Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
Court of AppealPartially AllowedNot stated in the judgment

Mureithi v Buuri & another (Civil Case E330 of 2024) [2026] KECA 1220 (KLR)

Chief Magistrate's Court (Magistrate's Court), Nakuru
25 June 2026
1,584 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~6 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Nakuru court awarded a road accident victim Kshs. 246,170, but only after he proved every expense with receipts, showing documentation wins Kenyan injury claims.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
This is a first-instance judgment of the Magistrate's Court at Nakuru delivered by Senior Principal Magistrate Aloyce Peter Ndege on 25 June 2026, arising from a road traffic accident of 5 May 2021 on the Eldoret–Nakuru road at Ngata, in which motor vehicle KCT 808W rammed into a stationary vehicle and injured the plaintiff. The 2nd and 3rd defendants filed statements of defence denying liability but did not attend the hearing on 18 July 2025, call evidence or file submissions, so the case proceeded substantially as a formal proof. The court emphasized that the plaintiff nonetheless bore the burden of proving his case on a balance of probabilities, applying Kerai Ghanshyam v James Wambua Muendo and the Court of Appeal's decision in Daniel Toroitich Arap Moi v Mwangi Stephen Muriithi. Finding the defence to be unsubstantiated allegations, and relying on the police abstract, motor vehicle assessment report and sale agreement under the approach in Nancy Ayemba Ngaira v Abdi Ali, the court held the remaining defendants jointly and severally 100% liable. The plaintiff proved blunt soft tissue injuries to the chest wall and right knee; general damages were assessed at Kshs. 240,000 after distinguishing the higher awards in the plaintiff's cited authorities. Of the Kshs. 7,470 special damages pleaded, only Kshs. 6,170 was strictly proved. Judgment was entered for Kshs. 246,170 with costs and interest at court rates. Because this is a trial-court decision, it binds no lower court and there was no decision below to review.

Questions the Court framed

#

The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.

  1. 1.Whether the defendant is liable for the accident, and, if yes, to what extent?
  2. 2.Whether the plaintiff is entitled to the reliefs sought?

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether liability is established against absent defendants who filed a defence but did not testify

Holding

The uncontroverted defence remains mere allegations; the plaintiff's unchallenged evidence on negligence, supported by the police abstract, established 100% liability against the remaining defendants jointly and severally

Reasoning

The defendants filed statements of defence but neither attended the hearing nor called evidence or filed submissions despite service. Relying on Kerai Ghanshyam v James Wambua Muendo and the Court of Appeal's decision in Daniel Toroitich Arap Moi v Mwangi Stephen Muriithi, the court held the plaintiff still bore the burden of proof on a balance of probabilities, which his evidence satisfied. The unproven defence allegations could not displace the evidence blaming vehicle KCT 808W.

p. 2
02

Proof of ownership of the offending motor vehicle

Holding

Ownership may be proved by means other than the registration certificate, including a police abstract; the abstract, assessment report and sale agreement established actual and beneficial ownership by the defendants

Reasoning

The court adopted the Court of Appeal's decision in Nancy Ayemba Ngaira v Abdi Ali, which explains that Section 8 of the Traffic Act does not make the registration certificate conclusive proof of ownership, since actual, beneficial or possessory ownership may lie with another person. On that basis the police abstract, motor vehicle assessment report and sale agreement proved the defendants' ownership and hence liability.

p. 3
03

Quantum of general damages for soft tissue injuries

Holding

An award of Kshs. 240,000 was adequate, applying the principle that comparable injuries should attract comparable awards, having distinguished the higher awards in the plaintiff's authorities

Reasoning

Citing Nyambati Nyaswabu Erick v Toyota Kenya Ltd (Majanja, J), the court noted general damages are at large and comparable injuries should be compensated by comparable awards, though no two cases are identical. The injuries found were blunt injuries to the chest wall and right knee causing soft tissue injuries. The court found the injuries in the plaintiff's cited authorities were not commensurate and awarded Kshs. 240,000 on a proportional basis.

p. 3
04

Special damages must be pleaded and strictly proved

Holding

Only Kshs. 6,170 of the Kshs. 7,470 pleaded was proved; special damages are not the direct natural consequence of the wrong and must be specifically claimed and strictly proved

Reasoning

Applying Mohammed Ali v Sagoo Radiators Limited, which adopted Hahn v Singh, the court reiterated that special damages must be specifically claimed and strictly proved because they are not the direct natural or probable consequences of the act complained of. Only the medical report cost, hospital bills and search fees were proved by exhibits; the remainder was disallowed.

p. 4

Legal principles established

#
  • Even in formal proof proceedings where the defendant does not appear or adduce evidence, the claimant must still prove the claim on a balance of probabilities; the trial court must examine the evidence and dismiss the claim if it falls short

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Judgment entered in favour of the plaintiff and against the defendants jointly and severally at 100% liability
  2. 2.General damages of Kshs. 240,000 awarded
  3. 3.Special damages assessed at Kshs. 6,170
  4. 4.Total judgment sum of Kshs. 246,170 with costs of the suit and interest on all sums at court rates

The bench

#

One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.

Wrote the judgment

Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil jurisdiction of the Magistrate's Court over a road traffic accident claim; no constitutional or appellate provision invoked.

Relief refused

#

Special damages claimed at Kshs. 7,470 awarded only in part (Kshs. 6,170)

Only the medical report costs, hospital bills and searches were proved; the balance was not strictly proved

p. 4

Costs

Costs of the suit awarded to the plaintiff ('costs of the suit and interest on all the sums herein at court rates')

Quotable passages

#

Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.

The standard of proof in a civil case, on a balance of probabilities, does not change even in the absence of rebuttal by the other side.
p. 2standard of proof in formal proof proceedings
I do therefore find them jointly and severally liable for the accident herein at 100%.
p. 2liability
I consequently therefore enter judgment in favour of the plaintiff and against the defendants for the sum of Kshs. 246,170/-, costs of the suit and interest on all the sums herein at court rates.
p. 4final orders and judgment sum

Issues in the judgment

#
material

The judgment is a first-instance magistrate's decision in formal proof, not an appellate judgment; no decision of a lower court was reviewed, so appellate fields are recorded as null/not_applicable

minor

Paragraph numbering is duplicated and out of sequence (paragraph number 11 appears three times and 12 and 14 recur), indicating a numbering error in the judgment

minor

The role labels in this brief are a structural accommodation: the plaintiff and defendants are trial parties, not appellant and respondent

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Mureithi v Buuri & another (Civil Case E330 of 2024) [2026] KECA 1220 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keca/2026/1220/eng@2026-06-25

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.