Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCPartially AllowedNot stated in the judgment· [2024] KEELC 5246 (KLR)

Soy Developers Limited v Kenagri Products Limited & 4 others (Environment & Land Case 132 of 2015) [2024] KEELC 5246 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
11 July 2024
27,835 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~111 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

Kenya's Environment and Land Court returned fraudulently-sold Nairobi land to its original owners, holding that even an innocent buyer gets no protection over a defective title.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
Soy Developers Limited, whose directors are Sammy Arap Kogo and Antoinnette Boit, sued over LR No 209/11151 (IR 47029), Upper Hill, allocated to it in 1989. It alleged that a 1991 sale agreement with Kenagri Products Limited (Cyrus Jirongo) failed for non-payment, that Jirongo fraudulently charged the property to City Finance and Post Bank Credit, and that Post Bank's purported statutory power of sale transferred the property to ASL Limited. The 1st and 5th Defendants counterclaimed, asserting they had purchased the company's shares and paid Kshs 27 million, and sought cancellation of ASL's title. The Court held it had jurisdiction under Article 162(2)(b), the dominant issue being title to land, and that the prior Darelle litigation did not bar the suit as the claimants were not parties and different issues arose. The Plaint was found properly executed; both the Plaintiff's claim and the Counterclaim were within limitation, fraud having been reasonably discoverable only in 2007. On the merits, the Court found the 1991 agreement was for sale of land only, the purchase price was never completed (only Kshs 10 million proven), and no lawful share transfer occurred, so Jirongo and Koech were never directors. The charges were therefore nullities; the statutory notices were not proved served and the Kshs 16 billion demand was impossible; the private treaty sale without first attempting auction was fraudulent. No fraud was attributed to ASL, but its title failed as the root was defective. The Plaintiff's suit succeeded with a permanent injunction and rectification of the register; general and constitutional damages were refused. The Counterclaim was dismissed. ASL's Cross-claim succeeded only to the extent of recovery of Kshs 23 million with interest from the 2nd Defendant, plus indemnity on costs.

Key legal issues

#
01

Jurisdiction of the ELC over a mixed dispute involving land title and company directorship

Holding

The ELC has jurisdiction; the dominant issue is title to the suit property, and the Court may inquire into directorship to resolve it.

Reasoning

Applying the dominant issue test endorsed by the Court of Appeal, the Court held that although the dispute involves company directorship and shareholding, its gravamen is ownership and title to the suit property, squarely within Article 162(2)(b) and Section 13 of the ELC Act. The prior Darelle litigation did not oust jurisdiction as the Plaintiff and 1st and 5th Defendants were not parties and different issues were decided.

p. 24
02

Whether the suit was defective or statute barred

Holding

The Plaint was properly signed, dated and verified; the claim, founded on fraud and for recovery of land, was filed within 12 years of constructive discovery in 2007 and was not time barred.

Reasoning

The original Plaint and verifying affidavit were duly signed and dated; discrepancies in served copies were immaterial and caused no prejudice. The cause of action was fraud, engaging Section 26 of the Limitation of Actions Act, so time ran from discovery. However, reasonable diligence required physical inspection of the property, which would have revealed the 3rd Defendant's possession and fencing in 2007, so the 2015 suit was within time. The Counterclaim, with discovery deemed in 2007, was also within time.

p. 30
03

Whether the company and property were transferred to the 1st Defendant

Holding

No. The written agreement was for sale of the land only; the full purchase price was not proven paid; and no proper share transfer instrument was produced or registered.

Reasoning

The 18th November 1991 agreement expressly concerned sale of the land; extrinsic evidence could not vary it. Only Kshs 10million was proven paid, leaving the balance unpaid. Payments to Jonathan Moi failed on privity and on unauthenticated vouchers; the alleged bearer certificates and cash payments were unproven. No duly executed and registered share transfer form or form 203A was produced, and registry records showed the directors remained Kogo and Boit.

p. 38
04

Validity of the charges and exercise of statutory power of sale

Holding

The charges were nullities for want of authority; the sale was invalid for want of proved statutory notice, a manifestly excessive demand (Kshs 16 billion), and sale by private treaty without first attempting public auction.

