Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCPartially AllowedNot stated in the judgment as provided· [2026] KEELC 2093 (KLR)

Cheboren v Masai (Environment and Land Case E032 of 2024) [2026] KEELC 2093 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
15 April 2026
3,659 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~15 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan land buyer recovered Kshs. 13.5 million plus interest after the seller breached a written acknowledgement, though the court refused to force the land transfer itself.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The plaintiff sued for specific performance of a sale agreement over six parcels of land (L.R. Nos. Kiminini/Kinyoro Block 2/Chumek/52, 53, 58, 59, 60 and 61) or, in the alternative, compensation at current market value, general damages and mesne profits. His case was that he paid Kshs. 13,500,000/= directly and through third parties towards an oral 2016 agreement, and that after the breach the defendant, before her own advocate (PW2), signed an acknowledgement note and undertaking dated 18/7/2023 admitting the debt and offering alternative land of 22.5 acres in two batches by 1/1/2024 and 20/6/2024, in default of a refund of Kshs. 13,500,000/= with interest at market rates by 15/7/2024. The defendant denied any enforceable agreement, receipt of consideration, and the validity of the acknowledgement, pleading lack of land control board consents and encumbrances on the parcels, and contending that only a refund of deposits was available. Her defence was closed after she failed to attend court to adopt her witness statement. Relying on the law of contract, proprietary estoppel and constructive trust (including Kitilit v Kibet and Shah v Mombasa Bricks & Tiles), the court found the plaintiff's evidence unshaken, held the acknowledgement complied with the Law of Contract Act, and that the defendant was bound by it. The court awarded the plaintiff Kshs. 13,500,000/= plus interest at market rates from 15/7/2024 until payment in full, declined prayers (a), (c) and (d) (specific performance, general damages and mesne profits), and granted costs to the plaintiff.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the plaintiff proved a valid and enforceable transaction capable of specific performance

Holding

Yes - the defendant's written acknowledgement and undertaking (P. Exhibit No. 2), executed before her advocate PW2, admitted receipt of Kshs. 13,500,000/= and the transaction; her defence was closed without substantiating the denials, leaving the plaintiff's evidence unshaken

Reasoning

The court found the acknowledgement in writing was not specifically disputed in the defence and the advocate who prepared and witnessed it testified credibly that it was voluntarily signed. The defendant failed to attend court to prove her denials, and her defence was marked closed. In the absence of contrary evidence, the plaintiff's evidence that consideration was paid directly or through third parties and acknowledged by the defendant stood unrebutted and satisfied the statutory writing requirements.

p. 6
02

What remedy follows from the defendant's breach of the acknowledgement and undertaking

Holding

The plaintiff is entitled to the acknowledged sum of Kshs. 13,500,000/= plus interest at market rates from 15/7/2024, not specific performance of the transfers; general damages and mesne profits are declined

Reasoning

The defendant agreed in the acknowledgement to avail alternative land by fixed dates, in default of which she would refund Kshs. 13,500,000/= with interest at market rates. She breached both deadlines and did not offer to refund. A year after signing she had neither availed the land nor refunded, and it would be unjust for her to keep both the land parcels and the consideration. Courts enforce rather than rewrite contracts, and no fraud, illegality, duress or undue influence was pleaded against the acknowledgement.

p. 6
03

Proprietary estoppel as against the defendant's denial of receipt of the monies

Holding

By the doctrine of proprietary estoppel the defendant cannot plead in defence that she was unaware of or did not receive the Kshs. 13,500,000/= which she acknowledged in writing

Reasoning

The defendant admitted deposits made by third parties on the plaintiff's instructions into her account for an anticipated transaction, yet denied receipt of the sums. Having acknowledged receipt of the Kshs. 13,500,000/= in a written agreement signed before her advocate, she was estopped from denying receipt, particularly as she failed to show how the amount did not reflect in her bank account.

p. 6

Legal principles established

#
  • Parties are bound by their pleadings and issues for determination flow from those pleadings
  • Courts enforce contracts; they do not rewrite them, and a party who consciously signs an agreement must abide by it
  • A constructive trust may arise to prevent unjust enrichment and can defeat the rights of a registered title holder

