Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
Court of AppealPartially AllowedNot stated in the judgment· [2026] KECA 946 (KLR)

Obadiah Gitonga Micheu v Co-operative Bank of Kenya Ltd

Court of Appeal
15 May 2026
6,150 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~25 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

Kenya's Court of Appeal confirmed a bank that lists you with a credit bureau without 30 days' notice breaks the law, even if you actually owe the debt.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The appellant, a guarantor of a loan advanced by the respondent to Chogoria Junior School, paid a demanded sum of Kshs. 952,262.85 in 2008 and obtained discharge of one charged title, but the respondent retained the second title (registered in the name of the deceased Jediel Micheu) and in 2010 referred the appellant to a credit reference bureau without notifying him. The High Court (G. L. Nzioka, J.) dismissed the suit on 1st October 2018, awarding costs to the appellant but directing him to pay Kshs. 198,700.95. On a first appeal, the Court of Appeal held that interest accruing daily under the facility meant the debt was not fully discharged, so retention of the second title was lawful and a mandatory injunction for its release was refused. However, the bank breached regulation 28 of the Banking (Credit Reference Bureau) Regulations, 2008 by failing to notify the appellant within 30 days of the adverse listing, infringing his Article 47 right to fair administrative action; that breach was negligence, not malice. Following Smeaton v Equifax, losses after the appellant became aware of the listing in July 2012 were not compensable because he failed to invoke the regulation 20 dispute mechanism. Special damages of Kshs. 215,880,000 were disallowed for failure of strict proof, and the High Court's quantified award of Kshs. 198,700.95 to the bank was set aside as unsupported by evidence and made without any counterclaim. The appeal was allowed in part: a declaration of unlawfulness, an order for expungement of the adverse listing within sixty days, nominal general damages of Kshs. 200,000 with interest, and costs of the appeal to the appellant.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the appellant's payment of Kshs. 952,262.85 discharged the entire loan

Holding

No. Interest was calculated daily and debited monthly under the facility letter, so the balance as at 30th September 2008 must have accrued further interest and penalties by the date of payment.

Reasoning

The Court found the demand of 30th September 2008 reflected the balance only up to that date. Because interest on the facility accrued daily and was debited monthly under clause 7 of the offer letter of 10th June 2006, the amount paid on 17th November 2008 could not extinguish the whole debt; a balance remained outstanding, justifying continued retention of the second title.

p. 6
02

Whether the appellant was notified of the outstanding balance

Holding

No. The internal memo relied on by the bank was never communicated to the appellant, and his letters show he only learned of the balance in 2012.

Reasoning

The respondent relied on an internal memo of 2nd April 2009, but the appellant was not among its recipients. Letters from the appellant, including one dated 20th October 2013 seeking statements, showed he only became aware of the loan balance when his KCB loan application was declined on or about 25th July 2012. The respondent therefore failed to provide statements or inform him of the outstanding balance.

p. 7
03

Whether the CRB listing was lawful and whether the bank acted maliciously

Holding

The listing breached regulation 28 because no 30-day notification was given, infringing the appellant's right to fair administrative action, but the breach was negligence, not malice.

Reasoning

Regulation 28 required notification within 30 days of first listing, a duty consonant with Article 47. Failure deprived the customer of a meaningful opportunity to be heard. However, since there was a genuine outstanding balance and the information was not furnished in bad faith, the negligence could not be equated with malice.

p. 8
04

Quantification of the outstanding amount and the trial court's award of Kshs. 198,700.95 to the respondent

Holding

The trial Judge erred in quantifying and directing payment of the amount absent evidence and any cross-claim; only interest and penalties accruing between 30th September and 20th November 2008 are recoverable, without interest thereafter.

Reasoning

No evidence supported the amount allegedly owed, and the respondent filed no counterclaim, so the High Court could not direct payment of a quantified sum. However, interest and penalties accruing after 20th November 2008 were attributable to the respondent's own negligence in failing to demand or notify, and could not be visited on the appellant.

p. 9
05

Whether the appellant could recover loss of income flowing from the listing

Holding

Losses after the appellant became aware of the listing are not compensable because he failed to pursue the regulation 20 dispute mechanism; only consequences up to 25th July 2012 could be considered.

Reasoning

Following Smeaton v Equifax, a statutory breach of CRB notification duties does not attract an extended tortious duty of care. Regulation 20 provided a dispute and rectification mechanism which the appellant, despite knowing of the listing from July 2012, never invoked. His failure to mitigate through that statutory avenue bars recovery for the subsequent period.

p. 10
06

Appropriate remedy for the unlawful listing

Holding

A declaration of unlawfulness together with an order for expungement of the adverse credit information, and a nominal award of Kshs. 200,000 in general damages.

Reasoning

Declaratory relief suits a dispute turning on legality of administrative action. Since the listing was tainted by non-compliance with mandatory notification requirements, it cannot stand and must be expunged. Uncontroverted evidence of denial of credit and inconvenience justified general damages, but given the outstanding balance and absence of bad faith, a nominal award was reasonable and proportionate.

p. 10

Legal principles established

#
  • A bank bears a statutory duty to notify a customer within thirty days of the first listing of adverse credit information, and failure to do so renders the listing unlawful and susceptible to challenge and expungement.
  • The notification duty under regulation 28 of the Banking (Credit Reference Bureau) Regulations, 2008 is an essential safeguard consonant with Article 47 of the Constitution guaranteeing fair administrative action.
  • A customer must first pursue the dispute and rectification mechanism under regulation 20 before claiming damages for loss of earnings arising from an erroneous credit listing; losses occurring after the customer becomes aware of the listing but fails to use that mechanism are not compensable.
  • General damages are not awarded as a matter of course for every statutory breach; the claimant must demonstrate actual injury directly attributable to the unlawful listing.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.A declaration that the respondent's submission of adverse credit information to a credit reference bureau without notifying the appellant was unprocedural and unlawful
  2. 2.An order directing the expungement of the appellant's adverse credit information from all relevant credit reference bureaus within sixty (60) days
  3. 3.A nominal award of general damages in the sum of Kshs. 200,000 to the appellant
  4. 4.Interest on the damages award at court rates from the date of judgment until payment in full
  5. 5.Costs of the appeal to the appellant
On appeal from
High Court
Not stated in the judgment
Jurisdiction invoked
First appeal to the Court of Appeal under rule 31(1) of the Court of Appeal Rules

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Obadiah Gitonga Micheu v Co-operative Bank of Kenya Ltd", Case Analysis (2026). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keca/2026/946/eng@2026-05-15

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.