Wirunda v Republic (Criminal Appeal 209 of 2020) [2026] KECA 588 (KLR)
The bottom line
#Kenya's Court of Appeal upheld a defilement conviction without DNA evidence, but cut the sentence start date to include time spent in remand custody.
What this practically means
#Executive summary
#Questions the Court framed
#The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.
- 1.Whether the element of penetration was proved by the prosecution beyond any reasonable doubt
- 2.Whether in the absence of DNA testing, the prosecution failed to conclusively establish that the appellant was the person who defiled the victim
- 3.Whether the period spent by the appellant in remand custody was taken into account in computation of his sentence
Key legal issues
#Sufficiency of proof of penetration on a second appeal
Penetration was proved beyond reasonable doubt by the complainant's unsworn testimony corroborated by medical evidence of bruises on the posterior fourchette and a torn hymen.
Although the unsworn evidence of one minor cannot corroborate that of another minor, the medical findings were consistent with the complainant's account. The nature and location of the injuries, taken with the complainant's evidence, were consistent with penile penetration and no other instrument was suggested by any evidence. Corroboration of the testimony of a victim of tender years is not mandatory, and the trial court's assessment of her demeanour supported her credibility.
Effect of absence of DNA testing on identification of the perpetrator
The absence of a DNA test did not fatally deficient the prosecution case since Section 36(1) of the Sexual Offences Act is discretionary and the appellant was identified by recognition in broad daylight within the same homestead.
Section 36(1) uses the word 'may', conferring a discretion rather than imposing an obligation to order DNA testing in every case. Following Evans Wamalwa Simiyu v Republic, the fact of defilement is proved by evidence, not by DNA testing. The complainant knew the appellant, who lived in her grandmother's homestead, and the offence occurred in daylight, so identity was established to the required standard.
Credit for time spent in remand custody under Section 333(2) of the Criminal Procedure Code
The appeal on sentence was allowed to the extent that the period spent in remand custody must be taken into account; the sentence runs from the date of arrest, 20th December 2018.
Section 333(2) requires that any period an accused spends in lawful custody pending trial be credited towards the imposed term of imprisonment. Both courts below failed to compute this period. The prosecution did not oppose this submission, and the Court allowed the appeal on sentence to that limited extent while upholding the 20-year sentence.
Legal principles established
#- On a second appeal the Court of Appeal is confined to matters of law and will not interfere with findings of fact unless the courts below considered matters they should not have, failed to consider matters they should have, or were plainly wrong.
- Unsworn evidence of one minor cannot effectively corroborate the unsworn evidence of another minor, but medical evidence may constitute admissible corroboration of a minor victim's testimony; corroboration of the testimony of a victim of tender years in sexual offence cases is not mandatory.
- Section 36(1) of the Sexual Offences Act confers a discretionary, not mandatory, power to order DNA testing; failure to conduct a DNA test is not fatal where penetration and identity are otherwise proved.
- Under Section 333(2) of the Criminal Procedure Code, the period an accused spends in lawful custody pending trial must be credited towards the term of imprisonment imposed on conviction.
Court orders
#- 1.Appeal dismissed and the appellant's conviction and sentence upheld
- 2.Sentence to run from the date of arrest, 20th December 2018, reflecting the period spent in remand custody
The bench
#One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.
- On appeal from
- High Court of Kenya
- Jurisdiction invoked
- Section 361(1)(a) of the Criminal Procedure Code (second appeal, matters of law only)
Relief refused
#Quashing of conviction on grounds that penetration was not proved and that lack of DNA testing was fatal to the prosecution case
Penetration was proved by the complainant's evidence corroborated by medical evidence; DNA testing under Section 36(1) of the Sexual Offences Act is discretionary and its absence was not fatal given recognition of the appellant.
Costs
No costs order recorded in the judgment
Quotable passages
#Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.
The appeal is hereby dismissed and appellant’s conviction and sentence are hereby upheld, save that his sentence shall run from the date of his arrest, 20th December 2018, to refiect the period he spent in remand custody.
Although unsworn evidence of one minor generally cannot efiectively corroborate the unsworn evidence of another minor to satisfy the legal requirement for what constitutes admissible corroboration, it is our finding that the medical evidence on record efiectively corroborated the complainant’s testimony.
The fact of rape or defilement is not proved by way of a DNA test but by way of evidence.
any period an accused spends in lawful custody pending trial, or pending the determination of the case, must be credited towards the term of imprisonment imposed upon conviction.
Issues in the judgment
#Judgment repeatedly renders the word 'offence' as 'ofience' and 'sufficient' as 'suficient', suggesting a transcription/OCR error in the certified copy.
The judgment records the complainant's mother as PW4 and PW3 in successive sentences within the same paragraph, an internal inconsistency.
The judgment is dated 13th March 2026 but the certified copy does not bear a second signature or seal after the third judge's name, and the appeal number and neutral citation are not stated.
Key timeline
#Practical implications
#Frequently asked questions
#Cite this brief
#Cite this brief
Caselaw, "Wirunda v Republic (Criminal Appeal 209 of 2020) [2026] KECA 588 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keca/2026/588/eng@2026-03-13
Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.