Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCDismissedKerugoya ELC Case (number not stated in judgment)· [2016] KEELC 103 (KLR)

Phyllis Kariuko Njagi v David Kiura Njagi [2016] KEELC 103 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
20 December 2016
1,596 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~6 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A mother who claimed her son held family land in trust for his siblings lost because she couldn't prove the trust in court.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The plaintiff sued her first-born son, the registered proprietor of land parcel No. KABARE/MUTIGE/192, seeking a declaration that he holds the land in trust for her and his four brothers, and an order for sub-division into five equal portions of one acre each with fresh titles issued. She claimed the land was registered in the defendant's name as a child (in 1957/1958) because she lacked an identity card and women could not then hold land, and that the defendant later chased her and his siblings away. The defendant denied holding the land in trust, asserting he lived on and owned it personally. The court held that although registration does not relieve a proprietor of trust obligations (Section 25(2) Land Registration Act; Kanyi v Muthiora), the burden lay on the plaintiff to prove a Kikuyu customary trust under Sections 107-109 of the Evidence Act. The plaintiff failed: she did not live on the suit land, only one sibling resided there, no beneficiary siblings testified despite being named in the plaint, and prior litigation (including a 1989 suit dismissed in 1993) contradicted her claim that the defendant evicted her in 2003. Applying Mwangi Mbothu v Gachira Waitimu, the court declined to presume a trust. The plaintiff's own decision in Wangara was distinguished on the facts. The suit was dismissed with each party bearing their own costs.

Key legal issues

#
01

Effect of registration as proprietor on customary trust obligations

Holding

Registration does not extinguish or relieve a proprietor of trustee duties; Section 25(2) of the Land Registration Act and the old Section 28 of the Registered Land Act preserve trust obligations

Reasoning

The court noted the suit land was registered in the defendant's name but relied on the proviso to Section 25(2) of the Land Registration Act 2012 and the equivalent Section 28 of the repealed Registered Land Act, and on Kanyi v Muthiora, holding that registration did not relieve the proprietor of trustee duties nor extinguish rights under Kikuyu Customary Law. The claim therefore had to be tested on evidence of a trust.

p. 2
02

Burden of proving a customary trust

Holding

The party alleging a trust bears the burden of proving it under Sections 107-109 of the Evidence Act, and courts do not presume trusts

Reasoning

As both parties are Kikuyu, the alleged trust could only be one under Kikuyu Customary Law. The plaintiff was obliged to lead evidence proving the trust. The court found her evidence fell short: she did not live on the land, only one sibling lived there, no sibling beneficiary testified, and prior litigation contradicted her claim of being chased away in 2003. Citing Mwangi Mbothu v Gachira Waitimu, the court held that trusts are never presumed.

p. 3

Legal principles established

#
  • Registration of a proprietor does not relieve him of duties or obligations as a trustee under Section 25(2) of the Land Registration Act 2012
  • Courts will never presume or imply a trust save in cases of absolute necessity; the intention to create a trust must be clearly determined

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The plaintiff's suit is dismissed
  2. 2.Each party to meet their own costs
Jurisdiction invoked
Environment and Land Court jurisdiction over disputes relating to title to land (Land Registration Act, trust claim over land parcel KABARE/MUTIGE/192)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Phyllis Kariuko Njagi v David Kiura Njagi [2016] KEELC 103 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2016). Kerugoya ELC Case (number not stated in judgment). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2016/103/eng@2016-12-20

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.