Ngugi v Towett & 4 others (Civil Appeal 38 of 2019) [2024] KECA 362 (KLR)
The bottom line
#Kenya's Court of Appeal confirmed that fraud claims need real evidence, not just accusations, before a court will stop a land transaction.
What this practically means
#Executive summary
#Questions the Court framed
#The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.
- 1.Whether the learned judge erred in law and in fact in dismissing the appellant's application dated 22nd September 2016 and determining the matter at the interlocutory stage
Key legal issues
#Whether the Court of Appeal should interfere with the trial judge's discretionary refusal of a temporary injunction
The discretion was properly exercised; the appellant failed to establish a prima facie case of fraud and his conduct was that of an indolent litigant
Injunctions are equitable remedies issued at judicial discretion. Interference is permitted only on the United India Insurance parameters. The judge examined the documents, noted the unexplained two-year delay in repudiating the sale agreement, the absence of a police report on the alleged fraud, the undisclosed advocate, and no proof the appellant was absent from the Land Control Board. The fraud allegations remained word against word, unsupported by evidence.
Whether the trial court determined the matter finally at interlocutory stage
The contention was without basis; the judge was aware he was dealing with an interlocutory application and required only that some evidence of fraud be tabled at that stage
The appellant argued the judge wrongly decided the matter at interlocutory stage despite triable issues. The court held the judge expressly acknowledged he was not dealing with the case after a full hearing, and that the plaintiff needed to table even at that stage some evidence pointing at the alleged fraud. Having done so, the dismissal of the injunction application was a proper interlocutory decision.
Legal principles established
#- An appellate court will interfere with a discretionary decision only on the five established grounds (misdirection in law, misapprehension of facts, wrong considerations taken into account or omitted, or a plainly wrong decision).
- A party alleging fraud must table cogent evidence of it even at interlocutory stage; mere allegation suffices not.
Court orders
#- 1.The appellant's appeal is dismissed
- 2.Costs of the appeal awarded to the 5th respondent
The bench
#One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.
- On appeal from
- Environment and Land Court
- Not stated
- Jurisdiction invoked
- First appeal under the rules of the Court of Appeal (rule 31 of the Rules of this Court); appellate jurisdiction over the ELC ruling
Relief refused
#Setting aside or review of the trial court's ruling dismissing the injunction application
The appellant failed to establish a prima facie case of fraud and the trial judge properly exercised his discretion
Costs
The appeal was dismissed with costs to the 5th respondent
Quotable passages
#Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.
The totality of our findings is that the appellant’s appeal is without merit and the same is hereby dismissed with costs to the 5th respondent.
The appellant’s appeal is thus clearly dead on arrival, with no room for resuscitation.
It is evident from the circumstances of this case that the allegations of fraud by the appellant against the respondents remained his word against theirs and was not supported by any evidence.
In no case will the Court grant an interlocutory injunction as of course.
Issues in the judgment
#The judgment states the sale agreement date inconsistently - paragraph 3 says 23rd December 2014 while paragraph 18 says 23rd December 2024
Counsel's name is spelled inconsistently - 'Mr. Nyanjwa' in paragraph 10 and 'Mr. Nyanchwa' in paragraph 25
Key timeline
#Practical implications
#Frequently asked questions
#Cite this brief
#Cite this brief
Caselaw, "Ngugi v Towett & 4 others (Civil Appeal 38 of 2019) [2024] KECA 362 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2024). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keca/2024/362/eng@2024-03-22
Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.