Maina v Republic (Criminal Appeal 114 of 2019) [2026] KECA 1394 (KLR)
The bottom line
#Kenya's Court of Appeal upheld a defilement conviction and 20-year sentence, confirming a victim's testimony alone can prove the offence.
What this practically means
#Executive summary
#Key legal issues
#Proof of penetration
Penetration was proved by the complainant's testimony, which was consistent with the medical evidence; the victim's evidence and medical evidence need not always both be adduced.
The minor described the appellant grabbing her, taking her to his house and having sexual intercourse with her, which the court found described insertion of genital organs into genital organs as defined by section 2 of the Sexual Offences Act. Her testimony was consistent with that of the clinical officer who found blood on the external genitalia, lacerations and a freshly broken hymen. The court adopted the Bassita holding that penetration may be proved by direct or circumstantial evidence, and that corroboration by medical evidence, though desirable, is not a hard and fast rule.
Identification of the perpetrator and rejection of the alibi
The complainant identified the appellant by recognition, leaving no possibility of mistaken identity, so the alibi was baseless.
The child knew the appellant as a neighbour whom she had seen since class 6; there was light and they had conversed before the assault. The appellant's sworn testimony with two defence witnesses that he was cutting nappier grass at the material time did not displace the evidence placing him at the scene. Because the complainant's evidence squarely placed the appellant at the scene, the court found there was evidence linking him to the crime and rejected the alibi ground as baseless.
Proof of the complainant's age
Age of fifteen years was sufficiently proved by the child's evidence, her father's evidence and the birth certificate.
The age of the complainant is an essential element of defilement under section 8(3) of the Sexual Offences Act, which prescribes the minimum sentence for a child aged between twelve and fifteen. The court found the minor stated she was fifteen, her father confirmed this, and a birth certificate produced in evidence corroborated the age. This evidence was held sufficient to prove the age of the minor as fifteen years.
Lawfulness of the twenty-year sentence
The sentence was the lawful mandatory minimum under section 8(3) of the Sexual Offences Act and the challenge to it failed.
The court noted that the minimum sentence for defilement of a child aged between twelve and fifteen under section 8(3) is twenty years' imprisonment, which was the term imposed. It relied on the Supreme Court's affirmation of the constitutionality of the sentences framed in the Sexual Offences Act. The appellant's complaint that the courts below failed to record sentencing rationale or obtain a social inquiry report did not persuade the court, which held the sentence lawful.
Legal principles established
#- In a second appeal the Court of Appeal is confined to matters of law; findings of fact by the two courts below bind it absent misdirection.
- A second appellate court must defer to concurrent findings of fact by the two courts below.
- Medical examination of the complainant, or of the accused, is not a prerequisite to proving defilement; the victim's credible oral evidence suffices.
- The minimum sentence of twenty years under section 8(3) of the Sexual Offences Act for defilement of a child aged twelve to fifteen years is lawful.
Court orders
#- 1.Dismissal of the appeal against conviction
- 2.Rejection of all grounds of appeal against conviction
- 3.Dismissal of the challenge to the sentence
- 4.Dismissal of the entire appeal
- On appeal from
- High Court of Kenya
- Not stated in the judgment
- Jurisdiction invoked
- Section 361(1)(a) of the Criminal Procedure Code - second appeal limited to matters of law
Key timeline
#Practical implications
#Frequently asked questions
#Cite this brief
#Cite this brief
Caselaw, "Maina v Republic (Criminal Appeal 114 of 2019) [2026] KECA 1394 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keca/2026/1394/eng@2026-07-03
Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.