Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCOtherNot stated in the judgment

Kamwara & another v Njagi (Environment and Land Appeal E018 of 2024) [2025] KEELC 8354 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
24 November 2025
178 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~1 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan land appeal collapsed because the respondent died and no one replaced them within 12 months, showing why timely substitution matters.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
This ex-tempore ruling of the Environment and Land Court at Chuka, delivered by B M Eboso J on 24 November 2025, dealt with an appeal in which the sole respondent had died. On 24 September 2025, counsel for the appellant confirmed the respondent's death in a road accident but could not supply the date of death. At the hearing of 24 November 2025, counsel for the appellant again failed to provide the details, while counsel for the respondent stated that the respondent died on 28 June 2024, though no documentary evidence of the death was produced. In the absence of evidence to the contrary, the court proceeded on the premise that the respondent died on 28 June 2024. It computed the 12-month period for substitution from that date, which expired on 28 June 2025, and held that the appeal abated on that day. Consequently, the court marked the appeal as 'abated', closed the appeal file, and declined to make any award of costs of the abated appeal, effectively leaving each party to bear their own costs. No authorities or statutory provisions are cited in the extract, and no separate opinions were rendered; the judgment is a short procedural disposition terminating the appeal by operation of law upon abatement.

Questions the Court framed

#

The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.

  1. 1.Whether the respondent died and on what date
  2. 2.Whether the 12-month period for substitution lapsed without substitution
  3. 3.Whether the appeal abated and what orders should follow

Key legal issues

#
01

Date of death and abatement of the appeal

Holding

In the absence of contrary evidence, the court took the respondent's date of death as 28/6/2024 as stated by respondent's counsel; the 12-month substitution period lapsed on 28/6/2025, when the appeal abated.

Reasoning

Counsel for the appellant confirmed the respondent's death but could not give the date of death despite being given time. Counsel for the respondent stated the death occurred on 28/6/2024, though without documentary evidence. In the absence of evidence to the contrary, the court proceeded on that date and computed the 12-month substitution window from it, concluding the appeal abated on 28/6/2025.

p. 1

Legal principles established

#
  • Where a sole respondent to an appeal dies and no substitution occurs within 12 months of death, the appeal abates on expiry of that period.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The appeal is marked 'abated'
  2. 2.The appeal file is marked 'case closed'
  3. 3.No award of costs of the abated appeal

The bench

#

One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.

majority

Wrote the judgment

On appeal from
Not stated in the judgment
Jurisdiction invoked
Not stated in the extract; appeal pending before the Environment and Land Court, abatement dealt with under the applicable substitution rules

Relief refused

#

Costs of the abated appeal

The court declined to award any costs upon marking the appeal as abated

p. 1

Costs

No award of costs of the abated appeal; each party to bear their own costs of the abated appeal

Quotable passages

#

Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.

The 12 months period for substitution lapsed on 28/6/2025. That is the day when the appeal abated.
p. 1Abatement of appeal on expiry of substitution period
Consequently, this appeal is marked “abated” and the appeal file is marked “case closed.” There will be no award of costs of the abated appeal.
p. 1Final orders

Issues in the judgment

#
minor

Date of death stated by counsel without documentary evidence; court proceeded on an unproven premise

minor

The judgment does not state the case number, the parties' names, or the court appealed from

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Kamwara & another v Njagi (Environment and Land Appeal E018 of 2024) [2025] KEELC 8354 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2025). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2025/8354/eng@2025-11-24

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.