Shimole v Republic (Criminal Appeal E013 of 2025) [2026] KECA 1641 (KLR)
The bottom line
#Kenya's Court of Appeal upheld a 20-year murder sentence, ruling that eyewitness relatives' testimony remains credible and a missing murder weapon doesn't defeat the prosecution's case.
What this practically means
#Executive summary
#Questions the Court framed
#The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.
- 1.Whether the prosecution proved the elements of murder beyond reasonable doubt
- 2.Whether the evidence of PW1 and PW2, being relatives of the deceased, was credible and reliable
- 3.Whether the trial court gave adequate consideration to the appellant's sworn defence and complied with Section 169(1) of the Criminal Procedure Code
- 4.Whether malice aforethought was established
- 5.Whether the trial court erred in sentencing, and whether the sentence of 20 years imprisonment should be disturbed
Key legal issues
#Sufficiency and credibility of eyewitness evidence
The consistent direct evidence of PW1 and PW2 placed the stabbing on the appellant; their relationship to the deceased did not discredit them absent proof of grudge.
Both eyewitnesses were present at the scene and gave consistent accounts of the appellant asking for his hammer, drawing a concealed knife and stabbing the deceased. No evidence of grudge or ill-will was led to suggest fabrication. The suggestion of accidental self-stabbing was an afterthought never put to the witnesses at trial, and there was no evidence the deceased had a knife.
Non-production of the murder weapon and absence of forensic examination
Non-production of the weapon did not prejudice or weaken the prosecution case.
The appellant ran away with the knife, so the prosecution could not avail what it did not have. The location of the weapon was within the special knowledge of the appellant. The witnesses testified to the nature of the weapon and how it was used, so its absence did not create a reasonable doubt.
Malice aforethought
Malice aforethought was established under Section 206(a) of the Penal Code by the act of drawing and using a concealed knife.
The appellant came armed with a knife when allegedly only going to collect a hammer, indicating premeditation. At the very least, stabbing the deceased with a knife was an act intended to cause death or grievous harm, satisfying Section 206(a) of the Penal Code.
The appellant's sworn defence
The defence that the deceased and his family attacked him was an afterthought, never put to the prosecution witnesses in cross-examination.
The claim of being attacked was never put to PW1 or PW2 during cross-examination. The appellant's flight from the scene was consistent with guilt. The trial court properly discredited the defence, and the Court found no iota of evidence to disturb that finding.
Sentence
The 20-year sentence was properly imposed and the Court declined to disturb it.
The trial judge considered the pre-sentence report, mitigation, the circumstances of the offence and time spent in custody. No irrelevant factor was taken into account and no relevant factor overlooked. Death remains the prescribed sentence under Section 204 but, per Muruatetu, is a maximum and not the sole sentence.
Legal principles established
#- A first appellate court must re-evaluate the evidence and reach its own conclusions, while making allowance for the fact that it did not see or hear the witnesses.
- The fact that prosecution witnesses are relatives of the deceased does not by itself render their evidence unworthy of credit; there must be evidence of grudge or ill-will.
- Failure to produce the murder weapon does not weaken the prosecution case where the weapon was not recovered and its location was within the special knowledge of the accused, and the witnesses described the weapon and its use.
- An appellate court will not interfere with sentence unless the trial judge acted upon wrong principles or overlooked material factors.
- Following Muruatetu, the sentence of death for murder is the maximum but not the sole or mandatory sentence.
Court orders
#- 1.The appeal against conviction and sentence is dismissed
- 2.The conviction of the appellant for murder and the sentence of 20 years imprisonment (less the period spent in custody) are sustained
The bench
#One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.
- On appeal from
- High Court of Kenya
- not stated in judgment
- Jurisdiction invoked
- First appeal to the Court of Appeal under the Constitution and the Court of Appeal Act (provision not specified in judgment); appeal against conviction and sentence for murder under Section 203 of the Penal Code
Relief refused
#Setting aside of the conviction and sentence and release of the appellant
The Court found the prosecution evidence consistent and credible, the defence an afterthought, and no basis to interfere with either conviction or sentence
Enhancement of the sentence to death (notice filed by the respondent)
The respondent's counsel withdrew the notice of enhancement of sentence at the hearing of the appeal
Costs
No costs order is recorded in the judgment; in a criminal appeal no order as to costs was made.
Quotable passages
#Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.
This being a first appeal, the duty of this Court is to re-evaluate the evidence and come up with its own findings, having in mind that we did not see or hear the witnesses
the fact that they were relatives does not mean that their evidence cannot be considered to be creditworthy.
Thus, the fact that no murder weapon was produced did not in any way prejudice or weaken the prosecution case.
Overall, we see no reason to interfere with the conviction and we sustain the same.
From the foregoing, we find no substance in this appeal and it is hereby dismissed.
Issues in the judgment
#The judgment inconsistently attributes the post-mortem: paragraph 6 records Dr. Mohamed Noor Edakaar (PW4) as conducting the post-mortem, while paragraph 19 states 'PW3 who conducted the post-mortem', although PW3 is the Chief of Mbalambala.
The judgment inconsistently names the police station where the appellant surrendered: paragraph 5 refers to Asaka Police Station while paragraph 7 refers to Abako Police Station.
Key timeline
#Practical implications
#Frequently asked questions
#Cite this brief
#Cite this brief
Caselaw, "Shimole v Republic (Criminal Appeal E013 of 2025) [2026] KECA 1641 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Criminal Appeal (not stated in judgment). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keca/2026/1641/eng@2026-07-31
Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.