Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCDismissedNot stated in the judgment

David Njagi Wambu v Grace Muthoni Gituto & another [2018] KEELC 2457 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court ( High Court division as constituted at the time)
26 June 2018
3,482 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~14 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan court dismissed a landowner's claim after finding he forged his brother's thumb print to steal family land, cancelling his title deed.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The plaintiff sued for a declaration that he was the lawful owner of land parcel No. INOI/KARIKO/2452, rectification of the register, a perpetual injunction against the 1st defendant, eviction, mesne profits, costs and interest. He claimed he purchased the land from his brother SIMON NDEGWA WAMBU under an agreement dated 26th November 2003 and was registered on 16th March 2004, but that the 1st defendant later invaded the land and produced her own title. The 1st defendant asserted she lawfully bought the land from SIMON NDEGWA WAMBU for Ksh. 800,000 under an agreement dated 1st November 2004, with Land Control Board consent, and was issued a title. The court found the plaintiff had fraudulently procured his registration by forging his brother's thumb print on the sale agreement, prompting a police complaint and criminal charges, and that the registration was cancelled in error with the consent of both brothers, reverting ownership to SIMON NDEGWA WAMBU, who then validly sold to the 1st defendant. Applying Odd Jobs v Mubia, the court decided the unpleaded issue of the competing titles and, using its powers under Section 143(1) of the repealed Registered Land Act and Section 80(1) of the Land Registration Act, directed the Land Registrar Kirinyaga to recall and cancel the plaintiff's title deed. The suit was dismissed with costs to the 1st defendant; mesne profits were refused as unpleaded and unproved special damages.

Questions the Court framed

#

The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.

  1. 1.Who between the plaintiff and the 1st defendant holds the lawful title to the suit land?
  2. 2.Whether the plaintiff's title obtained on 16th March 2004 was fraudulently procured and validly cancelled by the Land Registrar
  3. 3.Whether the 1st defendant's title, derived from a sale by SIMON NDEGWA WAMBU, is valid
  4. 4.Whether the plaintiff is entitled to a declaration of ownership, rectification of the register, injunction, eviction and mesne profits

Key legal issues

#
01

Validity of competing titles to the suit land

Holding

The 1st defendant holds the lawful title; the plaintiff's title was fraudulently obtained and cancelled in error by consent of the interested parties

Reasoning

The plaintiff's sale agreement of 26th November 2003 bore a forged thumb print of SIMON NDEGWA WAMBU, who reported the matter to police and criminal charges were preferred against the plaintiff for obtaining land registration by false pretences. The registration was entered in error and cancelled on 16th March 2004, reverting ownership to SIMON NDEGWA WAMBU, who then lawfully sold the land to the 1st defendant for Ksh. 800,000.

p. 3
02

Validity of the Land Registrar's cancellation of the plaintiff's registration

Holding

The rectification was lawful under Section 142(1)(b) of the repealed Registered Land Act because both interested parties consented

Reasoning

The court held that the Registrar was empowered to rectify the register where all interested persons consent. Both the plaintiff and SIMON NDEGWA WAMBU were the only interested parties at the time and consented to the entry being marked 'E.I.E' (Entered in Error). The plaintiff's failure to challenge the rectification with the Registrar undermined his later claim.

p. 3
03

Cancellation of the plaintiff's title notwithstanding no counterclaim

Holding

The court cancelled the plaintiff's title on its own initiative because the issue of who holds legal title was litigated by the parties

Reasoning

Relying on Odd Jobs v Mubia, the court held it could decide an unpleaded issue where the evidence and course of the trial showed the issue had been left for its determination. Two title deeds over one parcel would be a source of mischief, so the court exercised its statutory power under Section 143(1) of the repealed Act and Section 80(1) of the new Act to direct recall and cancellation of the plaintiff's title deed.

p. 4

Legal principles established

#
  • Registration of a person as proprietor vests absolute ownership, but registration obtained through fraud or mistake can be cancelled under Section 143 of the repealed Registered Land Act and Section 80(1) of the Land Registration Act
  • Fraud need not be proved only through a conviction in a criminal trial; it can also be proved by other evidence
  • A court may base its decision on an unpleaded issue if it appears from the course followed at trial that the issue was left to the court for decision (Odd Jobs v Mubia)
  • A Land Registrar may rectify the register at any time with the consent of all persons interested under Section 142(1)(b) of the repealed Act

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The plaintiff's suit is dismissed with costs to the 1st defendant
  2. 2.The Land Registrar Kirinyaga is directed to recall for cancellation the title deed to land parcel No. INOI/KARIKO/2452 issued to the plaintiff on 16th March 2004

The bench

#

One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.

majority

Wrote the judgment

majority
Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil jurisdiction over a dispute on ownership of registered land; powers under Sections 143(1) of the repealed Registered Land Act and Section 80(1) of the Land Registration Act

Relief refused

#

Declaration that the plaintiff is the legitimate and lawful owner of L.R INOI/KARIKO/2452

The plaintiff fraudulently transferred the land from his brother and the registration was cancelled in error

p. 3

Rectification of the register to restore the plaintiff as owner, permanent injunction, eviction and mesne profits

The plaintiff holds no valid title; mesne profits are special damages requiring specific pleading and proof

p. 3

Costs

The plaintiff's suit is dismissed with costs to the 1st defendant

Quotable passages

#

Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.

The key to resolving this dispute is to determine who between the plaintiff and the 1st defendant holds the lawful title to the suit land.
p. 2framing of the dispute
This Court is satisfied that SIMON NDEGWA WAMBU was not an honest witness and the correct version of his testimony is that the plaintiff had defrauded him of the suit land
p. 3credibility finding
Fraud need not be proved only through a conviction in a criminal trial. It can also be proved by other evidence
p. 3standard of proof of fraud
The plaintiff's suit is dismissed with costs to the 1st defendant.
p. 4final orders - dismissal
The Land Registrar Kirinyaga is hereby directed to recall for cancellation the title deed to land parcel No. INOI/KARIKO/2452 issued to the plaintiff on 16th March 2004.
p. 4final orders - cancellation of title

Issues in the judgment

#
minor

Two judges appear in the signature block: the judgment is dated and signed by B.N. Olao J on 7th May 2018 but 'Ruling read and Signed' by S.N. Mukunya J on 26th June 2018, creating ambiguity as to the authoring judge and date of delivery

minor

The judgment states the 1st defendant produced a title dated 24th December 2004 in the plaint narrative but later records the 1st defendant's title deed as dated 24th May 2005

minor

Inconsistent cross-examination dates: witness says he filed 'Criminal Case No. 1538 of 2014' while the judgment elsewhere refers to Criminal Case No. 1538 of 2004

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "David Njagi Wambu v Grace Muthoni Gituto & another [2018] KEELC 2457 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2018). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2018/2457/eng@2018-06-26

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.