Menja v Republic (Criminal Appeal 142 of 2018) [2026] KECA 1034 (KLR)
The bottom line
#Kenya's Court of Appeal ruled that a prisoner's 20-year sentence must count time spent in jail before conviction, not just time after.
What this practically means
#Executive summary
#Questions the Court framed
#The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.
- 1.Whether the first appellate court erred by directing the appellant's sentence to run from the date of his conviction rather than taking into account the period spent in custody as required by section 333(2) of the Criminal Procedure Code
Key legal issues
#Whether failure to consider the period spent in custody under section 333(2) of the Criminal Procedure Code vitiates a sentence
Yes. The trial court and first appellate court made no reference to section 333(2); their failure to consider a factor the statute expressly requires them to consider was a misdirection the Court could not overlook, so the sentence was ordered to run from the date of arrest.
Section 333(2) as amended in 2007 obliges courts, where the convicted person was held in custody prior to sentence, to take that period into account. The Judiciary Sentencing Policy Guidelines and the Court's earlier decision in Ahamad Abolfathi Mohammed confirm that 'taking into account' means reducing the sentence proportionately or antedating it. Both courts below were silent on the provision despite the appellant's incarceration throughout the trial, amounting to an uncorrectable misdirection warranting appellate intervention on the sentence commencement date only.
Legal principles established
#- A court sentencing an accused who was in custody during trial must take the period spent in custody into account under section 333(2) of the Criminal Procedure Code, meaning the sentence must be reduced proportionately or run from the date of arrest; merely ordering the sentence to run from the date of conviction amounts to ignoring that period.
Court orders
#- 1.The appeal is allowed to the extent that the sentence of twenty years imposed by the first appellate court shall run from the date of the appellant's arrest rather than from the date of his conviction
The bench
#One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.
- On appeal from
- High Court of Kenya at Nyeri
- Jurisdiction invoked
- Second appeal to the Court of Appeal under the Criminal Procedure Code (specific enabling provision not stated in the judgment)
Relief refused
#Any interference with the sentence of 20 years imprisonment imposed by the first appellate court beyond antedating it to the date of arrest
The appeal was limited to the single issue of the commencement date of the sentence; the substantive conviction and length of sentence were not disturbed
Costs
No costs order made in the judgment
Quotable passages
#Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.
It is not enough for the court to merely state that it has taken into account the period already spent in custody and still order the sentence to run from the date of the conviction because that amounts to ignoring altogether the period already spent in custody.
We are satisfied that failure by the trial court and the first appellate court to consider a factor which the statute expressly requires them to consider, was a misdirection which we cannot overlook.
Ultimately, we allow the appeal to the extent that the sentence of twenty years imposed upon the appellant by the first appellate court shall run from the date of his arrest rather than from the date of his conviction. It is so ordered.
Issues in the judgment
#The judgment contains no case number or neutral citation for this appeal; the case title and citation fields are taken from the caption/body only
The respondent's submissions did not address the single issue raised by the appellant, arguing instead on abandoned grounds
The record shows repeated typographical errors rendering 'offence' and 'effect' as 'ofience'/'efience'/'efiected' forms in the transcription
Key timeline
#Practical implications
#Frequently asked questions
#Cite this brief
#Cite this brief
Caselaw, "Menja v Republic (Criminal Appeal 142 of 2018) [2026] KECA 1034 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keca/2026/1034/eng@2026-05-29
Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.