Beth Wamuyu Mukinyukia v Ephantus Kariuki Nguru [2018] KEELC 2006 (KLR)
The bottom line
#A land buyer got her Ksh. 225,000 deposit back, but the court refused the agreed 30% monthly interest because no party was licensed by the Central Bank of Kenya.
What this practically means
#Executive summary
#Questions the Court framed
#The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.
- 1.Whether the plaintiff proved payment of a deposit of Ksh. 225,000/= under the agreement for sale of ¼ acre out of Mutira/Kangai/2610
- 2.Whether the defendant's allegation that he refunded a substantive amount of the purchase price was proved
- 3.Whether the plaintiff could recover the contractual 30% monthly interest stipulated in the agreement for sale
Key legal issues
#Proof of the refund alleged by the defendant
The defendant's assertion that he refunded a substantial amount of the purchase price failed for want of proof, as he neither attended court nor quantified the alleged refund
The defendant admitted the agreement but claimed he had refunded a substantial amount after the sale was frustrated. He did not state how much was refunded and did not attend the hearing, in which the suit proceeded ex parte after service. The court therefore treated the refund as a mere allegation which was not proved, leaving the plaintiff's deposit claim intact.
Enforceability of the 30% monthly interest clause
The stipulated 30% monthly interest was not recoverable because neither party was a registered money holder authorized by the Central Bank of Kenya to charge such interest
The plaintiff sought the 30% monthly interest provided in the agreement for sale. The court held that such a rate of interest could only be charged by a registered money holder authorized by the Central Bank of Kenya; since neither party held such authorization, the clause was unenforceable. Interest was instead awarded at court rates on the proved sum.
Recovery of the deposit of Ksh. 225,000/=
The plaintiff proved payment of the deposit of Ksh. 225,000/= and was entitled to its refund with costs and interest at court rates
The plaintiff gave unchallenged evidence through her statement and documents, having paid a deposit of Ksh. 225,000/= towards the purchase of ¼ acre out of Mutira/Kangai/2610. The defendant's defence of frustration and refund was unproved. The court accordingly found the claim of Ksh. 225,000/= proved and awarded it with costs and interest at court rates.
Legal principles established
#- A contractual stipulation for 30% interest per month is unenforceable where neither party is a registered money holder authorized by the Central Bank of Kenya to charge such interest
- A party who alleges a refund of part of the purchase price must prove the amount refunded; an unquantified allegation remains unproved
Court orders
#- 1.Judgment entered for the plaintiff in the sum of Ksh. 225,000/=
- 2.Costs of the suit awarded to the plaintiff
- 3.Interest on the decretal amount at court rates
- 4.The claim for 30% monthly interest as per the agreement for sale refused/disallowed
The bench
#One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.
Wrote the judgment
- Jurisdiction invoked
- Original civil jurisdiction over a dispute relating to land (sale of ¼ acre out of Mutira/Kangai/2610); no specific provision cited
Relief refused
#Claim for 30% monthly interest pursuant to the agreement for sale
Neither party is a registered money holder authorized by the Central Bank of Kenya to charge such interest, so the stipulated interest is unenforceable and unrecoverable
Costs
Costs of the suit awarded to the plaintiff (plus interest at court rates); no order that each party bear their own costs
Quotable passages
#Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.
The plaintiff however has proved her claim of Ksh. 225,000/= plus costs and interests at Court rates. It is so ordered.
The plaintiff's claim of 30% interest per month pursuant to the agreement for sale remains unenforceable since none of the parties is a registered money holder authorized to charge that kind of interest by the Central Bank of Kenya.
That claim remains an allegation. It was not proved.
Issues in the judgment
#The judgment does not state the case number, the name of the parties, or the court station; the suit is referred to only as 'plaintiff' and 'defendant'
The judgment recites two conflicting hearing dates - the suit 'was fixed for hearing on 6th March 2018 Ex-parte' yet the hearing notice served was for hearing on 2nd May 2018
Key timeline
#Practical implications
#Frequently asked questions
#Cite this brief
#Cite this brief
Caselaw, "Beth Wamuyu Mukinyukia v Ephantus Kariuki Nguru [2018] KEELC 2006 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2018). Not stated in judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2018/2006/eng@2018-06-29
Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.