Reasoning

Persons who were never directors had no mandate to charge the property; their acts were void ab initio. The chargee neither proved posting of the statutory notice nor served the principal debtor; the demand was arithmetically impossible; and the private treaty sale, conducted secretly at a broker's informal instigation, was fraudulent even though no gross undervalue was proven. Yet no fraud was attributed directly to the 3rd Defendant.

p. 39
05

Whether the 3rd Defendant's title is protected as bona fide purchaser

Holding

Fraud against the 3rd Defendant was not proved, but its title fails because the root was defective; a tainted title cannot confer indefeasibility.

Reasoning

Although ASL conducted due diligence on the registered charge, paid value and was innocent of fraud, the Dina Management principle requires examination of the root of title. The charge underpinning the sale was void, so the statutory power of sale and the resulting transfer were void, and the register must be rectified in the Plaintiff's favour. The 3rd Defendant recovers the purchase price from the 2nd Defendant under the Cross-claim.

p. 45

Legal principles established

#
  • The dominant issue test determines whether a mixed dispute falls within the ELC's jurisdiction; where title to land is the dominant issue, the ELC is seized of the whole matter including incidental questions of directorship.
  • A judgment in a prior suit to which the present claimants were not parties, and on different issues, does not raise res judicata nor preclude determination of the validity of the charge, sale and transfer.
  • Where fraud is alleged, time under Section 7 of the Limitation of Actions Act runs from discovery, but the plaintiff must show reasonable diligence; an owner's physical inspection of property is a critical aspect of due diligence.
  • A transfer of shares requires a proper instrument of transfer duly delivered and registered; absent proof thereof, no change of directorship or shareholding occurs and persons purporting to act as directors cannot bind the company.
  • A charge created by persons without authority is a nullity; a tainted title cannot pass to a third party and a purchaser cannot claim bona fide purchaser protection over a title whose root is defective.
  • Under the repealed Transfer of Property Act, a chargee ought first to attempt a public auction before resorting to private treaty; an opaque private treaty sale without statutory notice is fraudulent and void.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The 1st and 5th Defendants' Counterclaim is dismissed with costs to the Plaintiff
  2. 2.Permanent injunctive orders restraining the Defendants, including the 3rd Defendant, from encroaching, alienating, dividing, transferring, selling, charging, developing or dealing with LR No 209/11151, Grant Number 47029
  3. 3.A Mandatory Injunction directing the 4th Defendant to rectify the Lands Register and reflect the Plaintiff, whose directors are Sammy Arap Kogo and Antoinnette Boit, as the sole registered owner of the suit property
  4. 4.The Defendants shall bear the costs of the suit
  5. 5.In the Cross-claim, the 2nd Defendant shall pay the 3rd Defendant Kshs 23 million with interest at Court rates from the date of filing the suit to payment in full
  6. 6.The 2nd Defendant shall indemnify the 3rd Defendant against the order of costs against it
  7. 7.The 2nd Defendant shall bear the costs of the Cross-claim

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Constitution of KenyaArticle 162(2)(b); Article 50; Article 25; Article 40; Article 40(6)
  • Environment and Land Court Act, No 19 of 2011Section 13(2)
  • Civil Procedure RulesOrder 2 Rule 16; Order 2 Rule 6(1); Order 4 Rule 2; Order 6 Rule 6; Order 7 Rule 3; Order 7 Rule 8; Order 7 Rule 9; Order 1 Rule 15; Order 19 Rule 6; Order 9 Rule 2
  • Limitation of Actions Act, Cap 22Sections 4(1)(a), 4(2), 7, 26
  • Evidence Act, Chapter 80Sections 3(4), 97, 98, 107, 109, 112
  • Companies Act Cap 486 (repealed)Sections 17, 59, 75, 77, 83, 201
  • Transfer of Property Act, 1882 (repealed)Sections 69(1), 69A
  • Section 23(1)
  • Government Lands Act (repealed)Not specified
  • Interpretation and General Provisions Act, Cap 2Section 3(5)
  • Land ActSection 7
  • Auctioneers RulesNot specified

