Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
Court of AppealPartially AllowedCriminal Appeal (not stated in judgment; appeal against sentence from Kericho High Court)

Rotich v Republic (Criminal Appeal 15 of 2020) [2025] KECA 1256 (KLR)

Court of Appeal of Kenya
11 July 2025
2,827 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~11 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

Kenya's Court of Appeal cut a manslaughter sentence from 30 to 20 years, ruling that a guilty plea through a plea bargain must earn the accused a lighter sentence.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The appellant, Michael Cheruiyot Rotich, was initially charged with murder for stabbing to death Wesley Kibyegon Kemei, a caretaker at Adson Rental Houses in Kericho County, on 7th October 2018, following an altercation in which the appellant had threatened to assault a tenant. Through a plea agreement he pleaded guilty to manslaughter and was sentenced by Ongeri, J. to 30 years' imprisonment. His sole ground of appeal in the Court of Appeal at Nakuru was that the sentence was manifestly harsh and excessive. The appeal proceeded only on sentence, sections 137F(1)(h) and 137L(1) of the Criminal Procedure Code confining appeals from plea agreements to the extent or legality of sentence. The Court reaffirmed that sentencing is a trial-court discretion which appellate courts disturb only where the sentence is manifestly excessive, a material factor was overlooked, an irrelevant factor considered, or wrong principles applied. Examining comparative scholarship and Kenyan authorities including Muruatetu, Mwangi, Wakiunda and Sawe, the Court held that a plea agreement, like a plea of guilty, must attract a sentencing discount; a court that regards a plea agreement as inadequate should reject it with reasons rather than impose a murder-equivalent sentence. Concluding that the trial court failed to give real weight to the plea agreement, the Court found 30 years harsh and excessive. Surveying authorities suggesting 15 years as the norm for manslaughter on a guilty plea, but noting aggravating circumstances, it set aside the 30-year sentence and substituted 20 years' imprisonment running from 15th October 2018.

Questions the Court framed

#

The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.

  1. 1.Whether the sentence of 30 years' imprisonment for manslaughter, imposed pursuant to a plea agreement, was manifestly harsh and excessive
  2. 2.Whether the trial court failed to take into account the appellant's plea of guilty pursuant to a plea agreement as a mitigating factor
  3. 3.What the appropriate sentence should be in the circumstances

Key legal issues

#
01

Effect of a plea agreement/plea of guilty on sentencing

Holding

A plea agreement, like a plea of guilty, must count for something in sentencing; a court that fails to factor it in overlooks a material factor justifying appellate interference.

Reasoning

Drawing on local and comparative scholarship and authorities (Muruatetu, Mwangi, Wakiunda, Sawe, the Sentencing Policy Guidelines 2023), the Court held that a guilty plea saves trial time and guarantees conviction, so the accused should reap a sentencing discount. The trial court's assertion that it considered the plea was contradicted by the outcome: a 30-year sentence equivalent to murder. The Court inferred the plea was not given real weight and interfered.

p. 4
02

Scope of appellate review of sentence following a plea agreement

Holding

Review is confined to the extent or legality of the sentence; the Court may interfere where the trial court overlooked a material factor, here the plea agreement.

Reasoning

Sections 137F(1)(h) and 137L(1) of the Criminal Procedure Code waive the right to appeal except as to extent or legality of sentence. Applying the Bernard Kimani Gacheru principles, the Court found the trial court overlooked the plea agreement as a material factor, permitting interference despite the general deference to trial-court sentencing discretion.

p. 2
03

Appropriate sentence for manslaughter on a guilty plea

Holding

Comparative High Court and Court of Appeal decisions indicate 15 years is suitable for manslaughter on a guilty plea; given the aggravating circumstances here, 20 years was appropriate.

Reasoning

The Court surveyed Mathew Langat, Eiton, Abraham Kibet Chebukwa, Mulu Munyalo and Ngeny, noting 15-20 years as the prevailing range for manslaughter on a guilty plea. Although a life was lost and there was an aggravating factor warranting a stiffer sentence than 15 years, 30 years failed to distinguish manslaughter from murder. Twenty years was fixed, running from the date of plea.

p. 5

Legal principles established

#
  • Where an accused pleads guilty pursuant to a plea agreement, the trial court must treat the plea agreement/plea of guilty as a material mitigating factor in sentencing; failure to do so permits appellate interference.
  • A trial court that considers a plea agreement inadequate because it believes the more serious charge should have been retained must reject the plea agreement with reasons, not impose a sentence commensurate with the more serious offence.
  • An appellate court will not interfere with sentence unless it is manifestly excessive, a material factor was overlooked, an irrelevant factor considered, or a wrong principle applied.
  • An appeal against a sentence passed pursuant to a plea agreement lies only as to the extent or legality of the sentence.
  • Absent aggravating circumstances, it is unjust to impose on manslaughter a term of imprisonment equivalent to that generally attracted by murder.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The sentence of 30 years' imprisonment is set aside and substituted with a prison term of 20 years
  2. 2.The 20-year term is to run from 15th October 2018 when the appellant was presented before the trial court to take plea

The bench

#

One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.

majority
majority
majority
On appeal from
High Court of Kenya
not stated in judgment
Jurisdiction invoked
First appeal to the Court of Appeal under the Criminal Procedure Code; appeal limited by section 137L(1) of the Criminal Procedure Code to the extent or legality of sentence passed pursuant to a plea agreement

Relief refused

#

Appellant's plea for a sentence of 15 to 20 years at the lower end

The Court found an aggravating factor - the circumstances of the killing - justified a stiffer sentence than 15 years, settling on 20 years

p. 5

Costs

No costs order made in the judgment.

Quotable passages

#

Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.

the appellant's appeal against sentence succeeds to the extent that the sentence of 30 years' imprisonment is set aside and substituted with a prison term of 20 years to run from 15th October 2018 when the appellant was presented before the trial court to take plea
p. 5Final orders - sentence reduced from 30 to 20 years
Unless there are exacerbating factors, an accused person who pleads guilty whether on the day he first appears in court for plea or through a plea bargain agreement should reap the fruits of his or her surrender.
p. 3Sentencing discount for guilty plea / plea agreement
We therefore conclude that in passing the impugned sentence, the learned Judge failed to take into account the fact that the appellant had pleaded guilty pursuant to a plea-bargaining agreement.
p. 5Trial court error - overlooked material mitigating factor
sentencing remains a discretion and sole duty of the trial court
p. 4Judicial discretion in sentencing retained despite plea agreements
The answer to such a concern is not to impose a sentence commensurate to the more serious offence but to reject the plea agreement.
p. 5Rejection of plea agreement is the proper remedy where a lesser charge is inadequate

Issues in the judgment

#
minor

The judgment does not state the High Court case number from which the appeal arises, nor the Court of Appeal appeal number; only the trial judge (Ongeri, J.) is named.

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Rotich v Republic (Criminal Appeal 15 of 2020) [2025] KECA 1256 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2025). Criminal Appeal (not stated in judgment; appeal against sentence from Kericho High Court). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keca/2025/1256/eng@2025-07-11

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.