Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCStruck OutNot stated in the judgment as provided (Application and Plaint dated 18/02/2025)

Ardhilink Limited v Equity Bank Limited & another (Environment and Land Case E023 of 2025) [2026] KEELC 3750 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
15 June 2026
3,154 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~13 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

Kenya's Environment and Land Court struck out a borrower's auction challenge, confirming debt-recovery disputes belong in the High Court, not the ELC.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The Plaintiff, through a Notice of Motion dated 18/02/2025 supported by the affidavit of its Director Patrick Ngigi Mbugua, sought temporary injunctions restraining the Defendants from auctioning three charged properties (Ruiru/Ruiru East Block 1/1858, Ruiru East/Juja East Block 2/41219 and 41220) pending hearing of the application and main suit. The Plaintiff, admittedly indebted under a consolidated loan, argued that the statutory 90-day, 40-day and 45-day notices were not served, that no forced sale valuation was conducted under Section 97(2) of the Land Act, and that the auction would destroy its hardware business and cause irreparable loss. The 1st Defendant raised a Preliminary Objection contending the ELC lacked jurisdiction because the substratum was a banking contract and debt recovery, relying on Co-operative Bank v Kangethe Njuguna and Thomas Mutuku Kasue. It also filed a Replying Affidavit demonstrating service of statutory notices with certificates of postage, a Topmark Valuers valuation, and an outstanding debt of Kshs. 18,011,937.08. The court framed two issues: jurisdiction, and the Giella test. Upholding the objection, Mogeni J held that the predominant issue was recovery of a debt and procedural regularity of a statutory sale, falling within the High Court's commercial jurisdiction, not the ELC. Alternatively, the Applicant failed to show a prima facie case or irreparable injury, land charged for a commercial loan being a commodity compensable by damages. The Preliminary Objection was upheld, the Plaint struck out, the application dismissed, and costs awarded to the Defendants.

Questions the Court framed

#

The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.

  1. 1.Whether this Court is clothed with the requisite jurisdiction to entertain a dispute centered on the exercise of a chargee's Statutory Power of Sale
  2. 2.If jurisdiction exists, whether the Applicant has satisfied the sequential judicial hurdles for the grant of an interlocutory injunction

Key legal issues

#
01

Jurisdiction of the ELC over disputes on exercise of Statutory Power of Sale

Holding

The Preliminary Objection was upheld; the ELC lacks jurisdiction where the substratum is debt recovery under a charge

Reasoning

The Court applied Co-operative Bank of Kenya v Patrick Kangethe Njuguna and Thomas Mutuku Kasue, holding that although land is the security, the cause of action is recovery of a debt and tabulation of sums owing, a commercial dispute for the High Court. The Applicant did not challenge the validity of the charge, only notices and the loan balance.

p. 6
02

Whether the Applicant met the Giella test for interlocutory injunction

Holding

Even assuming jurisdiction, the Applicant failed the test - no prima facie case and damages an adequate remedy

Reasoning

The Respondents exhibited certificates of postage, statutory notices and a valuation report by Topmark Valuers; the Applicant's assertions were bare denials. Land charged as security for a commercial loan is a commodity whose loss is compensable in damages, so no irreparable injury was shown.

p. 6

Legal principles established

#
  • Where the predominant issue in a suit is the exercise of a chargee's Statutory Power of Sale to recover a debt, jurisdiction vests in the High Court, not the Environment and Land Court
  • A court can only exercise jurisdiction conferred on it by the Constitution or statute

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The Preliminary Objection dated 28/03/2025 is hereby upheld.
  2. 2.This Court downs its tools for lack of jurisdiction.
  3. 3.The Plaint dated 18/02/2025 is hereby struck out.
  4. 4.The Application dated 18/02/2025 is hereby dismissed.
  5. 5.Costs of the suit and the application are awarded to the Defendants/Respondents.

The bench

#

One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.

majority

Wrote the judgment

Jurisdiction invoked
Article 162(2)(b) of the Constitution of Kenya 2010 and Section 13 of the Environment and Land Court Act (jurisdiction challenged and found wanting)

Relief refused

#

Temporary injunction restraining the Defendants from selling by public auction the three suit properties

Court found it lacked jurisdiction; alternatively the Applicant failed to establish a prima facie case and damages would be an adequate remedy

p. 6

Temporary injunction restraining dealing with the charged properties pending hearing of the main suit

Plaint struck out and application dismissed upon upholding the Preliminary Objection on jurisdiction

p. 6

Costs

Costs of the suit and the application are awarded to the Defendants/Respondents.

Quotable passages

#

Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.

The Preliminary Objection dated 28/03/2025 is hereby upheld.
p. 6final orders - preliminary objection
This Court downs its tools for lack of jurisdiction.
p. 6final orders - jurisdiction
The Plaint dated 18/02/2025 is hereby struck out.
p. 6final orders - striking out the plaint
Costs of the suit and the application are awarded to the Defendants/Respondents.
p. 6final orders - costs
The predominant issue herein is the recovery of a debt and the procedural regularity of a Statutory Sale, which falls within the Commercial jurisdiction of the High Court, not the specialized ELC.
p. 6jurisdictional divide between ELC and High Court

Issues in the judgment

#
minor

Internal date inconsistencies: the Replying Affidavit and Defendants' submissions are dated 30/04/2026 but submissions supporting the Preliminary Objection dated 30/05/2025; the auction was allegedly scheduled for 2/02/2025 in one place and 21st February 2025 in the notice of motion

minor

Chronology anomaly: submissions were directed to be filed from 19/03/2026 though the application is dated 18/02/2025 and objection 28/03/2025, and the judgment is dated 15/06/2026

minor

The loan balance figures conflict: Applicant deposes to a balance of Kshs. 15,857,000 while Respondents state the outstanding debt was Kshs. 18,011,937.08 - though this is a factual dispute between parties rather than an internal contradiction of the judgment

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Ardhilink Limited v Equity Bank Limited & another (Environment and Land Case E023 of 2025) [2026] KEELC 3750 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Not stated in the judgment as provided (Application and Plaint dated 18/02/2025). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2026/3750/eng@2026-06-15

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.