Omoto v Republic (Criminal Appeal 190 of 2018) [2025] KECA 9 (KLR)
The bottom line
#Kenya's Court of Appeal confirmed that robbery-with-violence convictions rest on solid identification evidence, and the mandatory death sentence still stands for now.
What this practically means
#Executive summary
#Questions the Court framed
#The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.
- 1.Whether the two courts below misapplied the principles of recognition/identification evidence
- 2.Whether the trial court violated the appellant's constitutional right by failing to inform him of his right to representation
- 3.Whether the prosecution proved its case beyond reasonable doubt
- 4.Whether the mandatory death sentence was manifestly excessive
Key legal issues
#Identification/recognition evidence in night-time robbery
The identification was error-free because the complainant did not lose sight of the fleeing assailant, the appellant was arrested in the act of fleeing, and corroborating witnesses confirmed the chase and arrest
While the court cautioned that identification evidence must be received with care, it noted that the risk of misidentification is vastly reduced where identification is by recognition. Although Abdi recognized the appellant as his former student only upon arrest, the continuous chase, the appellant's arrest in flight, and the corroboration by PW2 and PW3 made the identification reliable and free of error.
Doctrine of recent possession
The appellant was found with the complainant's jacket stolen minutes earlier, gave no explanation, which alone would have linked him to the robbery and fortified the identification evidence
The court applied the four-element test from Erick Otieno Arum: possession positively proved, property identified as the complainant's, stolen, and recently stolen. The appellant had the jacket only minutes after the robbery, ownership was uncontested, and he offered no explanation. Concurrent findings of fact by the two lower courts on possession were binding on this second appeal.
Proof of robbery with violence under section 296(2)
All ingredients were proved: more than one assailant, force used by head-butting, and theft of the phone and jacket
The court held that either the presence of more than one assailant or the use of actual violence, coupled with the theft, would establish robbery with violence under section 296(2). It declined to disturb the concurrent findings of the two courts below that the offence was proved beyond reasonable doubt.
Constitutionality of the mandatory death sentence for robbery with violence
Muruatetu cannot be directly applied to robbery with violence; absent a properly escalated constitutional petition, the mandatory death penalty under section 296(2) remains the lawful sentence
The court relied on Muruatetu 2, in which the Supreme Court directed that challenges to the mandatory death penalty in capital offences other than murder must be properly filed before the High Court and escalated to the Court of Appeal. Neither court has yet considered such a challenge, so the mandatory sentence stands.
Legal principles established
#- In second appeals, the Court of Appeal will not interfere with concurrent findings of fact by the two lower courts unless based on no evidence, misapprehension of the evidence, or wrong principles
- The Court of Appeal has no jurisdiction in second appeals to hear grounds of appeal which were not raised and considered before the High Court
- The doctrine of recent possession requires proof that the property was found with the suspect, that it is positively the complainant's property, and that it was recently stolen from the complainant
- Pending a properly escalated constitutional challenge, the mandatory death penalty remains the only lawful sentence for robbery with violence under section 296(2) of the Penal Code
Court orders
#- 1.Dismissal of the appeal in its entirety
- 2.The conviction and death sentence imposed by the trial court and affirmed by the High Court stand
The bench
#One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.
- On appeal from
- High Court
- not stated in judgment
- Jurisdiction invoked
- Section 361(1) of the Criminal Procedure Code (second appeal limited to matters of law)
Relief refused
#Quashing of conviction and sentence on the ground that the trial court did not inform the appellant of his right to representation
Ground raised for the first time on second appeal; not properly preserved and the Court is precluded from considering it on jurisdictional grounds
Reduction of the mandatory death sentence
Muruatetu cannot be directly applied to robbery with violence; no properly escalated constitutional petition on the validity of the mandatory death penalty under section 296(2)
Costs
No costs order made in the judgment
Quotable passages
#Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.
The upshot is that the appeal herein has no merit. We hereby dismiss it in its entirety.
This is a second appeal. As such, our jurisdiction is limited to a consideration of matters of law only, by dint of section 361(1) of the Criminal Procedure Code.
In our view, before a court of law can rely on the doctrine of recent possession as a basis of conviction in a criminal case, the possession must be positively proved.
However, Courts have pointed out that the risk of misidentification is vastly reduced when the identification evidence is one of recognition.
Issues in the judgment
#Inconsistent citation year for Wamunga v Republic - cited as [1998] KLR 424 and later as (1989) KLR 424 in the same judgment
The judgment states the robbery occurred on 25th June 2014 in the charge but narrates the incident as occurring on 25/05/2014
Sentence appears incomplete - 'Abdi Wanga Masinde of a mobile phone make Samsung GT 2230' omits the word 'model' or similar, a drafting error
Key timeline
#Practical implications
#Frequently asked questions
#Later judgments citing this (1)
#Judgments in the corpus that rely on this one. Where the Court said how it treated the authority, that is shown.
- Nyongesa & 2 others v Republic (Criminal Appeal 114 of 2020) [2025] KECA 2003 (KLR)[2025] KECA 2003 (KLR)21 Nov 2025
Cite this brief
#Cite this brief
Caselaw, "Omoto v Republic (Criminal Appeal 190 of 2018) [2025] KECA 9 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2025). Criminal Appeal (not stated in judgment). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keca/2025/9/eng@2025-01-10
Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.