Nancy v Mugo (Environment and Land Appeal E054 of 2024) [2026] KEELC 2588 (KLR)
The bottom line
#Kenya's Environment and Land Court at Embu vacated a temporary injunction over Plot 21A Manyatta, holding a council letter is not proof of land ownership.
What this practically means
#Executive summary
#Key legal issues
#Prima facie case
The Respondent failed to establish a prima facie case of sufficient strength; a County Council letter is not an instrument of title and a Certificate of Confirmation of Grant does not establish proprietary right against a third party who has transacted on the plot
The Respondent relied on a 2009 County Council letter and a Certificate of Confirmation of Grant. The court held the letter is general correspondence, not an allotment letter, lease or instrument of title, and the grant certificate only establishes standing as administrator, not proprietary right against a third-party purchaser. The Appellant's 2018 documentary trail was comparatively stronger, and the trial Magistrate erred in finding a prima facie case without analysing the competing documents.
Irreparable harm
The Respondent's alleged loss (rental income of about Kshs. 35,000 per month) was quantifiable and thus compensable in damages; the Appellant, in possession since 2018, would suffer real harm from ejectment before trial
The Respondent's complaint was collection of rental income by the Appellant, which is a measurable monetary loss incapable of founding irreparable harm under KCB v Muiri Coffee Estate. Conversely, the Appellant in possession and paying rates would suffer real and immediate harm from an order that in practical effect ejected him before determination of title validity - a dimension the trial court ignored.
Balance of convenience
The balance of convenience lay with the Appellant, who was in actual occupation with consents from the County Management Board and the National Land Commission and was paying land rates; the order was in substance a mandatory injunction
Although unnecessary given failure of the first two limbs, the court found the equities favoured the Appellant: actual occupation, documentary consents, payment of rates, and the settled reluctance to disturb an established physical status quo. Granting the injunction amounted in substance to a mandatory injunction compelling the Appellant to vacate before trial.
Right to be heard (ground 5)
The Appellant was not denied a hearing; the grievance was one of incorrect evaluation of evidence, not procedural unfairness
The trial record showed the parties agreed to canvas the injunction application by affidavit evidence and written submissions, and both filed affidavits and submissions. The court therefore rejected the natural-justice complaint, characterising the true grievance as mis-evaluation of evidence addressed under grounds 1 to 4.
Legal principles established
#- The three Giella conditions for a temporary injunction are cumulative/conjunctive and each must be satisfied
- Quantifiable monetary loss does not constitute irreparable harm for purposes of an injunction
- A party in actual, peaceful possession of disputed property should not be dispossessed by an interlocutory order unless the applicant's case is unusually strong
Court orders
#- 1.The impugned Ruling of 5th November 2024 is set aside
- 2.The temporary injunction granted in the lower court in terms of Prayer No. 2 of the Notice of Motion dated 26th February 2024 is discharged and vacated forthwith
- 3.The main suit, Embu CM-ELC No. E009 of 2024, shall proceed to full hearing and determination on its merits before the trial court, with both parties at liberty to adduce all relevant evidence
- 4.Costs of the appeal to be borne by the Respondent
- On appeal from
- Principal Magistrate's Court at Embu
- Embu CM-ELC No. E009 of 2024 (Ruling of 5th November 2024)
- Jurisdiction invoked
- First appellate jurisdiction over a ruling of the Principal Magistrate's Court (Embu CM-ELC No. E009 of 2024); specific provision not stated
Key timeline
#Practical implications
#Frequently asked questions
#Cite this brief
#Cite this brief
Caselaw, "Nancy v Mugo (Environment and Land Appeal E054 of 2024) [2026] KEELC 2588 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Not stated in judgment (main suit: Embu CM-ELC No. E009 of 2024). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2026/2588/eng@2026-04-30
Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.