Chai alias Juma Kazungu v Republic (Criminal Appeal E085 of 2022) [2025] KECA 185 (KLR)
The bottom line
#Kenya's Court of Appeal upheld a murder conviction but cut the sentence from 35 to 15 years, citing the offender's youth and first-offender status.
What this practically means
#Executive summary
#Questions the Court framed
#The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.
- 1.whether the prosecution proved the offence of murder to the required standards
- 2.whether the prosecution failed to call crucial witnesses
- 3.whether the sentence was harsh and excessive
Key legal issues
#Proof of murder and the doctrine of common intention
The prosecution proved murder through the doctrine of common intention under section 21 of the Penal Code; the appellant was present, shared a common intention formed in the course of the assault, and the death was a probable consequence.
The Court restated the ingredients of murder and the elements of common intention from prior authority. It found the appellant at the scene with five others, one armed with a rungu, that a common intention was contrived during the beating, and that the unlawful actions resulted in death. Mob-justice situations make it difficult to pinpoint the fatal blow, so section 21 attributes liability to all participants.
Identification by a single witness
Recognition of the appellant as PW1's uncle was reliable; the trial judge properly convicted on the uncorroborated but satisfactory evidence of a single identifying witness.
The Court applied Abdallah Bin Wendo and Wamunga on the care required with single-witness identification. It held recognition dependent on personal knowledge is more reliable, that PW1 was the only scene witness, and that no difficult conditions were shown. Contradictions alleged about rungus were immaterial because PW1 was emphatic the appellant beat the deceased with bottles.
Malice aforethought
Malice aforethought was proved by the nature of the weapons, targeting of the head, repeated blows, and the pursuit of the fleeing deceased.
Applying Tubere s/o Ochen and Rwabugande, the Court inferred malice from the use of rungus and bottles on a vulnerable part of the body, multiple head fractures exposing brain matter, and the merciless pursuit of the deceased despite his pleas. Medical evidence corroborated PW1's account of a vicious, sustained assault intended to cause death or grievous harm.
Failure to call crucial witnesses
The prosecution's discretion as to which witnesses to call will not be disturbed absent oblique motive; uncalled witnesses were either at large or would have added no value.
Relying on Julius Kalewa Mutunga and section 143 of the Evidence Act, the Court held that only sufficient witnesses need be called. The named civilian witnesses were suspects who could not be traced, and the police officers had not witnessed the attack. The appellant could have called PW1's father in his own defence.
Sentencing and mitigation
The absence of sentencing proceedings notwithstanding, the 35-year sentence was excessive; it was set aside and replaced with 15 years.
The Court reiterated the principles in Kogo and Omuse for interfering with sentence, noted the appellant was a first offender aged 20 at the time of the offence, and weighed that only one participant in a mob-justice killing shoulders responsibility. Rehabilitation as an objective of sentencing justified giving the appellant an opportunity to reform, warranting reduction of the term.
Legal principles established
#- On a first appeal the Court of Appeal must re-examine the evidence afresh and reach its own independent conclusions.
- The prosecution need not call a superfluity of witnesses, only those sufficient to establish the charge beyond reasonable doubt.
- An appellate court interferes with sentence only where an irrelevant factor was considered, a relevant factor ignored, a wrong principle applied, or the sentence is manifestly excessive.
- Where only evidence of identification or recognition exists, the trial court must examine it with care and satisfy itself the circumstances were favourable and free from error.
Court orders
#- 1.Affirmation of the judgment of the learned Judge (R. Nyakundi, J.) dated 31st March 2022 as regards conviction
- 2.Setting aside of the 35 years imprisonment and substitution of 15 years imprisonment
The bench
#One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.
- On appeal from
- High Court of Kenya
- not stated
- Jurisdiction invoked
- First appellate jurisdiction under the Court of Appeal Act over an appeal from a High Court murder conviction
Relief refused
#Setting aside of the conviction
The Court was satisfied that all elements of murder, including common intention and malice aforethought, were proved and that the identification by recognition was reliable
Reduction of sentence to 10-15 years or time served as proposed by counsel
The Court nonetheless found the 35-year term excessive and substituted 15 years, but the conviction stood
Costs
No costs order was made in the judgment.
Quotable passages
#Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.
In the end, this appeal fails on conviction, but succeeds as regards the sentence. We hereby afrm the judgment of the learned Judge (R. Nyakundi, J.) dated 31st March 2022, save that we set aside the 35 years jailterm and substitute for 15 years imprisonment.
It is so ordered.
This being a frst appeal, this Court's duty is to submit the evidence as a whole to a fresh and exhaustive examination so as to arrive at its own independent fndings on the evidence.
it is difcult in the case of mob justice, such as in this case, to pin point that a blow or assault by a particular person in the group led to a victim's death. It is in such circumstances that the provisions of Section 21 of the Penal Code come into play.
We are unable to fnd any material contradictions in PW1's evidence that were fatal to the prosecution's case.
That the prosecution is not obliged to call a superfuity of witnesses, but only such witnesses as are sufcient to establish the charge beyond reasonable doubt.
Issues in the judgment
#Paragraph numbering is duplicated - two successive paragraphs are both numbered 24, and two both numbered 32.
The case number of the appeal is not stated anywhere in the judgment and no neutral citation appears on the face of the judgment.
Key timeline
#Practical implications
#Frequently asked questions
#Cite this brief
#Cite this brief
Caselaw, "Chai alias Juma Kazungu v Republic (Criminal Appeal E085 of 2022) [2025] KECA 185 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2025). Criminal Appeal (not expressly numbered in judgment). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keca/2025/185/eng@2025-02-07
Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.