Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCAllowedNot stated in the judgment

Gikunji & another v Muthiru (Environment and Land Case E012 of 2023) [2026] KEELC 577 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
6 February 2026
1,285 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~5 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Nairobi court ordered a defaulting vendor to complete a 2004 land sale, transferring the property title to the buyers who had already paid and taken the documents.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The plaintiffs filed an originating summons dated 22nd August 2023 seeking orders that they be registered as proprietors of LR No. Nairobi/Block 119/2674, that the defendant sign all relevant transfer papers, and that the defendant hand over completion documents including the Land Control Board consent, certified ID and KRA PIN copies and passport photos, with a default provision authorising the Land Registrar Nairobi to effect the transfer. The plaintiffs pleaded that they purchased the suit property from the defendant under a sale agreement dated 29th March 2004, executed a transfer and received the certificate of title, but the defendant neglected to release the completion documents needed to effect registration. The defendant was duly served (affidavit of service of Richard Mukai Njuguna sworn 22nd January 2025) but neither entered appearance nor filed a defence, and did not appear at the hearing on 2nd July 2025. The 1st plaintiff testified as PW1, relying on the sale agreement, the transfer document and the certificate of title still in the defendant's name. Kullow J framed a single issue: whether the plaintiffs were entitled to the orders prayed. Applying the principle that uncontroverted evidence is weighty (relying on Daniel Kenga Katana v Dzitu Toto Bokole and the Mwongo J passage in Peter Ngigi), and holding that a certificate of title is prima facie evidence of ownership under Section 26(1) of the Land Registration Act, the court found the plaintiffs had established their claim on a balance of probabilities. The court allowed the originating summons in full, ordered registration of the plaintiffs as proprietors, compelled the defendant to sign the transfer papers and surrender completion documents, authorised the Land Registrar to effect the transfer in default, and awarded costs to the plaintiffs.

Questions the Court framed

#

The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.

  1. 1.Whether the plaintiff is entitled to the orders as prayed for in the Originating summons dated 22nd August 2023

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the plaintiffs, as purchasers under an uncompleted sale, are entitled to orders compelling registration of the suit property in their names

Holding

Yes - the plaintiffs proved a valid sale agreement, transfer document and possession of the certificate of title, establishing a legitimate claim to title

Reasoning

The defendant was served but neither entered appearance nor filed a defence, so the plaintiffs' evidence was uncontroverted. The plaintiffs produced the sale agreement dated 29/03/2004, a transfer document in their favour, and the certificate of title still in the defendant's name, which clause 3 of the agreement explained. The court held that a certificate of title is prima facie evidence of ownership under Section 26(1) of the Land Registration Act and that the plaintiffs established their claim on a balance of probabilities.

Legal principles established

#
  • Uncontroverted evidence is weighty and courts will rely on it to prove facts in dispute; a statement of defence without supporting evidence amounts to mere statements
  • A certificate of title is prima facie evidence of ownership of the stated land under Section 26(1) of the Land Registration Act

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The plaintiffs be registered as the proprietors of the suit property
  2. 2.The defendant to sign all relevant papers to give effect to the registration of LR NO Nairobi/Block 119/2674 in favour of the plaintiffs
  3. 3.The defendant to surrender the Land Control Board consent, three certified copies of identity card, three certified copies of KRA Pin certificates, three passport size photos and all other relevant completion documents to the plaintiff's advocate
  4. 4.In default of the orders above, the Land Registrar Nairobi to effect the transfer of the suit property to the plaintiffs
  5. 5.The defendant to bear the costs of the suit

The bench

#

One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.

Wrote the judgment

Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court over land registration and transfer of title (originating summons procedure)

Quotable passages

#

Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.

The plaintiffs have established their case on a balance of probabilities and are entitled to the orders sought as in the originating summons
Burden of proof discharged by unopposed evidence
The plaintiffs be registered as the proprietors of the suit property
Final orders - registration
In default of the orders above the Land registrar Nairobi to effect the transfer the suit property to the plaintiffs.
p. 3Final orders - default transfer
It has been established that a certificate of title is held to be prima facie evidence of ownership of the stated land.
p. 3Effect of certificate of title

Issues in the judgment

#
minor

The coram/introduction records the 1st plaintiff appearing as PW1 and 'gave his evidence', but the next sentence uses the female pronoun: 'She reiterated the fact that he bought the suit property'

minor

The judgment is dated and delivered on 6th February 2026 although the hearing occurred on 2nd July 2025 and the service affidavit was sworn 22nd January 2025; no internal contradiction in reasoning but the dates are noted

material

The case number and parties' names are not stated anywhere in the judgment extract; the matter is identified only by the suit property

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Gikunji & another v Muthiru (Environment and Land Case E012 of 2023) [2026] KEELC 577 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2026/577/eng@2026-02-06

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.