Kshs.6,776,471 set aside
  3. 3.Substituted order granting the appellant unconditional leave to defend the suit
  4. 4.Costs of the appeal and of the summary judgment application to abide the outcome of the suit in the superior court
On appeal from
High Court of Kenya at Nairobi
H.C.C.C. No. 2134 of 1997
Jurisdiction invoked
First appeal to the Court of Appeal against a High Court summary judgment (no specific constitutional/statutory provision stated in the judgment)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Later judgments citing this (1)

#

Judgments in the corpus that rely on this one. Where the Court said how it treated the authority, that is shown.

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Lion of Kenya Insurance Company Ltd v Trinity Prime Investments Ltd", Case Analysis (2000). Civil Appeal No. 120 of 1999. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keca/2000/392/eng@2000-04-07

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.