Ashitiba v Akafwale (Environment and Land Appeal E027 of 2023) [2024] KEELC 6038 (KLR)
The bottom line
#The Environment and Land Court in Kakamega dismissed a landowner's appeal because he failed to strictly prove fraud and never asked the court to cancel the disputed title.
What this practically means
#Executive summary
#Questions the Court framed
#The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.
- 1.Whether the Appellant established fraud in the Respondent's acquisition of the suit property
- 2.Whether the Appellant was entitled to the reliefs that he sought
Key legal issues
#Whether fraud in acquisition of registered land was proved
Not proved; the Appellant failed to link parcel Kisa/Mundeku/801 to the suit property and produced no green card or certified registers
Fraud allegations attract a heightened standard of proof. The Appellant pleaded fraud but produced only Certificates of Official Search, which showed the suit property as a subdivision of Kisa/Mundeku/1528, not of his alleged parcel 801. Without the green card or certified registers establishing the chain of subdivision, the element of fraud remained unproved and the trial magistrate cannot be faulted.
Whether the Appellant was entitled to the reliefs sought
Not entitled; he never sought nullification of title, so eviction and injunction would be inconsistent with the Respondent's registered proprietorship under Sections 24 and 26 of the Land Registration Act
Parties are bound by their pleadings. The Plaint sought only eviction and a permanent injunction, not cancellation of title. The court was obliged to treat the Respondent's certificate of title as conclusive evidence of proprietorship unless fraud, misrepresentation, illegality, unprocedural acquisition or corruption was established, which it was not.
Legal principles established
#- On a first appeal, the appellate court is duty bound to consider and re-evaluate the evidence on record unless the appeal is on a point of law
- Fraud must be pleaded, particularised and strictly proved to a standard higher than balance of probabilities but lower than beyond reasonable doubt
- A plaintiff claiming title to registered land must succeed on the strength of his own case, not on the weakness or absence of the defence
- Parties are bound by their pleadings and a court cannot grant relief not sought, particularly where the registered proprietor's title is conclusive under Section 26 of the Land Registration Act
Court orders
#- 1.The appeal is dismissed
- 2.Costs of the appeal awarded to the Respondent
The bench
#One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.
Wrote the judgment
- On appeal from
- Subordinate Court
- Suit filed 22nd August 2022 (number not stated)
- Jurisdiction invoked
- First appellate jurisdiction over the Subordinate Court (statutory first appeal)
Relief refused
#Appeal against dismissal of the Appellant's suit
The Appellant failed to establish fraud to the requisite standard and did not plead nullification of title, so no relief could issue
Implied prayer to adduce additional evidence (green card)
No application for leave to adduce additional evidence was placed before the Court prior to the hearing of the appeal
Costs
Appeal dismissed with costs to the Respondent
Quotable passages
#Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.
In view of the foregoing discourse, I find no merit in this appeal. I dismiss the appeal with costs to the Respondent.
In view of the foregoing, I find and hold that the Appellant failed to establish fraud. That resolves the first issue for determination.
A party claiming title to registered land must succeed on the strength of his case and not on the weakness or indeed absence of defence.
In cases where fraud is alleged, it is not enough to simply infer fraud from the facts.
Issues in the judgment
#Ground 1a in the Amended Memorandum of Appeal sought to adduce further evidence but the Amended Memorandum contains no prayers and no such application was made
Key timeline
#Practical implications
#Frequently asked questions
#Cite this brief
#Cite this brief
Caselaw, "Ashitiba v Akafwale (Environment and Land Appeal E027 of 2023) [2024] KEELC 6038 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2024). Not stated in the judgment as extracted. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2024/6038/eng@2024-09-23
Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.