Ewoi & 2 others v Tadicha & 6 others (Civil Appeal 156 of 2019) [2026] KECA 76 (KLR)
The bottom line
#The Court of Appeal dismissed the appeal because council minutes, rates receipts and similar papers, without registration, do not prove land ownership in Kenya.
What this practically means
#Executive summary
#Questions the Court framed
#The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.
- 1.Whether the appellants' suit was res judicata
- 2.Whether the appellants' suit had merit, specifically whether they established ownership or a protectable interest in the suit land capable of supporting an injunction
Key legal issues
#Whether the appellants' suit was res judicata by virtue of Meru ELC Case No. 58 (or 53) of 2013
The suit was not res judicata because the ELC acknowledged that the former file was transferred and no further particulars could be ascertained; there was no proof of a final judgment
Applying section 7 of the Civil Procedure Act and the five-part test in Bernard Mugo Ndegwa v James Nderitu Githae, the court held that res judicata requires finality of the previous decision. The ELC itself recorded that the Meru file had been transferred to the Isiolo Chief Magistrates' Court and no further particulars could be ascertained, so no final judgment was proved. The ELC's assumption that a 2013 filing date implied a concluded case was erroneous. This ground of appeal therefore succeeded.
Whether the appellants established ownership or a protectable interest in the suit land supporting an injunction
No. The appellants were not registered owners; the documents relied upon (council minutes, rates receipts, beacon certificate, PDP application) were preliminary and conferred no legal or equitable title absent an allotment letter and registration
Relying on Wreck Motors Enterprises v The Commissioner of Lands and Torino Enterprises Limited v Attorney General, the court held that title comes into existence only after an allotment letter is perfected and registration effected. Council minutes and rates receipts, like an allotment letter alone, do not confer an interest in land and must be actualized through registration. Having failed to demonstrate proprietary rights, the appellants did not meet the threshold for an injunction, so the appeal failed notwithstanding success on the res judicata ground.
Legal principles established
#- Finality of the previous decision is a prerequisite for the doctrine of res judicata; without proof of a final judgment in the former suit, section 7 is not triggered
- Council minutes, rates payment receipts and similar documents are preliminary and do not confer an interest in land; title arises only through allotment perfected and registration under the applicable law
Court orders
#- 1.Appeal dismissed
- 2.No orders as to costs
The bench
#One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.
- On appeal from
- Environment and Land Court
- Not stated (suit concerning Kambi Garba/786 Isiolo County)
- Jurisdiction invoked
- First appeal to the Court of Appeal under the Court of Appeal Rules, 2022 (Rule 31(1) referenced)
Relief refused
#Declaration that the suit land (Kambi Garba/786 Isiolo County) is the appellants' property
Appellants produced no proof of registration as owners; council minutes, rates receipts, beacon certificate and PDP application were preliminary documents conferring no legal or equitable title
Costs
The appeal was dismissed with no orders as to costs
Quotable passages
#Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.
There must be finality of the previous decision to qualify for the doctrine of res judicata.
With that, we find that the appellants’ case was not res judicata.
The documents relied upon were preliminary in nature and could not, in the absence of an allotment letter and registration, confer legal or equitable title.
In the result, the appeal fails and is hereby dismissed with no orders as to costs.
Issues in the judgment
#The judgment inconsistently refers to the prior case as Meru ELC No. 58 of 2013 in the background and grounds of appeal, but as Meru ELC No. 53 of 2013 in the ELC's extracted ruling and in the court's own determination
Typographical error in the concluding holding on ownership
Key timeline
#Practical implications
#Frequently asked questions
#Cite this brief
#Cite this brief
Caselaw, "Ewoi & 2 others v Tadicha & 6 others (Civil Appeal 156 of 2019) [2026] KECA 76 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Not stated in judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keca/2026/76/eng@2026-01-30
Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.