Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
Court of AppealDismissedCriminal Appeal (not stated in judgment)

Amos v Republic (Criminal Appeal 90 of 2020) [2025] KECA 341 (KLR)

Court of Appeal of Kenya
21 February 2025
3,830 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~15 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

Kenya's Court of Appeal confirmed that defilement can be proven without DNA evidence, and upheld a teacher's 20-year sentence.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The appellant was convicted by the trial magistrate of defilement contrary to section 8(1) as read with section 8(3) of the Sexual Offences Act and sentenced to 20 years' imprisonment, on evidence that he, a teacher, locked his standard eight pupil in his house and defiled her in November 2011, resulting in pregnancy. The High Court (Ali-Aroni, J.) dismissed his first appeal, upholding both conviction and sentence, though finding the complainant to be 15 rather than 12 years old. On second appeal, the appellant argued that the complainant was untruthful, that the evidence was inconsistent and uncorroborated, and that no DNA test was conducted to establish paternity of the child born of the pregnancy. The Court of Appeal (Okwengu, Omondi and Ngugi, JJ.A), sitting at Kisumu, confined itself to matters of law under section 361(1) of the Criminal Procedure Code. It held that all three ingredients of defilement - age, penetration and identification - were proved beyond reasonable doubt: the mother's evidence and a clinical officer's assessment proved the victim's age of 15; the complainant's unchallenged testimony plus medical evidence of pregnancy proved penetration; and identification of a known teacher was reliable. Relying on Robert Mutungi Mumbi and Martin Nyongesa Wanyonyi, the Court held that section 36(1) is not mandatory and DNA evidence is not required to prove a sexual offence. Applying the Supreme Court's decision in Republic v Mwangi; ISLA, it held the 20-year sentence was the lawful statutory minimum. The appeal was dismissed in its entirety.

Questions the Court framed

#

The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.

  1. 1.Whether the prosecution proved the offence of defilement to the required standard, including whether the absence of a DNA test was fatal to the prosecution case
  2. 2.Whether the sentence of 20 years' imprisonment was proper

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the absence of DNA testing, and failure to invoke section 36(1) of the Sexual Offences Act, vitiated the conviction

Holding

No. Section 36(1) is discretionary and medical or DNA evidence is not the only proof of a sexual offence; a court may convict on the victim's credible evidence.

Reasoning

The Court relied on Robert Mutungi Mumbi and Martin Nyongesa Wanyonyi to hold that section 36(1) empowers but does not oblige a court to order samples for DNA testing. Under the proviso to section 124 of the Evidence Act, a court can convict on the victim's evidence alone if it believes the victim and records reasons. The complainant's unchallenged testimony and the medical evidence of pregnancy established penetration.

p. 6
02

Whether the age of the complainant was proved to the required standard

Holding

Yes. The mother's evidence of the year of birth (1997) and the clinical officer's age assessment established the complainant was 15 years old.

Reasoning

Citing Mwolongo Chichoro Mwanyembe and Eliud Waweru Wambui, the Court reiterated that age may be proved by birth documents, medical evidence, or credible oral evidence of parents or guardians. In this case both the mother's testimony and Dr Kea's age assessment report fixed the age at 15, which was sufficient and credible.

p. 5
03

Whether the appellant was properly identified as the perpetrator

Holding

Yes. The complainant knew the appellant as her teacher and her testimony was not shaken in cross-examination.

Reasoning

The Court applied the caution in Cleophas Wamunga and R v Turnbull on visual identification but found the identification here reliable because the appellant was a person well known to the complainant - her standard eight teacher - and she described being locked in his house and defiled three times without the account being challenged in cross-examination.

p. 7
04

Whether the 20-year sentence was proper

Holding

Yes. Section 8(3) prescribes a minimum of 20 years for defilement of a child aged 12-15; the trial court imposed the minimum and the sentence was neither excessive nor illegal.

Reasoning

Applying the Supreme Court's decision in Republic v Mwangi; ISLA (Amicus Curiae), the Court distinguished minimum from mandatory sentences: a minimum sentence sets the floor, leaving the court discretion to impose a harsher sentence. The trial magistrate imposed the statutory minimum despite the aggravating fact that the 15-year-old complainant conceived, and the appellant showed no wrong principle or overlooked material factors.

p. 7

Legal principles established

#
  • On a second appeal, the Court of Appeal is confined to matters of law and will not interfere with concurrent findings of fact unless based on no evidence, unless matters were considered that should not have been, or unless the decision is perverse.
  • DNA evidence is not mandatory or the only evidence by which a sexual offence may be proved; a court may convict on the evidence of the victim alone if it believes the victim and records the reasons, and section 36(1) of the Sexual Offences Act is discretionary, not mandatory.
  • The age of a defilement victim may be proved by documents, medical evidence, or the credible evidence of a parent or guardian; a mother's evidence of the child's age is sufficient.
  • Penetration, not impregnation, is the essential ingredient of defilement; pregnancy is not required to prove penetration.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The appeal against conviction and sentence is dismissed; the conviction and the 20-year sentence are upheld

The bench

#

One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.

majority
majority
majority
On appeal from
High Court of Kenya
Jurisdiction invoked
Section 361(1) of the Criminal Procedure Code (second appeal on matters of law only)

Relief refused

#

Setting aside the conviction and 20-year sentence

The three ingredients of defilement were proved beyond reasonable doubt; DNA evidence is not mandatory and the sentence was the lawful minimum; the appellant did not show the trial court acted on wrong principles.

p. 8

Costs

No costs order made in the judgment.

Quotable passages

#

Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.

The appeal lacks merit and is dismissed.
p. 8Disposition - appeal dismissed, conviction and sentence upheld
Clearly, that provision is not couched in mandatory terms. Decisions of this court abound which afirm the principle that medical or DNA evidence is not the only evidence by which commission of a sexual ofience may be proved.
p. 6Section 36(1) Sexual Offences Act is discretionary; DNA not essential
An essential ingredient in the ofience of defilement is penetration and not impregnation.
p. 5Penetration, not pregnancy, is the essential ingredient
What better evidence can one get than that of the mother who gave birth
p. 5Mother's evidence sufficient to prove victim's age
Mandatory sentences leave the trial court with absolutely no discretion such that upon conviction, the singular sentence is already prescribed by law.
p. 7Distinction between mandatory and minimum sentences

Issues in the judgment

#
minor

The charge particulars state the offence dates as 'between 2nd November 2011 and 6th November 2021', an internally inconsistent range (the 2021 date is irreconcilable with the pregnancy and examination timeline of 2011-2012 narrated in the evidence).

minor

The judgment reproduces the High Court's quotation of section 8(3) with an evident typographical error ('between the age of sixteen and fifteen years'), conflicting with the correct version set out elsewhere in the judgment ('between the age of twelve and fifteen years').

minor

The clinical officer's examination date is recorded as 1st June 2011, which predates the alleged offence dates and conflicts with the finding of a 32-week pregnancy consistent with the 2011 offences.

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Amos v Republic (Criminal Appeal 90 of 2020) [2025] KECA 341 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2025). Criminal Appeal (not stated in judgment). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keca/2025/341/eng@2025-02-21

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.