Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCDismissedNot stated in the judgment· [2026] KEELC 3894 (KLR)

Dar v Focus Homes Ltd & 2 others (Environment and Land Case E064 of 2026) [2026] KEELC 3894 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
29 June 2026
2,895 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~12 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Nairobi apartment buyer who paid in full still lost her bid to block the bank from selling, because the property's charge was never discharged.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The Plaintiff, purchaser and beneficial owner of Apartment No. 7, Second Floor, Block B on L.R. No. 37/369 (I.R. No. 69578) in Upper Hill, moved the court by Notice of Motion dated 23rd February 2026 seeking a temporary injunction restraining the Defendants from advertising, attaching, auctioning or dealing with the suit property, including her apartment. She had bought the apartment in 2013 for Kshs. 13,000,000, took possession for over twelve years, and registered a caveat in September 2017 after the 1st Defendant failed to register her lease. The 1st Defendant, in support of the application, admitted charging the property to the 2nd Defendant (Equity Bank, successor to Spire Bank's loan book) for a Kshs. 200,000,000 facility, and alleged the 2018 registered Charge was forged. The 2nd Defendant opposed, arguing the suit was res judicata HCCC 373 OF 2018 (decided by Mulwa J and under appeal), that its statutory power of sale had crystallised, and that any loss was calculable in damages. The sole issue was whether the Plaintiff was entitled to an interlocutory injunction. Applying Giella v Cassman Brown and the Mrao definition of a prima facie case, the court found she had not established one: the suit property remained charged to the 2nd Defendant with no partial discharge of her apartment, and the Charge issue had already been dealt with in HCCC 373 OF 2018. Following Nguruman, the court declined to consider the other two injunction limbs and dismissed the application, with costs in the cause.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the Plaintiff established a prima facie case warranting an interlocutory injunction

Holding

No prima facie case was established; the suit property remained charged to the 2nd Defendant and no partial discharge of the Plaintiff's apartment existed

Reasoning

The court applied Giella v Cassman Brown and the Mrao definition of a prima facie case. Although the Plaintiff paid the full purchase price of Kshs. 13,000,000 and possessed the apartment for twelve years, the title over the whole property remained charged to the 2nd Defendant. There was no partial discharge of her apartment, so the court could not separate it from the charged property. The Charge issue had also been dealt with in HCCC 373 OF 2018.

p. 6
02

Whether the other Giella limbs (irreparable harm and balance of convenience) required determination

Holding

Not determined, because failure of the first limb disposes of the application

Reasoning

Following Nguruman Ltd v Jan Bonde Nielsen, where the applicant fails on the prima facie case limb, the court need not consider irreparable injury or the balance of convenience. The court expressly declined to proceed to the other two limbs and dismissed the application.

p. 6
03

Whether the 2nd Defendant's statutory power of sale was superior to the Plaintiff's purchaser's interest

Holding

Yes; the charge remained undischarged and the loan unsatisfied, so the chargee remained entitled to recover the full amount owed

Reasoning

The court noted that the 1st Defendant charged the suit property to obtain a construction loan and that the loan remained unpaid despite the Plaintiff's full payment for her apartment. The court accepted the principle from Andrew Muriuki Wanjohi that charged property is a commodity for sale on default, and held the Plaintiff could not escape the charge since her apartment had not been partially discharged.

p. 5
04

Whether the suit is res judicata HCCC 373 OF 2018

Holding

Raised by the 2nd Defendant but not expressly determined; the court merely noted that HCCC 373 OF 2018 had already dealt with the issue of the Charge

Reasoning

The 2nd Defendant submitted the suit was res judicata HCCC 373 OF 2018, decided by Mulwa J and under appeal. The court did not rule on the res judicata plea as a distinct issue but observed in its analysis that the High Court had already dealt with the issue of the Charge over the suit property in that suit, which had been filed by the 1st Defendant.

p. 5

Legal principles established

#
  • Where a party fails to establish a prima facie case on an application for interlocutory injunction, the court need not proceed to consider the other two Giella limbs
  • Once a property is offered as security, it becomes a commodity which may be sold on default, and a chargor's loss on sale is calculable on the basis of real market value (Andrew Muriuki Wanjohi principle)
  • A purchaser of an apartment on charged land cannot escape the chargee's rights where the charge remains undischarged and there is no partial discharge of the unit purchased

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The Notice of Motion application dated 23rd February 2026 is dismissed
  2. 2.Costs will be in the cause
Jurisdiction invoked
Not expressly stated; first-instance civil suit over land (L.R. No. 37/369 (I.R. No. 69578)), Article 162(2)(b) land jurisdiction implied but not cited in the judgment

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Dar v Focus Homes Ltd & 2 others (Environment and Land Case E064 of 2026) [2026] KEELC 3894 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2026/3894/eng@2026-06-29

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.