Glenview Holdings Limited v Management Committee GK Remand Prison Primary School & 2 others (Environment & Land Case 115 of 2018) [2025] KEELC 3316 (KLR)
The bottom line
#A Kenyan court cancelled a private land title over prison land, ruling that holding a title deed alone doesn't prove lawful ownership.
What this practically means
#Executive summary
#Questions the Court framed
#The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.
- 1.Whether the Plaintiff lawfully acquired land parcel number Kitale Municipality Block 2116/953
- 2.Whether parcel No. Kitale Municipality Block 2116/953 is valid
- 3.Whether parcel No. Kitale Municipality Block 2116/953 is part of the Gazetted Prison land
- 4.Whether the Plaintiff has proved continuous quiet possession as to entitle it to a claim of recovery under Section 7 of the Limitation of Actions Act
- 5.Whether the Plaintiff's title should be cancelled
- 6.Whether the Plaintiff has proved its case on a balance of probabilities
- 7.Whether the Defendant has proved its counterclaim to the required standard
- 8.Who to bear the costs of the suit and counterclaim
Key legal issues
#Whether the Plaintiff lawfully acquired the suit parcel
It did not; it failed to prove the root of title, a written sale agreement, payment, or a properly executed transfer (no company seal), and no consent of the Commissioner of Lands under Special Condition 9 of the Grant
The Plaintiff produced only the title instrument. No allotment documents, evidence of degazettement, sale agreement or proof of payment were produced. The transfer lacked company seals, and the transaction breached the Grant's special condition requiring prior written consent of the Commissioner of Lands. The alleged purchase therefore could not convey good title, and the Plaintiff could not qualify as a bona fide purchaser for value.
Whether the suit parcel is part of the gazetted prison land
The land claimed by the Plaintiff was hived off from the 159 acres gazetted as prison land (Gazette Notice No. 145 of 1943), never degazetted; the separate parcel noted in the PDP away from prison land may exist but that claim is misconceived
Court considered the 1943 and 1961 Gazette Notices, the PDP No. 393, the aerial photograph, the letter of allotment and the locus in quo visit, and found the portion claimed by the Plaintiff lay within the gazetted prison land and had been illegally and unprocedurally excised from public land.
Limitation - whether the Plaintiff proved continuous quiet possession
No; the Plaintiff never took possession, the school having occupied the land since at least 1995, so any title of the Plaintiff was extinguished under Sections 7 and 17 of the Limitation of Actions Act
The Plaintiff's own correspondence showed it never gained possession and was told the land was prison land. The school had occupied the land for well over twelve years openly, so recovery was time-barred and any residual title extinguished.
Whether the Plaintiff's title should be cancelled
Yes; the title was created illegally and unprocedurally from undegazetted public land and must be cancelled
There was no evidence the gazetted public land was ever degazetted or alienated for allocation to a private entity. The Plaintiff having failed to prove legal ownership of the title, cancellation followed.
Whether the Defendants' counterclaim was proved
Yes, on a balance of probabilities; the land was prison land allocated to the school by the Prisons Department, and the acreage discrepancy (12 acres vs 3.114 acres) negated double allocation
The Defendants proved occupation and gazettement. The NLC allotment related to a 5-hectare parcel on a different PDP, distinct from the Plaintiff's 1.260 Ha. The court found no double allocation and the allocation to the school proper.
Legal principles established
#- Where a registered proprietor's root of title is under challenge, it is not enough to dangle the instrument of title as proof of ownership; the proprietor must prove the legality of the acquisition
- A title is prima facie evidence of ownership but is challengeable where acquired illegally, unprocedurally or through a corrupt scheme
- A bona fide purchaser must prove a certificate of title, good faith, absence of knowledge of fraud, payment of valuable consideration, vendor's valid title and absence of notice
- A disposition of an interest in land must be in writing and signed by all parties with attested signatures
- Public land reserved and gazetted for a public purpose such as prison use cannot be alienated to private persons without degazettement and due process
Court orders
#- 1.The Plaintiff's suit is dismissed
- 2.Judgment entered for the Defendants on their Counterclaim as prayed
- 3.A declaration that Land Reference 2116/953 or any title in the Plaintiff's name arising from the prison land was unlawfully, irregularly and fraudulently hived out and/or excised from gazetted prison land
- 4.A declaration that the Plaintiff's acquisition of Kitale Land Reference 2116/953 was and is illegal, unlawful and fraudulent and its title documents are null and void ab initio
- 5.An order cancelling the title and all entries in the register in respect of parcel No. Kitale Municipality L.R. No. 2116/953 in so far as the same is excised from the G.K. Kitale Medium Prison land comprising the 159 acres reserved for it
- 6.A declaration that the 1st defendant, and by extension Kitale Medium Prison, is entitled to peaceful and quiet possession and use of all land forming the suit parcel
- 7.An order of permanent injunction restraining the Plaintiff, its servants, agents or any other person acting under it from entering, laying claim to or interfering with or dealing with the suit parcel whose title is now cancelled
- 8.Costs of both the suit and Counterclaim awarded to the Defendants
The bench
#One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.
Wrote the judgment
- Jurisdiction invoked
- Original civil jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court under Article 162(2)(b) of the Constitution (not expressly cited; land dispute within ELC mandate)
Relief refused
#Declaration of lawful ownership of L.R. 2116/953
Plaintiff failed to prove root of title and lawful acquisition
Eviction, demolition of structures, injunction and damages/mesne profits/loss of anticipated income
Plaintiff's claims not proved on a balance of probabilities; title extinguished by limitation
Costs
Costs of both the suit and Counterclaim awarded to the Defendants
Quotable passages
#Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.
The Plaintifis suit is hereby dismissed.
Judgment is hereby entered for the Defendants on their Counterclaim as prayed.
A declaration is hereby issued that the Plaintifi's acquisition of Kitale Land Reference 2116/953 was and is illegal, unlawful and fraudulent and the Plaintifi's title documents are null and void ab initio.
Costs of the both the suit and Counterclaim awarded to the Defendants.
where the registered proprietor's root title is under challenge, it is not enough to dangle the instrument of title as proof of ownership.
It is my finding that to the extent that the Plaintifi claims a parcel of land that was part of the 159 acres reserved for the G. K. Medium Remand Prison, the said title number LR. No. 2116/953 it was hived ofi from the said Prison land.
the Plaintifi cannot recover possession of the said parcel of land.
Issues in the judgment
#Internal inconsistency on the date of transfer to the Plaintiff: the Plaint states 28th April 1998 but paragraph 50 records DW3 acknowledging transfer on a different stated date
The judgment at paragraph 89 finds the suit land registration 'illegal, null and void' while finding elsewhere the Plaintiff's parcel may be a separate parcel outside prison land, creating ambiguity as to which parcel the cancellation order covers
The case number of the suit is not stated anywhere in the judgment provided
Key timeline
#Practical implications
#Frequently asked questions
#Cite this brief
#Cite this brief
Caselaw, "Glenview Holdings Limited v Management Committee GK Remand Prison Primary School & 2 others (Environment & Land Case 115 of 2018) [2025] KEELC 3316 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2025). Not stated in judgment (E&L Court suit, Kitale). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2025/3316/eng@2025-04-02
Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.