Korir v Kangogo & another (Environment and Land Appeal E009 of 2025) [2026] KEELC 4144 (KLR)
The bottom line
#A Kenyan court ruled that whoever pays for land owns it beneficially, even if the title is registered in someone else's name.
What this practically means
#Executive summary
#Questions the Court framed
#The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.
- 1.Whether the 2nd Respondent has established a legal or equitable interest in L.R. No. Nakuru/Sirikwa/521 by virtue of a resulting trust
- 2.Whether the trial court erred in finding a trust in favour of the 2nd Respondent and her daughter which was allegedly not pleaded or proved
- 3.Whether a first registration title could only be cancelled upon proof of pleaded and particularised fraud
- 4.Consequences of the Appellant's failure to produce original documents as exhibits
- 5.Who bears the costs of the appeal
Key legal issues
#Whether a resulting trust arose in favour of the 2nd Respondent
Yes. The court found on the evidence that the 2nd Respondent advanced the purchase money for the suit property and the Appellant held it in trust for her; her beneficial interest survived the registration of the title in the Appellant's name
The court reappraised the evidence under the first-appeal principles in Selle v Associated Motor Boat Co. It found the Appellant only produced copies of receipts and admitted receiving monies from the 2nd Respondent used to pay for parcels 521 and 513, while her name appeared on the KRA stamp duty form. Applying the resulting-trust principle, the registration in the Appellant's name could not extinguish the equitable interest she had accrued.
Whether the first registration could only be cancelled upon pleaded and proved fraud
The argument did not avail the Appellant. The trial court's finding was based on a resulting trust from payment of the purchase price, not on fraud or cancellation of a first registration
The Appellant argued that a first registration is indefeasible absent proof of fraud, citing Vijay Morjaria. The court instead approached the matter through equity: the 2nd Respondent did not need to prove fraud because her equitable interest under a resulting trust was an overriding interest that co-existed with the Appellant's registration. The court affirmed the trial court's finding without disturbing the indefeasibility doctrine itself.
Burden of proving payment of the purchase price
The onus lay on the Appellant to prove he paid for the suit property and on the 2nd Respondent to prove she gave him the monies; the Appellant failed to discharge this burden
Relying on sections 107 and 109 of the Evidence Act, the court held each party bore the burden of proving the facts it asserted. Only one receipt (land rent paid by the Appellant on 20th January 2012) was proved; the Appellant could not show he personally paid at other times, while the 2nd Respondent's name appeared on the stamp duty form. The Appellant thus failed to prove sole payment.
Legal principles established
#- A resulting trust automatically arises in favour of the person who advances the purchase money, whether or not the property is registered in that person's name or another's
- Registration of property in the name of one person does not extinguish an equitable interest that accrued in favour of the person who paid the consideration
- On a first appeal the appellate court must reconsider and evaluate the evidence afresh while making allowance for not having seen or heard the witnesses
Court orders
#- 1.The appeal is dismissed with costs to the Respondents
- 2.The judgment of the Principal Magistrate (finding that the Appellant held the suit property in trust for the 2nd Respondent) is upheld
The bench
#One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.
Wrote the judgment
- On appeal from
- Principal Magistrate's Court, Molo
- Molo ELC Case No. E009 of 2023
- Jurisdiction invoked
- First appellate jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court over the Magistrates' Court judgment (appeal against judgment of the Principal Magistrate, Molo, in Molo ELC Case No. E009 of 2023); no specific provision cited
Relief refused
#Setting aside the trial court's judgment and entering judgment for the Appellant as prayed in the plaint
The court found the Appellant failed to prove that he paid the purchase price for the suit property, and that a resulting trust arose in favour of the 2nd Respondent who advanced the purchase money
Costs
Appeal dismissed with costs to the Respondents
Quotable passages
#Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.
Consequently, this court finds that the 2nd Respondent established on a balance of probabilities that she had a beneficial interest in L.R. No. Nakuru/Sirikwa/521 and that a resulting trust arose in her favour.
The upshot of the foregoing is that the appeal is without merit and is hereby dismissed with cost to the Respondents.
The general rule is that a resulting trust will automatically arise in favour of the person who advances the purchase money. Whether or not the property is registered in his name or that of another is immaterial
Whoever desires any court to give judgment as to any legal right or liability dependant on the existence of facts which he asserts must prove that those facts exist.
Issues in the judgment
#Date of trial court judgment stated inconsistently - the Memorandum of Appeal says the judgment was delivered on 14th November 2025 while paragraph 8 says 14th February 2025
Text of paragraph 54 is garbled/corrupted, splitting a sentence
The appellate case number of this appeal is not stated anywhere in the judgment
Chronology anomaly: submissions dated 2nd April 2026 and 18th/19th May 2026 precede a judgment delivered 2nd July 2026, but the Memorandum of Appeal is dated 28th February 2025 against a judgment said to be of 2025
Key timeline
#Practical implications
#Frequently asked questions
#Cite this brief
#Cite this brief
Caselaw, "Korir v Kangogo & another (Environment and Land Appeal E009 of 2025) [2026] KEELC 4144 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2026/4144/eng@2026-07-02
Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.