Muthanje v Republic (Criminal Appeal 115 of 2019) [2025] KECA 1011 (KLR)
The bottom line
#Kenya's Court of Appeal freed a man who had spent years in prison because prosecutors never proved he actually stole the money in a robbery case.
What this practically means
#Executive summary
#Questions the Court framed
#The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.
- 1.Whether the first appellate court erred in not considering the concession made by the prosecution
- 2.Whether the first appellate court failed in its duty as the first appellate court to subject the evidence to a fresh and exhaustive examination
- 3.Whether the essential ingredients of robbery with violence, including proof that the appellant stole the money, were proved beyond reasonable doubt
Key legal issues
#Whether the ingredients of robbery with violence were proved beyond reasonable doubt
The prosecution failed to prove the element of stealing: the complainant never saw the appellant take his money, so the possibility that a passer-by picked it up could not be ruled out; the essential ingredient of robbery was therefore not proved.
Robbery requires theft as an essential ingredient; without stealing, robbery with violence cannot stand. The complainant was assaulted, regained consciousness, went for help, and only later found his jacket with the money missing. No witness saw the appellant take the money, so theft was not proved to the required standard even if the appellant had seen the money earlier. The first appellate court also failed to make the necessary finding on this issue.
Duty of the first appellate court and its treatment of the prosecution's concession
The High Court failed in its duty as a first appellate court: it did not address the need to find whether stealing was proved beyond reasonable doubt, and it failed to deal at all with the prosecution's concession that the proper charge was assault.
Relying on the Okeno line of authorities, the court held that the first appellate court must re-evaluate the evidence and make its own findings, not merely confirm whether the trial court was right. The court also restated that although an appellate court is not bound by prosecution concessions, where it disagrees it must decide on the concession expressly; the High Court here ignored it entirely, compounding the failure of re-evaluation.
Appropriate substituted conviction and sentence
The prosecution evidence proved only assault causing actual bodily harm contrary to section 251 of the Penal Code; under section 179 of the Criminal Procedure Code the Court substituted a conviction on that offence and imposed a five-year sentence, which the appellant had already served.
The concession by prosecution counsel and the medical evidence (injuries classified as harm) supported the lesser offence. Section 179 of the Criminal Procedure Code permits the court to substitute a conviction for the offence proved on the facts. Since the appellant had been sentenced on 27th March 2007, he had served the sentence and was directed to be set at liberty unless otherwise lawfully held.
Legal principles established
#- A first appellate court must subject the whole evidence to a fresh and exhaustive examination, weigh conflicting evidence and draw its own conclusions; it may not merely scrutinise whether some evidence supports the trial court's finding.
- On a second appeal limited to matters of law, factual evaluation is nevertheless permissible where the allegation is that the first appellate court failed to subject the evidence to fresh scrutiny.
- An appellate court is not bound by a concession made by prosecution counsel, but where the court takes a different view it must deal with the concession and make a decision on it one way or the other.
- The prosecution must prove that the accused stole the property; strong suspicion does not meet the threshold of proof beyond reasonable doubt.
Court orders
#- 1.Appeal allowed
- 2.Conviction for robbery with violence set aside and sentence quashed
- 3.Conviction substituted with a conviction for assault causing actual bodily harm contrary to section 251 of the Penal Code under section 179 of the Criminal Procedure Code
- 4.Sentence of 5 years imprisonment imposed
- 5.Appellant directed to be set at liberty forthwith unless otherwise lawfully held, having already served his sentence
The bench
#One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.
- On appeal from
- High Court of Kenya at Embu
- Appeal against conviction and sentence in Senior Resident Magistrate's Court Criminal Case No. 431 of 2005 (High Court appeal number not stated)
- Jurisdiction invoked
- Second appeal to the Court of Appeal under its appellate jurisdiction over the High Court in criminal matters (Court of Appeal Act; appeal limited to matters of law)
Quotable passages
#Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.
It is not the function of a first appellate court merely to scrutinize the evidence to see if there was some evidence to support the lower court's finding and conclusion; it must make its own findings and draw its own conclusions.
it may cast strong suspicion on the appellant, that in itself does not meet the threshold of proof beyond reasonable doubt.
where the prosecution makes concessions to an appeal, and the court is of a different view, the court ought to deal with the said concession and make a decision, one way or the other, on the concession.
We set aside the conviction and quash the sentence. Pursuant to the provisions of section 179 of the Criminal Procedure Code, we substitute therefor a conviction of assault causing actual bodily harm contrary to section 251 of the Penal Code and impose on the appellant a sentence of 5 years imprisonment.
We accordingly direct that he be set at liberty forthwith unless otherwise lawfully held.
Issues in the judgment
#The judgment does not state the number of the second appeal before the Court of Appeal, nor the High Court appeal number or the names of the High Court judges; the case number fields are reconstructed from the trial case number.
The quoted text of section 251 of the Penal Code describes the offence as 'assault occasioning actual bodily harm' and prescribes five years' imprisonment, while the court elsewhere describes the substituted conviction as 'assault causing actual bodily harm'; the quoted provision is also inconsistent with the conventional form of section 251, but the discrepancy is internal to the judgment's text.
Key timeline
#Practical implications
#Frequently asked questions
#Cite this brief
#Cite this brief
Caselaw, "Muthanje v Republic (Criminal Appeal 115 of 2019) [2025] KECA 1011 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2025). Criminal Appeal (not numbered in judgment; appeal from Embu High Court appeal against conviction in Embu Criminal Case No. 431 of 2005). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keca/2025/1011/eng@2025-04-04
Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.