Mukubali v Republic (Criminal Appeal E029 of 2021) [2026] KECA 797 (KLR)
The bottom line
#Kenya's Court of Appeal replaced a murder conviction and 25-year sentence with manslaughter, releasing a man who had already served over nine years.
What this practically means
#Executive summary
#Questions the Court framed
#The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.
- 1.Whether the prosecution proved the charge of murder against the appellant beyond reasonable doubt
- 2.Whether the sentence imposed was lawful and appropriate in the circumstances
Key legal issues
#Proof of murder and the burden on the prosecution
The prosecution must prove the death and its cause, identify the accused as the culprit, and establish malice aforethought; all ingredients must be proved beyond reasonable doubt.
The Court restated the ingredients of murder under Sections 203 and 206 of the Penal Code: death of the deceased and its cause, attribution of the killing to the accused, and malice aforethought. Death and its cause were not disputed. The contested ingredients were perpetration and malice aforethought, which the Court examined afresh on the evidence.
Malice aforethought and absence of motive or premeditation
Lack of motive and absence of premeditation cast doubt on malice aforethought; a spontaneous altercation or attempted robbery negates the deliberate intent required for murder.
Although the injury was grave, the narrative of a sudden confrontation over Kshs. 700, without evidence of premeditation or proved motive, left doubt as to whether the appellant deliberately inflicted the fatal injury. The Court applied Obuyi v Republic on lack of motive weakening proof of malice aforethought, and concluded the murder offence was not established, though the appellant was involved in the death.
Failure to give reasons for rejecting the accused's defence
Where a trial court prefers the prosecution's account over a plausible defence it must assign reasons; an unexplained discount of a defence that raises reasonable doubt renders the conviction unsafe.
The trial court preferred PW1's version over the appellant's account but did not assign any reasons for that preference. The Court found all versions plausible and held that the appellant's defence raised reasonable doubt from which he should have benefited. This failure contributed to the finding that the murder conviction was unsafe, warranting substitution with manslaughter.
Substitution of conviction and sentence on re-evaluation
Where the evidence establishes a lesser offence, an appellate court may substitute a conviction for manslaughter and reduce the sentence to time already served.
On fresh evaluation, the Court found the stabbing during the confrontation established manslaughter contrary to Section 202 as read with Section 205 of the Penal Code. Considering the over nine years already served and the three years spent in remand custody, the Court found the appellant sufficiently punished and substituted the served term for the 25-year sentence.
Legal principles established
#- A concession by the prosecution on an appeal is not binding on the Court, which must independently re-evaluate the evidence as a first appellate court.
- A first appellate court must subject the evidence to a fresh and exhaustive examination and reach its own conclusions, while making allowance for the trial court's advantage of seeing and hearing the witnesses.
- A defence raised for the first time in the accused's statement, not put to prosecution witnesses in cross-examination, may be treated as an afterthought.
Court orders
#- 1.The appeal succeeds in part
- 2.The conviction for murder is quashed and substituted with a conviction for manslaughter
- 3.The sentence of twenty-five (25) years imprisonment is set aside and substituted with the sentence already served
- 4.The appellant shall be set at liberty forthwith unless otherwise lawfully held
The bench
#One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.
- On appeal from
- High Court of Kenya at Bungoma
- Not stated in the judgment
- Jurisdiction invoked
- First appellate jurisdiction under the Court of Appeal Act (appeal from High Court conviction on murder charge); not expressly stated in the judgment
Relief refused
#Complete acquittal (quashing of conviction without substitution)
The Court found the evidence established the offence of manslaughter, so the conviction was only reduced, not nullified entirely
Costs
No costs order made in the judgment
Quotable passages
#Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.
Much as the respondent has conceded to the appeal, that concession is not binding on this court.
We are required and indeed duty-bound as a first appellate court to subject the evidence tendered in the trial court to a fresh and exhaustive examination and to our own decision on the evidence.
This was simply an attempted robbery or altercation between the parties that went rapidly south. Malice aforethought was not accordingly established as required.
The trial court however did not assign any reason(s) for the preference. In our view all the versions offered by the appellant and the prosecution were plausible.
Accordingly, the appeal succeeds in part. The conviction for murder is quashed and substituted with a conviction for manslaughter. The sentence of twenty-five (25) years imprisonment is set aside and substituted with the sentence already served. The appellant shall in the circumstances be set at liberty forthwith unless otherwise lawfully held.
Issues in the judgment
#The delivery date is stated as 24th April 2026, which postdates the trial judgment of 5th March 2020 by over six years and may be a typographical error in the certified copy.
The judgment refers to 'Section of 202 as read with Section 205 of the Penal code' with garbled wording, and elsewhere 'Penal code' is inconsistently capitalised.
Key timeline
#Practical implications
#Frequently asked questions
#Cite this brief
#Cite this brief
Caselaw, "Mukubali v Republic (Criminal Appeal E029 of 2021) [2026] KECA 797 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keca/2026/797/eng@2026-04-24
Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.