Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
Court of AppealDismissedNot stated in the judgment (appeal from Nakuru HCCC No. 35 of 2017 (O.S.))· [2025] KECA 907 (KLR)

Reuben Kioko Mutyaene v Kenya Commercial Bank Limited & 1 other

Court of Appeal of Kenya
9 May 2025
3,837 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~15 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

Kenya's Court of Appeal confirmed that credit reference bureaus cannot be sued for wrong listings done in good faith, and left the Kshs. 400,000 award against the bank untouched.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The appellant, formerly an employee and customer of the 1st respondent bank, sued after being negatively listed with the 2nd respondent credit reference bureau following termination of employment and loan default. The High Court (Ndungu, J.), having earlier granted leave to file out of time under the Limitation of Actions Act, dismissed his defamation claim but found the bank negligent and in breach of statutory duty and contract under Regulation 25 of the CRB Regulations for listing him without notice and on an inaccurate amount, awarding Kshs. 400,000 in general and aggravated damages. The claim against the CRB and the special damages of Kshs. 35,000 were dismissed. On appeal on 15 grounds (reduced to seven), the appellant argued that the listing was premature and illegal, that the CRB was liable, and that the damages were inordinately low. The Court of Appeal, exercising its Rule 31 first-appeal mandate, upheld the trial judgment. It held the CRB was protected by the good-faith immunity in Regulation 20, having merely relied on information supplied by the bank, with CRB penalties governed separately by Regulation 72. It found no misdirection in principle or capricious exercise of discretion in the damages award, noting that harm was temporary as the listing had been lifted and that loss of earning capacity was not pleaded or strictly proved. The court declined to issue general orders on CRB regulation as judicial overreach into policy. The appeal was dismissed with costs to the respondents.

Key legal issues

#
01

Liability of a CRB for a bank's unlawful or inaccurate listing

Holding

The CRB (2nd respondent) bears no liability; it relied on information supplied by the bank, is protected by Regulation 20's good-faith immunity, and penalties against CRBs are separately stipulated under Regulation 72.

Reasoning

The trial court had found that the obligation to furnish accurate information rested with the bank. The appellant did not demonstrate any culpability by the CRB. Regulation 20 shields regulated entities acting in good faith, limited only to unauthorized, fraudulent or unlawful disclosures, and permits such entities to seek indemnity from the party at fault. Regulation 72 provides the penalty regime for CRB breaches.

p. 6
02

Adequacy of the Kshs. 400,000 general and aggravated damages award

Holding

The award was upheld; the appellate court found no misdirection in principle or capricious exercise of discretion, noting comparable awards in similar bank-negligence cases.

Reasoning

The trial Judge was guided by Keith Smeaton vs. Equifax PLC and comparable Kenyan authorities including Jamlick Gichuhi Mwangi, and found the harm was temporary since the listing had been lifted and the appellant could freely seek credit. Loss of earning capacity was not strictly proved. The appellate court, on a first appeal, defers to the trial court's discretion absent injudicious or capricious exercise.

p. 7
03

Scope of judicial function versus policy-making on CRB regulation

Holding

The court declined the appellant's invitation to issue general orders regulating CRB conduct across the financial sub-sector, holding this would be judicial overreach into policy or legislative spheres.

Reasoning

The appellant sought broad pronouncements on the CRB regulatory regime beyond his own circumstances. The court held that litigants remain free to challenge specific regulations or statutory provisions against the Constitution, but an appellate court cannot legislate or set policy from an individual damages dispute.

p. 7
04

Special damages for loss of earning capacity

Holding

Correctly dismissed for want of pleading and strict proof; the trial court also discounted the auditor's cash flow projections as a basis for loss of earning capacity.

Reasoning

Claims for loss of earnings must be specifically pleaded and strictly proved. The appellant produced no evidence of actual loss; the auditor's projections were discounted because the listing was lifted during the case and repeat credit applications are assessed as new applications under section 8.1 of the Regulations.

p. 7

Legal principles established

#
  • Credit reference bureaus acting as regulated entities are immune from civil liability for information provided in good faith pursuant to the CRB Regulations, save for unauthorized, fraudulent or unlawful disclosures, and may seek indemnity from the party at fault.
  • An appellate court will not interfere with a trial court's assessment of general damages unless the trial court applied wrong principles or exercised its discretion capriciously; damages are assessed on a case-by-case basis.
  • Loss of earnings or loss of earning capacity constitutes special damage which must be specifically pleaded and strictly proved.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Appeal dismissed in its entirety
  2. 2.Costs of the appeal awarded to the respondents against the appellant
  3. 3.Trial court's judgment of 27th May 2020 upheld, including dismissal of the claim against the 2nd respondent and the award of Kshs. 400,000 in general and aggravated damages against the 1st respondent
On appeal from
High Court of Kenya
Nakuru HCCC No. 35 of 2017 (O.S.)
Jurisdiction invoked
First appeal under the Court of Appeal Rules (Rule 31 - re-evaluation of evidence on a first appeal); original suit filed pursuant to leave to file out of time under sections 4(2) and 27(2) of the Limitation of Actions Act, Cap 22

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Reuben Kioko Mutyaene v Kenya Commercial Bank Limited & 1 other", Case Analysis (2025). Not stated in the judgment (appeal from Nakuru HCCC No. 35 of 2017 (O.S.)). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keca/2025/907/eng@2025-05-09

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.