Lilian Shibalila Mudenyo & 3 others v County Government of Kakamega & 1 other
The bottom line
#A Kenyan title deed alone won't save your land claim — you must also prove you acquired it legally and cleanly.
What this practically means
#Executive summary
#Key legal issues
#Indefeasibility of title under Section 26 of the Land Registration Act versus proof of legality of the root of title
A certificate of title is only prima facie evidence of ownership; where the root of the title is challenged, the proprietor must prove that the acquisition was legal, formal and free from encumbrances. The appellants' title to parcel 2864, issued over land compulsorily acquired and subject to a restriction, was invalid.
The court applied Section 26 of the Land Registration Act and the Dina Management/Munyu Maina line of authority: dangling the title instrument is insufficient when the instrument itself is under challenge. The Green Card for parcel 579 bore an endorsement of compulsory acquisition and a restriction, and under Section 31 of the former Registered Land Act the appellants are deemed to have had notice of register entries. Having bought land with a subsisting restriction and failing to explain how subdivision and registration occurred, the appellants could not rely on indefeasibility.
Burden of proof on a first appeal
The burden remained on the appellants, as the party asserting ownership, to establish a legally and procedurally obtained title; failure to call the Land Registrar or tender conveyance evidence was fatal.
Relying on Sections 107 and 108 of the Evidence Act and Halsbury's Laws of England, the court held that the legal burden rests on the party desiring the court to take action. The appellants only produced a Green Card and certificate of title, offered no evidence of the conveyance and registration, and did not call the Land Registrar who could have explained the register entries. They could not shift that burden to the trial court or to the respondents.
Duty of the first appellate court
The Court of Appeal on a first appeal must re-evaluate the evidence and draw its own conclusions, and may only interfere with the trial court's findings where they are based on no evidence, a misapprehension of the evidence, or wrong principles.
The court restated the classic first-appeal duty from Kenya Ports Authority v Kuston and Mwanasokoni v Kenya Bus Services. Having performed that re-evaluation, the court found the trial judge's conclusions - that the appellants had no valid titles, no proof of encroachment, and that the 1st respondent held an earlier valid lease to parcel 8056 - were fully supported by the evidence and could not be faulted.
Legal principles established
#- On a first appeal, the Court of Appeal must re-evaluate, re-assess and re-analyse the evidence and arrive at its own conclusions, while making due allowance for not having seen or heard the witnesses.
- A registered proprietor whose root of title is under challenge must go beyond the title instrument and prove the legality of the acquisition; an indefeasible title under Section 26 of the Land Registration Act yields to proof of fraud, illegality, procedural irregularity or corrupt scheme.
- A purchaser is deemed to have notice of every entry in the register subsisting at the time of acquisition; a party cannot feign ignorance of a restriction or endorsement on the Green Card.
- The burden of proving that a title was legally and procedurally obtained lies on the party asserting ownership; that burden remains constant throughout the trial.
Court orders
#- 1.The appeal was dismissed with costs
- 2.The judgment of the Environment and Land Court dismissing the appellants' suit, cancelling the appellants' title in respect of parcel No. S/Wanga/Lureko/2864, ordering eviction and issuing a permanent injunction was upheld
- On appeal from
- Environment and Land Court
- Not stated in the judgment
- Jurisdiction invoked
- First appeal to the Court of Appeal under its appellate jurisdiction (specific provision not cited in the judgment)
Key timeline
#Practical implications
#Frequently asked questions
#Cite this brief
#Cite this brief
Caselaw, "Lilian Shibalila Mudenyo & 3 others v County Government of Kakamega & 1 other", Case Analysis (2025). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keca/2025/117/eng@2025-01-31
Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.