Monari v Republic (Criminal Appeal 287 of 2018) [2026] KECA 159 (KLR)
The bottom line
#Kenya's Court of Appeal upheld a robbery-with-violence conviction and death sentence, confirming that proof of just one ingredient of the offence is enough.
What this practically means
#Executive summary
#Questions the Court framed
#The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.
- 1.Whether the ingredients of robbery with violence were proved
- 2.Whether the appellant was properly identified
Key legal issues
#Whether the ingredients of robbery with violence under section 296(2) of the Penal Code were proved
Yes; the appellant was in the company of another offender and used violence, satisfying the section - a single ingredient suffices.
The complainant was dispossessed of money and phones by force while the appellant held him and Misati blocked his mouth with a piece of wood. Being two people and using a piece of wood completed the act of violence under section 296. Medical evidence of injuries is not the only ingredient; non-production of the P3 form did not render the conviction unsafe.
Whether the appellant was properly identified
Yes; this was identification by recognition by a single witness who knew the appellant well and walked with him for about 1 km.
PW1 knew the appellant and Misati as boda boda operators, talked and walked with them for about 1 km before the robbery, and the appellant's own defence about a grudge acknowledged prior acquaintance. Recognition evidence is more reliable than identification of a stranger, and there was no possibility of mistaken identity.
The scope of the Court of Appeal's jurisdiction on second appeal
Jurisdiction is confined to matters of law under section 361(1) of the Criminal Procedure Code; concurrent findings of fact are binding unless based on no evidence, a perversion of evidence, or conclusions no reasonable tribunal could reach.
Section 361(1) excludes appeals on matters of fact and against sentence except where the sentence was enhanced by the High Court. The Court accepted that it must pay homage to concurrent findings of fact made by the two courts below, per Adan Muraguri Mungara v R.
Legal principles established
#- On a second appeal, the Court of Appeal's jurisdiction is confined to matters of law and it must pay homage to concurrent findings of fact by the two courts below.
- Proof of a single ingredient of robbery with violence under section 296(2) of the Penal Code is sufficient to sustain a conviction.
- Non-production of a P3 form does not render a conviction for robbery with violence unsafe where violence is otherwise established.
Court orders
#- 1.The appeal is dismissed in its entirety
- 2.The conviction for robbery with violence and the death sentence imposed by the High Court stand
The bench
#One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.
- On appeal from
- High Court of Kenya at Kisii
- Criminal Appeal No. 164 of 2011
- Jurisdiction invoked
- Section 361(1) of the Criminal Procedure Code (second appeal confined to matters of law)
Relief refused
#Quashing of the conviction upheld by the High Court and setting aside of the sentence
The ingredients of robbery with violence were proved; identification was by recognition with no possibility of mistaken identity
Costs
No costs order made in the judgment
Quotable passages
#Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.
We accordingly find no merit in this appeal, which we hereby dismiss in its entirety.
By dint of that section, the jurisdiction of this Court on a second appeal is confined to matters of law which, we appreciate, includes the failure by the first appellate court to undertake its mandate of re-evaluating the evidence and subjecting the case to fresh scrutiny.
It should be remembered that a single ingredient is sufficient.
Medical evidence of injuries is not the only ingredient that constitute an offence under that section.
In our view, PW1 had sufficient time to recognise the appellant and his accomplice, hence there was no possibility of mistaken identity.
It is so ordered.
Issues in the judgment
#The judgment's opening sentence refers to 'the beginning of this judgement', but no introductory paragraph framing the parties or appeal number appears before paragraph 1; the appellate case number of the present second appeal is not stated anywhere in the judgment.
The judgment is dated 30th January 2026 but records plenary hearing on 1st September 2025; no internal contradiction, but the neutral citation and the appeal number of the present appeal are absent.
Key timeline
#Practical implications
#Frequently asked questions
#Cite this brief
#Cite this brief
Caselaw, "Monari v Republic (Criminal Appeal 287 of 2018) [2026] KECA 159 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Criminal Appeal (second appeal) from Kisii High Court Criminal Appeal No. 164 of 2011; appellate number not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keca/2026/159/eng@2026-01-30
Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.