Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
Court of AppealPartially AllowedCriminal Appeal (not stated in judgment beyond second appeal from Naivasha CM's Court)

Muthoni v Republic (Criminal Appeal 9 of 2017) [2023] KECA 1532 (KLR)

Court of Appeal of Kenya
15 December 2023
2,187 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~9 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

Kenya's Court of Appeal upheld a gang rape conviction but cut the sentence start date back to when the accused was first arrested.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
This is a second appeal to the Court of Appeal at Nakuru against the dismissal by the High Court (Meoli J, judgment of February 23, 2017) of the appellant's first appeal against his conviction for gang rape under Section 10 of the Sexual Offences Act and a sentence of 15 years' imprisonment imposed by the Chief Magistrate's Court at Naivasha on November 14, 2014. The complainant, BNN, had left her mobile phone for charging at the appellant's kinyozi; when she returned to collect it, an accomplice held her while the appellant locked the door and raised the radio volume, and the accomplice raped her. The prosecution called three witnesses, including a medical officer whose P3 Form corroborated defilement. The appellant gave an unsworn denial. At the plenary hearing the appellant effectively abandoned the merits, raising only that the 9 months he spent in remand before sentencing was not considered. Applying Section 361(1)(a) of the Criminal Procedure Code, the court upheld the concurrent factual findings, holding the conviction safe, and dismissed the appeal on conviction. However, invoking Section 333(2), the court found the trial court erred in failing to account for the custodial period and ordered the 15-year sentence to run from February 27, 2014, the date of first arraignment. The appeal therefore succeeded only to that limited extent, resulting in a partial allowance.

Questions the Court framed

#

The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.

  1. 1.Whether the conviction for gang rape under Section 10 of the Sexual Offences Act was safe and supported by sufficient evidence
  2. 2.Whether the period of 9 months spent in custody prior to sentencing should be taken into account in computing the sentence under Section 333(2) of the Criminal Procedure Code

Key legal issues

#
01

Scope of a second appeal under Section 361 of the Criminal Procedure Code

Holding

The Court of Appeal on a second appeal concerns itself only with matters of law and will not disturb concurrent findings of fact.

Reasoning

Relying on Kados v Republic and David Njoroge Macharia v Republic, the court reiterated that its mandate on a second appeal is confined to questions of law. Interference with concurrent factual findings is only warranted where the findings rest on no evidence, a misapprehension of the evidence, or demonstrably wrong principles. The evidence here was overwhelming and largely uncontested, so the conviction stood.

p. 3
02

Section 333(2) Criminal Procedure Code - credit for time spent in custody before sentence

Holding

Where a trial court fails to take into account the period spent in custody prior to sentencing, the appellate court will order the sentence to run from the date of first arraignment.

Reasoning

The appellant was arraigned on February 27, 2014 but sentenced on November 14, 2014, a period of about 9 months. The trial court's sentencing judgment did not indicate that the custodial period was considered, and the State conceded. The court held the trial court fell into error and directed the sentence to run from the date of arraignment.

p. 4

Legal principles established

#
  • A second appellate court considers only matters of law and will not interfere with concurrent findings of fact unless based on no evidence, misapprehension of evidence, or wrong principles

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Appeal against conviction dismissed
  2. 2.Sentence of 15 years' imprisonment to run from February 27, 2014, the date the appellant was first arraigned in court, to take account of the period spent in custody

The bench

#

One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.

majority

Wrote the judgment

majority
majority
On appeal from
High Court of Kenya
Not stated in judgment
Jurisdiction invoked
Second appeal under Section 361(1)(a) of the Criminal Procedure Code

Relief refused

#

Setting aside of the conviction for gang rape

Evidence overwhelming and uncontested; concurrent findings by trial court and High Court

p. 4

Costs

No costs order made in the judgment

Quotable passages

#

Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.

Accordingly, we hold and find that the appellants’ conviction for the ofience of gang rape was safe and sound, which conviction we hereby uphold and consequently, dismiss the appellant’s appeal on conviction.
p. 4Upholding of conviction on second appeal
Accordingly, we order that the sentence of 15 years’ imprisonment meted out on the appellant on November 14, 2014, shall run from the date that the appellant was first arraigned in court on February 27, 2014. The appellant’s appeal only succeeds to that extent.
p. 4Final orders - sentence to run from date of arraignment
It is so ordered.
p. 4Disposition

Issues in the judgment

#
minor

Judge's first name printed inconsistently; signature block reads 'F. SICHALE' while panel listing convention suggests 'Sichangi' or similar - spelling uncertain from judgment text

minor

The word 'offence' is rendered 'ofience' throughout, and the specific Court of Appeal case number for this appeal is not stated

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Muthoni v Republic (Criminal Appeal 9 of 2017) [2023] KECA 1532 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2023). Criminal Appeal (not stated in judgment beyond second appeal from Naivasha CM's Court). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keca/2023/1532/eng@2023-12-15

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.