Cases cited (66)

  • Owners of Motor Vessel 'Lillian S' v Caltex Oil (Kenya) Limited
    [1989] KLR 1
  • Kakuta Maimai Hamisi v Peris Pesi Tobiko & 2 others
    [2013] eKLR
  • Suzanne Achieng Butler & 4 Others v Redhill Heights Investments Limited & Another
    (2016) eKLR
  • Lydia Nyambura Mbugua v Diamond Trust Bank Kenya Limited & Another
    [2018] eKLR
  • Joel Kyatha Mbaluka t/a Mbaluka & Associates Advocates v Daniel Ochieng Ogola t/a Ogola Okello & Co Advocates
    [2019] eKLR
  • Co-operative Bank of Kenya Limited v Patrick Kangethe Njuguna
    [2017] eKLR
  • Abukar G Mohamed v Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission
    [2017] eKLR
  • Pattni v Ali & Another (Isle of Mann (Staff of Government Division)
    [2006] UKPC 51
  • Lakeview Developments Limited v Belgo Holdings Limited & another
    [2021] eKLR
  • Cyrus Shakhalanga Khwa Jirongo v Soy Developers Ltd & 9 Others
    [2021] eKLR
  • Nicholas Kiptoo Arap Korir Salat v Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission & Others
    [2013] eKLR
  • Edward Moonge Lenguuranga v James Lanaiyara & Another
    [2019] eKLR
  • Kenya Ports Authority v Timberland (K) Ltd
    [2017] eKLR
  • Margaret Wairimu Magugu v Karura Investment Ltd & 4 Others
    [2019] eKLR
  • Paragon Finance v D B Thackerar & Co.
    [1999] 1 All 400 at 418B-D
  • Dickson Ngige Ngugi v Consolidated Bank Ltd (Formerly Jimba Credit Corporation Limited) & Another
    [2020] eKLR
  • Mumbi M'Nabea v David M. Wachira
    [2016] eKLR
  • Maria Ciabaitaru M'mairanyi & Others v Blue Shield Insurance Company Limited
    Civil Appeal No. 101 of 2000 [2005] 1 EA 280
  • The Speaker Kisii County Assembly & 2 Others v James Nyaoga Omariba
    (2015) eKLR
  • John Onyancha Zurwe v Oreti Atinda alias Olethi Atinda
    Kisumu Civil Appeal No. 217 of 2003
  • Fidelity Commercial Bank Limited v Kenya Garage Vehicle Industries Limited
    [2017] eKLR
  • Gillepsie Bros. & Co. v Cheney, Eggar & Co.
    (1896) 2QB 59
  • Savings & Loan (K) Limited v Kanyenje Karangaita Gakombe & Another
    (2015) eKLR
  • Dunlop Pneumatic Tyre Co Ltd v Selfridge & Co Ltd
    [1915] AC 847
  • Agricultural Finance Corporation v Lendetia Ltd
  • Aineah Liluyani Njirah v Agha Khan Health Services
    [2013] eKLR
  • Salomon v Salomon
    [1896] UKHL 1, [1897] AC
  • Macfoy v United Africa Co. Ltd.
    (1961) 3 All ER 1169
  • Sharok Kher Mohammed Ali & Another v Southern Credit Banking Corporation Limited
    [2008] eKLR
  • Joseph Siro Mosioma v H.F.C.K & 3 Others
    HCCC No. 265 of 2000
  • Peter Kamau Ikigu v Barclays Bank of Kenya & Manor
    [2013] eKLR
  • Zum Zum Investment Limited v Habib Bank Limited
    [2013] eKLR
  • Ashit Patani & 2 Others v Dhirajlal V Patani & 2 others
    [2017] eKLR
  • R. G. Patel v Lalji Makanji
