Chetambe v Kirambi (Civil Appeal 219 of 2018) [2024] KECA 1510 (KLR)
The bottom line
#Kenya's Court of Appeal ruled that someone living on land with the owner's permission cannot claim ownership through adverse possession.
What this practically means
#Executive summary
#Questions the Court framed
#The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.
- 1.Whether or not the respondent was entitled to the suit property by adverse possession
Key legal issues
#Whether the respondent proved adverse possession of the suit land
The respondent failed to prove adverse possession; her entry was permissive and she did not dispossess the appellant
The court found the respondent entered with the appellant's permission, never rebutted the 2003-2006 dispute resolution attempts, and lodged a caution in 2014 as a purchaser, showing her occupation was not hostile. The appellant's registration of a charge in 1999 (discharged 2003) demonstrated continued use of the land without physical occupation. Dispossession or discontinuance of the owner's possession for 12 years was not established, so the trial judge erred.
The correct test for assessing adverse possession
Proof lies in whether the registered owner was dispossessed or discontinued possession, not merely whether the claimant was in possession for 12 years
The court held that adverse possession contemplates possession and discontinuance of possession by the owner; the proper assessment is whether the owner was dispossessed or discontinued possession for the statutory period, rather than whether the claimant proved possession for the requisite years. Physical absence of the owner is not conclusive of dispossession where the owner makes use of the land, as through a charge.
Legal principles established
#- To succeed in adverse possession the claimant must prove non-permissive, open, exclusive occupation amounting to dispossession of the registered owner; permissive entry does not found a claim
Court orders
#- 1.The appeal is allowed and the judgment of the trial court is set aside
- 2.A declaration that the appellant is the lawful and registered owner of the suit land
- 3.A declaration that the respondent did not acquire title to the suit property by adverse possession
- 4.The respondent shall bear the costs of this appeal and of the suit before the trial court
The bench
#One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.
- On appeal from
- High Court (Environment and Land as evident from record)
- Originating Summons dated 3rd November 2014
- Jurisdiction invoked
- First appeal to the Court of Appeal under Article 164 of the Constitution / the Court's first appellate mandate
Relief refused
#Respondent's prayer for declaration of title by adverse possession and registration as proprietor
Occupation was permissive and not proven to have dispossessed the registered owner for the statutory 12 years
Costs
As costs follow the event, the respondent shall bear the costs of this appeal and of the suit before the trial court.
Quotable passages
#Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.
Adverse possession is essentially a situation where a person takes possession of land and asserts rights over it and the person having title to it omits or neglects to take action against such person in assertion of his title for a period of 12 years or more.
we find that the appeal is merited. We allow the appeal and set aside the judgment of the trial court
The appellant is the lawful and registered owner of the suit land.
The respondent did not acquire title to the suit property by adverse possession.
As costs follow the event, the respondent shall bear the costs of this appeal and of the suit before the trial court.
Issues in the judgment
#Names of the parties and the case number/title of the appeal are not stated in the judgment text; the parties are referred to only as 'the appellant' and 'the respondent'
The court cites Richard Wefwafwa Songoi for a proposition attributed to it by counsel but the court's own later use of the case frames it as listing factual elements, creating a slight tension in how the case is deployed
Key timeline
#Practical implications
#Frequently asked questions
#Cite this brief
#Cite this brief
Caselaw, "Chetambe v Kirambi (Civil Appeal 219 of 2018) [2024] KECA 1510 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2024). Court of Appeal Appeal (number not stated in judgment). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keca/2024/1510/eng@2024-10-25
Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.