Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
Court of AppealDismissedNot stated in the judgment (first appeal from High Court suit before F. Ochieng J.)

Otieno v Ochola & 2 others (Civil Appeal 286 of 2019) [2025] KECA 331 (KLR)

Court of Appeal
21 February 2025
5,884 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~24 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

Kenya's Court of Appeal confirmed that a libel claim fails unless you prove the statement was false, defamatory, published, and malicious — wanting damages isn't enough.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
This is a first appeal to the Court of Appeal at Kisumu against the judgment of the High Court (F. Ochieng J.) delivered on 8th August 2019, dismissing with costs a libel suit by Michael Otieno Juma against the NGO Coordination Board, Martin Luther Omondi Ochola and Christine Awuor Otiri. The dispute arose from a letter dated 5th October 2010 in which the NGO Board ratified a change of officials of the Centre for Peace and Democracy (CEPAD), and an advertisement in the Daily Nation of 15th October 2010 stating that the appellant had ceased to be CEPAD's secretary. The suit against Martin abated on his death. The Court framed the main issue as whether the respondents published or caused to be published a libelous advertisement and whether the appellant was entitled to damages. Restating the ingredients of defamation and applying the burden of proof under Section 107 of the Evidence Act, the Court held that the impugned notice was neither false nor defamatory: it reflected the true position on the ground, there was some justification for stating that the appellant had been removed, no malice was proved, the NGO Board did not publish the notice, and the claimed special damages from a withdrawn job offer were not linked to the publication. The Court upheld the judgment of the High Court and dismissed the appeal with costs, indicating that had the libel been proved it would not have disturbed nominal damages of Kshs.200,000.

Questions the Court framed

#

The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.

  1. 1.Whether the respondents published or caused to be published an advertisement which was libelous of the appellant
  2. 2.Whether the appellant was entitled to any damages

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the impugned notice was libelous of the appellant

Holding

The notice was neither false nor defamatory; it reflected the true position on the ground that the appellant had been removed as secretary and there was no evidence of malice.

Reasoning

The Court found that although the meeting removing the appellant was vitiated by lack of a proper agenda, there was a meeting of CEPAD Board members which resolved his removal, and the appellant continued holding himself out as secretary, causing confusion. The notice therefore contained some justification. The appellant, bearing the burden under Section 107 of the Evidence Act, adduced no evidence of ridicule or lowered estimation. The suit against the NGO Board failed because it never published the article.

p. 10
02

Proof of special damages for the lost employment opportunity

Holding

The evidence of Oteke was insufficient to link the withdrawal of the Bedrock Holdings job offer to the impugned publication.

Reasoning

Oteke referred to company records but produced none, could not explain why the human resource manager was not called, and admitted the appellant was a relative of the company's Managing Director, raising the possibility the appointment letter was written merely to help him. Consequently the appellant failed to prove special damage arising from the publication.

p. 10
03

Whether the appellant established malice against the respondents

Holding

No malice was established against either the NGO Board or Martin and Christine.

Reasoning

The NGO Board acted on communications from CEPAD that appeared regular on their face and, when it later discovered irregularities, amended its records; that reversal did not make its earlier adoption malicious. Although Martin and Christine published the notice, there was some justification for contending the appellant had been removed, so malice was not proved.

p. 9
04

Assessment of damages had the libel been proved

Holding

Had the appellant proved the libel, the Court would not have interfered with the High Court's finding that only nominal damages of Kshs.200,000 would be payable, as the gravity of the libel, if any, was minimal.

Reasoning

Applying the principle that damages awards are discretionary and only interfered with where erroneous, and the rule in John v MGN that gravity of the libel is the most important factor, the Court agreed there was some justification for the notice and hence any libel was of minimal gravity, warranting only nominal damages.

p. 10

Legal principles established

#
  • In a libel action the plaintiff must prove publication of a defamatory matter referring to the plaintiff, falsity, that the words lowered the plaintiff's estimation in the eyes of right-thinking members of society, and malice, failing which the suit must be dismissed.
  • On a first appeal the Court of Appeal must re-appraise, re-evaluate and re-analyze the record and draw its own conclusions, while making allowance for not having seen or heard the witnesses.
  • An appellate court will not disturb an award of damages unless it is so inordinately high or low as to represent an entirely erroneous estimate, or the judge proceeded on wrong principles or misapprehended the evidence in some material respect.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The judgment of the High Court dismissing the appellant's libel suit is upheld
  2. 2.The appeal is dismissed with costs

The bench

#

One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.

majority

Wrote the judgment

majority

Wrote the judgment

majority

Wrote the judgment

On appeal from
High Court
Not stated
Jurisdiction invoked
First appeal to the Court of Appeal under Rule 31(1) of the Court of Appeal Rules

Relief refused

#

General damages and aggravated or exemplary damages for libel

The appellant failed to prove that the publication was false or defamatory, and failed to prove special damages linking the withdrawal of the job offer to the publication

p. 10

Finding that the NGO Board acted with malice and falsehood

There was no evidence the NGO Board published the impugned article; it merely acted on information presented to it by CEPAD which appeared true on its face

p. 9

Costs

The appeal was dismissed with costs; the respondents were awarded the costs of the appeal and the High Court proceedings.

Quotable passages

#

Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.

Accordingly, we uphold the judgment of the High Court and dismiss this appeal with costs.
p. 11Final orders - dismissal of the appeal
In the circumstances, we find that the impugned article was neither false nor defamatory of the appellant, nor did the appellant establish that his reputation was lowered in the eyes of rightthinking members of the public.
p. 10Failure to prove libel
It is trite law that he who alleges must prove. That is the purport of Section 107 of the Evidence Act.
p. 9Burden of proof in defamation
there was no evidence to link the withdrawal of the job opportunity to the impugned publication.
p. 10Special damages not proved

Issues in the judgment

#
minor

The judgment suggests the learned Judge found the appellant would have been entitled to nominal damages of two hundred thousand, yet the trial judgment, as earlier described, dismissed the suit without any damages award; the passage also refers to a date error in the cited case John v MGN ([1969] 1 All ER 35).

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Otieno v Ochola & 2 others (Civil Appeal 286 of 2019) [2025] KECA 331 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2025). Not stated in the judgment (first appeal from High Court suit before F. Ochieng J.). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keca/2025/331/eng@2025-02-21

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.