Onje v County Government of Migori (Environment and Land Appeal E003 of 2024) [2025] KEELC 4745 (KLR)
The bottom line
#Kenya's Environment and Land Court confirmed that an allotment letter and paid rates prove nothing—only a registered title gives you standing to sue over land.
What this practically means
#Executive summary
#Questions the Court framed
#The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.
- 1.Whether the trial court erred in striking out the suit
- 2.The issue of costs
Key legal issues
#Locus standi of the appellant to institute the suit
The appellant lacked capacity as he produced no certificate of title or allotment letter demonstrating his interest in the suit land
The appellant claimed to be the registered allottee of Plot 36A, having allegedly been allotted the plot after his father's death. He produced only a 'confirmation letter' and county government receipts. He gave no evidence of initial registration in his father's name, of succession proceedings, or of any allotment to himself. Since he who alleges must prove under Section 107 of the Evidence Act, and no title was registered in his name, he failed to show the capacity in which he sued.
Whether an allotment letter or payment of rates confers ownership of land
No - an allotment letter is merely a conditional offer incapable of passing title; payment of rates does not confer ownership; only registration confers indefeasible title
Relying on the Supreme Court in Torino Enterprises and other authorities, the court restated that an allotment letter is an invitation to treat which must be perfected by fulfilling conditions, and even then the allottee cannot pass valid title until registered. Payment of rates is equally incapable of conferring ownership. Even had the appellant's father been allotted the plot, death before perfecting title would not pass good title to the estate or beneficiaries.
Role of a first appellate court
The first appellate court must re-evaluate, re-assess and re-analyse the evidence and reach its own conclusions
Citing Abok James Odera and Susan Munyi, the court outlined its duty on first appeal: to approach the whole evidence afresh, analyse, evaluate, assess and scrutinise it, and arrive at independent conclusions before deciding whether the trial court's conclusions stand.
Legal principles established
#- A letter of allotment does not confer title or interest in land; only registration confers ownership
- Death of an allottee before perfecting title does not pass good title to the estate or beneficiaries
Court orders
#- 1.The disposition of striking out is altered to a dismissal of the suit in the trial court
- 2.The appeal is dismissed for lack of merit
- 3.Costs to the Respondent
The bench
#One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.
Wrote the judgment
- On appeal from
- Trial court (magistrates' court)
- Not stated
- Jurisdiction invoked
- First appellate jurisdiction over the trial court's judgment striking out the suit
Relief refused
#The appeal
The appellant failed to demonstrate capacity/locus standi and produced no certificate of title; a mere allotment letter does not confer ownership
Declaration that the appellant is legal allottee of Plot 36A and permanent injunction
No registered title or valid allotment was proved; payment of rates does not confer ownership
Costs
Costs to the Respondent
Quotable passages
#Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.
It is time people got this legal point loud and clear that a mere allotment letter does not confer title to anyone. It cannot therefore pass good title to any transferee or buyer.
The Appellant having not produced any certificate of title, had no capacity to institute the suit in the trial court.
I therefore find no reason to interfere with the finding of the trial court, except to alter the final disposition to be that the suit in the trial Court is dismissed, and the appeal is hereby dismissed for lack of merit.
Costs to the Respondent.
Issues in the judgment
#The plaintiff in the trial court is repeatedly labelled 'Appellant' and the defendant 'Respondent', but the pleadings paragraph refers to the Appellant instituting the suit 'by way of Plaint' while also describing the matter as an appeal from a trial court striking out the suit
The defence is dated 19/11/2024, years after the plaint of 03/07/2020 and after the suit was allegedly struck out, an internal chronological anomaly
The memorandum of appeal is dated 27/02/2024 but judgment was delivered on 26th June 2025 after trial court judgment; sequence is unclear from the judgment
Key timeline
#Practical implications
#Frequently asked questions
#Cite this brief
#Cite this brief
Caselaw, "Onje v County Government of Migori (Environment and Land Appeal E003 of 2024) [2025] KEELC 4745 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2025). Not stated in judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2025/4745/eng@2025-06-26
Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.