    (1957) EA 314
  • Demutila Nanyama Pururmu v Salim Mohamed Salim
    [2021] eKLR
  • Kinyanjui Kamau v George Kamau
    [2015] eKLR
  • Ndolo v Ndolo
    (2008) 1 KLR
  • Dina Management Limited v County Government of Mombasa & 5 others
    [2023] KESC 30 (KLR)
  • Jogoo Kimakia Bus Services Ltd v Electrocom International Ltd
    [1992] KLR 177
  • Darelle Limited v ASL Limited & 2 Others
    [2015] eKLR
  • Twiga Chemicals Industry v Allan Stephen Reynolds
    [2014] eKLR
  • National Bank of Kenya v Pipe Plastic Samkolit (K) Ltd
    (2002) 2 EA
  • Pius Kimayo Langat v Co-operative Bank of Kenya Ltd
    [2017] eKLR
  • Greer v Kettle
    [1938] AC 156
  • Edward Nyingi Mukundi v Terry Wanjiku Kariuki & Another
    [2020] eKLR
  • Daniel Kiprugut Maiywa v Rebecca Chepkurgat Maina
    [2019] eKLR
  • Bugerere Coffee Growers Ltd v Sebaduka
    [1970] EA
  • Chevron (K) Limited v Harrison Charo Wa Shutu
    [2016] eKLR
  • Daniel Kipruto Metto v Chase Bank (K) Limited
    [2018] eKLR
  • Trust Bank Limited v Eros Chemist Ltd
    [2000] eKLR
  • Elizabeth Wambui Njuguna v Housing Finance Company of Kenya Ltd
    [2006] eKLR
  • Ochieng & Another v Ochieng & 2 Others
    [1995-1998] 2 EA 260
  • David Ngugi Ngaari v Kenya Commercial Bank
    [2015] eKLR
  • East African Ventor v Agricultural Finance Corporation & 4 Others
    [2022] eKLR
  • East African Ventor Co Ltd v Agricultural Finance Corporation
    [2017] eKLR
  • Cuckmere Brick Co Ltd v Mutual Finance Ltd
    [1971] 2 ALL ER 633
  • The Hon Attorney General v Orbit Chemical Industries
    [2019] eKLR
  • Samuel Kamere v Land Registrar, Kajiado
    [2015] eKLR
  • Justus Tureti Obara v Peter Koipeitai Nengison
    [2014] eKLR
  • Southern Engineering Co. Limited v Heady Berge Limited & Another
    [2019] eKLR
  • Elijah Kipng'eno Arap Bii v Kenya Commercial Bank Limited
    [2001] eKLR
  • Jirongo v Soy Developers Ltd & 9 Others (Petition 38 of 2019)
    [2021] KESC 32 (KLR) (16 July 2021)
  • Bellevue Development Company Ltd v Francis Gikonyo & 7 Others
    [2018] eKLR
  • Cami Graphics Limited v Chief Registrar of Judiciary & Others
    [2024] KEHC 2999 (KLR)
  • John Omolo Oracha & 3 Others v Kenya Petroleum Refineries Ltd & 3 Others
    [2017] eKLR
  • Panchal Trading (K) Limited v NF Metals Corporation
    [2021] eKLR
Jurisdiction invoked
Article 162(2)(b) of the Constitution and Section 13 of the Environment and Land Court Act, No 19 of 2011

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Soy Developers Limited v Kenagri Products Limited & 4 others (Environment & Land Case 132 of 2015) [2024] KEELC 5246 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2024). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2024/5246/eng@2024-07-11

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.