Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCPartially AllowedNot stated in the judgment (appeal against judgment in Ukwala MCELC No. E036 of 2025)· [2026] KEELC 4115 (KLR)

Obala & another v Oluoch (Environment and Land Appeal E011 of 2026) [2026] KEELC 4115 (KLR)

High Court of Kenya
7 July 2026
3,681 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~15 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
This ruling of the High Court at Siaya (A. E. Dena, J) determines two notices of motion arising from an intended appeal against the judgment of Hon. Edward Tsimonjero delivered on 15th December 2025 in Ukwala MCELC No. E036 of 2025, in which the respondent was declared the lawful proprietor of parcel South Ugenya/Simenya/789 and the defendants were ordered to vacate within 60 days, failing which eviction would issue, with the Land Registrar and District Land Surveyor to place boundary beacons at the defendants' costs. The first application sought leave to appeal out of time, deemed admission of a draft memorandum of appeal, and stay of execution. The applicant explained a 27-day delay by financial constraints, change of advocates under Order 9 Rule 9 and the court recess, supported by documentary correspondence. Relying on Salat v IEBC, the court found good and sufficient cause and held the delay not inordinate. On stay, applying Order 42 rule 6(2) and the substantial-loss jurisprudence in Kenya Shell and Mukuma v Abuoga, the court preserved the status quo on occupation but permitted the beaconing order to proceed, holding beacons removable and incapable of rendering the appeal nugatory, and directed a Kshs. 50,000 deposit as security. The second application, unopposed, sought to correct the citation of the wrong judgment in the draft memorandum; the court allowed it under Order 8 and the substantive-justice principle, citing Central Kenya Ltd v Trust Bank. The application of 12th February 2026 partially succeeded; costs were made to abide the appeal, and no costs were awarded on the second application.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether there was good and sufficient cause for the 27-day delay in filing the appeal

Holding

Yes; the delay of approximately 27 days was explained by financial constraints and the need to comply with Order 9 Rule 9 on change of advocates post-judgment, and was not inordinate

Reasoning

The court applied the Salat v IEBC criteria. The judgment was delivered on 15th December 2025 and the application filed on 12th February 2026, a delay of about 27 days. Documentary evidence (letters, email and consent between advocates) substantiated the reasons of fee settlement, change of counsel and the court recess. The court held that a 27-day delay was not inordinate in the circumstances and found good and sufficient cause.

p. 4
02

Whether the threshold for stay of execution pending appeal was met

Holding

Partially; occupation status quo maintained with no new construction, but the beaconing order allowed to proceed on a deposit of Kshs. 50,000 as security

Reasoning

Applying Order 42 rule 6(2), the court distilled three requirements: substantial loss, no unreasonable delay, and security. Delay was excused. On substantial loss, the court found beacons are removable and their placement would not render the appeal nugatory, so that order could proceed. Since the families possibly reside on parcel 790, occupation status quo was preserved with a prohibition on new construction, and a Kshs. 50,000 deposit ordered for beaconing costs.

p. 6
03

Whether leave should issue to amend the Draft Memorandum of Appeal to correct the citation of the wrong judgment

Holding

Yes; the amendment, which corrected the citation from the judgment of Justice W. Korir to that of Hon. Edward Tsimonjero dated 15/12/2025, was allowed as it corrected an error without introducing new grounds or prejudice

Reasoning

Although the application did not cite the enabling provisions, the court invoked the overriding need for substantive justice and the amendment provisions of Order 8 rules 3 and 5, and the Central Kenya Ltd v Trust Bank principle that amendments be freely allowed absent uncompenstable prejudice. The court found no new grounds of appeal and no bad faith, and no prejudice to the respondent.

p. 6

Legal principles established

#
  • Extension of time is an equitable remedy available to a deserving party at the court's discretion, and the applicant bears the burden of explaining the delay and showing absence of prejudice to the respondent
  • Substantial loss is the cornerstone for granting stay of execution, and its essence is the preservation of the status quo to prevent the appeal being rendered nugatory
  • At the leave stage the court does not delve into the merits of the intended appeal; it is enough that the appeal raises arguable issues
  • Amendments to correct errors, including citing the wrong judgment appealed from, should be freely allowed where no prejudice or bad faith is demonstrated, guided by substantive justice over technicality

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Leave granted to the Applicant to file appeal out of time against the judgment delivered by Hon. Edward Tsimonjero dated 15/12/2025 in Ukwala MCELC No. E036 of 2025
  2. 2.Pending the hearing and determination of the intended appeal, status quo shall be maintained as to occupation of the parties in the suit property South Ugenya/Simenya/789
  3. 3.No new construction to be undertaken on South Ugenya/Simenya/789
  4. 4.Respondents at liberty to proceed with enforcement of the order that the Land Registrar together with the District Land Surveyor place beacons demarcating the boundaries of the suit land at the costs of the defendants
  5. 5.Defendants/Appellants to deposit with the Court Kshs. 50,000/- within 45 days as costs for the beaconing order
  6. 6.Costs of the application dated 12th February 2026 to abide the outcome of the Appeal
  7. 7.The file to be retained for purposes of the main appeal
  8. 8.Application dated 22nd February 2026 allowed to the extent that leave granted to amend the Draft Memorandum of Appeal dated 12th February 2026 as per the annexed Amended Draft Memorandum of Appeal dated 22nd February 2026
  9. 9.No orders as to costs on the application dated 22nd February 2026

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Civil Procedure ActSection 79G
  • Civil Procedure RulesOrder 42 rule 6(2)
  • Civil Procedure RulesOrder 9 (Rule 9)
  • Civil Procedure RulesOrder 8 Rule 3
  • Civil Procedure RulesOrder 8, rule 5

Cases cited (4)

  • Salat v Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission & 7 others (Application 16 of 2014)
    [2014] KESC 12 (KLR) (Civ)
  • Kenya Shell Limited –vs– Benjamin Karuga Kigibu & Ruth Wairimu Karuga
    (1982-1988) KAR 1018
  • Mukuma vs Abuoga
    (1988) KLR 645
  • Central Kenya Ltd vs Trust Bank & 4 Others
    CA No. 222 of 1998
On appeal from
Ukwala Magistrates' Court (MCELC)
Ukwala MCELC No. E036 of 2025
Jurisdiction invoked
Section 79G of the Civil Procedure Act (enlargement of time to appeal from a subordinate court to the High Court); Order 42 rule 6(2) and Order 8 of the Civil Procedure Rules

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Obala & another v Oluoch (Environment and Land Appeal E011 of 2026) [2026] KEELC 4115 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Not stated in the judgment (appeal against judgment in Ukwala MCELC No. E036 of 2025). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2026/4115/eng@2026-07-07

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.