Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCDismissedNot stated in judgment (appeal from trial court judgment of 7th June 2023, Hon. N. Moseti PM)

Orwa v Odoyo & 2 others (Environment and Land Appeal E035 of 2023) [2024] KEELC 6836 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
16 October 2024
2,853 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~11 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan title document alone doesn't prove ownership—if your land size can't be explained, a title certificate won't save you.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
This was a first appeal to the Environment and Land Court at Homa Bay from the judgment of Hon. N. Moseti (PM) delivered on 7th June 2023, which had ordered a resurvey of Land Parcel No. Kasgunga/Kamreri/5393, fresh beacons demarcating its boundary with parcel 3484, vacation and possible eviction of the defendants from any encroaching portion, a permanent injunction, and costs. The appellant, Patrick Midenyi Orwa, proprietor of the other parcel (3484), mounted eleven grounds of appeal, principally that the trial court lacked jurisdiction because the dispute was a boundary dispute for determination under Section 18(2) of the Land Registration Act, that the burden of proof was shifted onto him, and that the trial court nullified the extra 10.9 Ha without evidence or a supporting prayer. G. M. A Ongondo J affirmed the trial court on all grounds. The court held that the boundary issue had been addressed at the trial through a survey ordered and a Surveyor's Report dated 22nd September 2020, so the trial court was properly seized pursuant to Section 18(2). On the unpleaded nullity finding, the court applied Odd Jobs v Mubia, permitting decision on an unpleaded issue left to the court at trial. Addressing the enlargement of the appellant's parcel from 11.30 Ha (per the Minister's unchallenged 2013 decision) to 22.20 Ha, the court applied Section 26(1) of the Land Registration Act, Munyu Maina v Hiram Gathiha Maina, and Alice Chemutai Too, holding that a registered proprietor must prove legality of acquisition beyond the title instrument, particularly where illegal, unprocedural or corrupt acquisition is alleged. The appeal was dismissed with costs to the 1st respondent and the trial judgment affirmed.

Questions the Court framed

#

The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.

  1. 1.Whether the dispute between the suit land and the other parcel of land was a boundary dispute and could not be determined by the court at the first instance
  2. 2.Whether the instant appeal is tenable
  3. 3.Appropriate and just orders to issue herein

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the trial court had jurisdiction over what the appellant characterized as a boundary dispute under Section 18(2) of the Land Registration Act

Holding

The trial court was properly seized; the boundary issue was addressed before determination of the suit on its merits pursuant to Section 18(2) of the Land Registration Act

Reasoning

One of the orders sought in the amended plaint was that a survey be done to mark the exact boundary. The trial court ordered a survey and a Surveyor's Report dated 22nd September 2020 was on record, noting the map could not correctly determine the boundary due to the amendment on the other parcel. The trial magistrate therefore addressed the boundary question before determining the suit on its merits, satisfying Section 18(2).

p. 5
02

Whether the trial court erred in making a finding that the extra 10.9 Ha was acquired irregularly and illegally when no such prayer appeared in the plaint

Holding

No error; a court may determine an unpleaded issue where the course of trial shows it was left to the court (Odd Jobs v Mubia)

Reasoning

Relying on Odd Jobs v Mubia and Vyas Industries, the court held that an unpleaded issue may be decided if the course of the trial shows the parties left it to the court. The evidence on record showed enhancement of the other parcel of land from 11.30 Ha to 22.20 Ha, and it was not clear how the appellant acquired the extra 10.9 Ha.

p. 5
03

Whether the appellant's title reflecting 22.2 Ha was valid

Holding

A title may be impeached where acquired illegally, unprocedurally or through a corrupt scheme, and the proprietor must prove legality of acquisition beyond the instrument

Reasoning

Under Section 26(1) of the Land Registration Act, a certificate of title is prima facie evidence of ownership but may be challenged on grounds of fraud, misrepresentation, or illegal, unprocedural or corrupt acquisition. Following Munyu Maina v Hiram Gathiha Maina and Alice Chemutai Too v Nickson Kipkurui Korir, the registered proprietor must go beyond the instrument to prove legality. The increase from 11.30 Ha (per the Minister's unchallenged decision) to 22.2 Ha was unexplained.

p. 4

Legal principles established

#
  • A court may base its decision on an unpleaded issue if it appears from the course followed at the trial that the issue was left to the court for decision
  • Where a registered proprietor's title is challenged, the proprietor must go beyond the title instrument to prove the legality of its acquisition
  • Where title is impeached on the ground of illegal, unprocedural or corrupt acquisition, it is not necessary to show the title holder's immoral conduct
  • A first appellate court may review the trial evidence but must exercise that jurisdiction with caution

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The appeal (memorandum of appeal dated 29th June 2023) is dismissed with costs to the 1st respondent
  2. 2.The judgment of the trial court delivered on 7th June 2023 is affirmed

The bench

#

One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.

majority

Wrote the judgment

On appeal from
Magistrates' Court (trial court, Hon. N. Moseti PM)
Not stated
Jurisdiction invoked
Article 162(2)(b) of the Constitution of Kenya, 2010, operationalized by Section 13(1) of the Environment and Land Court Act, 2015

Relief refused

#

The appellant's prayer to allow the appeal and set aside the trial court's judgment

The grounds of appeal were found untenable; the trial magistrate had jurisdiction and applied correct principles of law

p. 6

Costs

Appeal dismissed with costs to the 1st respondent.

Quotable passages

#

Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.

Wherefore, the instant appeal originated by way of a memorandum of appeal dated 29th June 2023 is devoid of merit. The same is hereby dismissed with costs to the 1st respondent.
p. 6Final orders - dismissal of appeal
the Learned trial magistrate addressed the issue of boundary before hearing and determining the suit on its merits pursuant to Section 18 (2) of the Land Registration Act 2016 (2012). Thus, the trial court was properly seized of the matter and had jurisdiction to entertain the same.
p. 5Jurisdiction over boundary dispute
when a registered proprietor of title is challenged, it is not suficient to dangle the instrument of instrument as proof of ownership. It is that instrument of title that is challenged and the registered proprietor must go beyond the instrument to prove the legality of how he acquired the title
p. 6Impeachability of registered title
a court may base its decision on an unpleaded issue, if it appears from the course followed at the trial that the issue has been left to the court for decision
p. 5Unpleaded issues
It is a mystery how the defendant's (appellant's) land increased from 11.30 to 22.2 hectares
p. 4Unexplained enlargement of parcel

Issues in the judgment

#
minor

The judgment variously cites 'Land Registration Act 2016 (2012)' - an internally inconsistent citation of the same statute

minor

The judgment refers to the respondent's filing as a 'supplementary record of appeal' though filed by the 1st respondent's counsel

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Orwa v Odoyo & 2 others (Environment and Land Appeal E035 of 2023) [2024] KEELC 6836 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2024). Not stated in judgment (appeal from trial court judgment of 7th June 2023, Hon. N. Moseti PM). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2024/6836/eng@2024-10-16

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.