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The plaintiff is awarded Kshs. 13,500,000/= plus interest at market rates with effect from 15/7/2024 until payment in full
  2. 2.Prayers (a), (c) and (d) (specific performance of the transfers, general damages for breach of contract, and mesne profits) are declined
  3. 3.Costs are granted to the plaintiff

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Law of Contract ActSection 3(3)
  • Law of Contract ActSection 3(2)
  • Land ActSection 38
  • Land Registration ActSections 25(2), 28, 38(1), 40, 41, 161(2)
  • Land Control ActNot specified
  • Constitution of KenyaArticles 10(2)(b), 159(2)(e), 50(1)

Cases cited (27)

  • Boma -vs- Kabugua & another
    (Civil Appeal E019 of 2022) [2026] KECA 50 (KLR)
  • Manzoor -vs- Baram
    [2003] 2 EA
  • Gharib Suleiman Gharib -vs- Abdulrahman Mohamed Agil
    LLR No. 750 (CAK) Civil Appeal No. 112 of 1998
  • James Murithi Maina -vs- Shekale Bwana
    Civil Appeal No. E009 of 2022
  • Ken Nyaga Mwige -vs- Austin Kiguta & Others
    [2015] eKLR
  • Magretville Asami Machio & another -vs- Musa Mwera Athuman & 2 others
    [2022] KEELC 1791 (KLR)
  • Michael Murithi Muthii -vs- Cecilia Wanjiru Cooper & 3 others
    [2021] KECA 9641 [KLR]
  • Caltex Oil (K) Ltd -vs- Rono Ltd
    [2016] KECA 457 [KLR]
  • Thomas Openda -vs- Peter Martin Ahn
    [1984] KECA 25 (KLR)
  • Kenya Tourist Development Corporation -vs- Sundowner Lodge Ltd
    [2018] KECA 312 [KLR]
  • Electoral and Boundaries Commission & another -vs- Stephen Mutinda Mule & 3 others
    [2014] eKLR
  • George Njenga Kagai -vs- Samuel Kabi Njoroge & Others
    Civil Appeal No. 29 of 2017
  • Elijah Kipkorir Barmalel & another -vs- John Kiplagat Chemweno & Others
    [2020] eKLR
  • William Kazungu Karisa -vs- Cosmus Angore Chanzera
    [2006] eKLR
  • Cassam & another -vs- Sachania & another
    (1982] KLR 191
  • Gurdev. Singh Birdi -vs- Marinder Singh Ghatora & Another
    Civil Appeal No. 165 of 1996
  • Nabro Properties Ltd -vs- Sky Structures Ltd & Others
    [2002] 2 KLR 300
  • Kitilit -vs- Kibet
    Civil Appeal No. 51 of 2015
  • Macharia Mwangi Maina & 87 Others -vs- Davidson Mwangi Kagiri
    [2014] eKLR
  • David Ole Tukai -vs- Francis Arap Muge & Others
    [2014] eKLR
  • Yaxley -vs- Gotts
    [2000] Chi 162
  • Kiprono -vs- Kiprono
    (Civil Appeal 100 of 2020) [2026] KECA 331 (KLR)
  • Shah & 7 others -vs- Mombasa Bricks & Tiles Limited & 5 others
    (Petition 18 (E020) of 2022) [2023] KESC 106 (KLR)
  • Lunak Heavy Industries (UK) Ltd & Anor -vs- Tyburn Film Productions Ltd
    [2025] EWCA Civ 1643
  • Stanbic Bank Kenya Ltd -vs- Santowels Ltd
    SCOK Petition No. E005 of 2023
  • Gatirau Peter Munya -vs- Dickson Mwenda Kithinji & Others
    [2014] eKLR
  • National Bank of Kenya Ltd -vs- Pipe Plastic Samkolit (K) Ltd & Another
    [2001] KLR 112
Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court (ELC Kitale)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Cheboren v Masai (Environment and Land Case E032 of 2024) [2026] KEELC 2093 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Not stated in the judgment as provided. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2026/2093/eng@2026-04-15

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.