Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCDismissedMakueni ELC (number not stated in judgment; Notice of Motion dated 29th May, 2025)

Ndaka & 2 others v Mwongela & 6 others (Environment and Land Case E021 of 2025) [2026] KEELC 4362 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
14 July 2026
2,594 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~10 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan court refused to stop eviction from auctioned land because the applicants could not prove fraud against the registered new owners' titles.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The Applicants, claiming to be beneficial owners and occupants of land parcels Makueni/Unoa/2790 and 2798 which they said they purchased from the 2nd Defendant, moved the court by notice of motion dated 29th May, 2025 seeking an interlocutory injunction restraining the Defendants from dispossessing, evicting, subdividing or curtailing their use of the properties pending trial. They asserted that the parcels were registered in the names of the 3rd and 4th Defendants following a public auction by the 6th Defendant (a bank) exercising its statutory power of sale over a charge held on behalf of the 1st Defendant, and that the 3rd Defendant had issued statutory notices and directed tenants to pay rent to him. The 6th Defendant confirmed the auction and statutory notices and denied the Applicants' ownership; the 1st Defendant raised res judicata, citing Makueni ELC Case No. 331 of 2017; and the 3rd and 4th Defendants maintained they were bona fide purchasers for value without notice. The court framed a single issue: whether the Applicants met the threshold for injunctive relief under Giella v Cassman Brown. Applying Section 26 of the Land Registration Act, 2012, the court held that the registered titles of the 3rd and 4th Respondents stood as prima facie evidence of ownership, that the Applicants' fraud allegations were unproved at the interlocutory stage, and that no prima facie case had been demonstrated. Following Nguruman Limited, the remaining limbs need not be considered. The application was dismissed with costs to the Defendants/Respondents.

Questions the Court framed

#

The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.

  1. 1.Whether the Applicants have met the legal threshold for issuance of the injunctive orders sought

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the Applicants established a prima facie case for an interlocutory injunction under the Giella v Cassman Brown criteria

Holding

No prima facie case was established; the suit properties are registered in the names of the 3rd and 4th Respondents, who purchased them at a public auction conducted by the 6th Respondent exercising its statutory power of sale, and the Applicants' fraud allegations were unproved

Reasoning

The court applied Section 26 of the Land Registration Act, 2012, under which a certificate of title is prima facie evidence of absolute and indefeasible ownership, challengeable only on proven fraud or where the title was acquired illegally, unprocedurally or through a corrupt scheme. At the interlocutory stage the Applicants' allegations of fraud against the Respondents remained unheard and unproved. Relying on Mrao Ltd v First American Bank, the court found no apparent infringement of a right calling for rebuttal. Following Nguruman Limited, once prima facie case fails, the other Giella limbs fall away.

p. 5
02

Whether the court should consider irreparable injury and balance of convenience

Holding

Not considered, as the first Giella limb failed

Reasoning

Citing Nguruman Limited v Jan Bonde Nielsen, the court held that the three conditions are separate, distinct and sequential hurdles; failure at the first stage renders consideration of the remaining limbs unnecessary. The court noted that conclusive determination of the validity of the 3rd and 4th Defendants' title could only occur at a full hearing.

p. 6

Legal principles established

#
  • At an interlocutory stage, a registered proprietor's title under Section 26 of the Land Registration Act is prima facie evidence of ownership, and allegations of fraud vitiating title must be pleaded and proved, not merely alleged
  • Where a prima facie case is not established, the court need not consider irreparable injury and balance of convenience
  • In an interlocutory application the court makes no conclusive or definitive findings of fact or law on contradictory affidavit evidence

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The application dated 29th May, 2025 is dismissed
  2. 2.Costs of the application to the Defendants/Respondents

The bench

#

One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.

majority

Wrote the judgment

Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court under Order 40 Rule 1(a) of the Civil Procedure Rules, 2010 (injunction application)

Relief refused

#

Interlocutory injunction restraining the Defendants from dispossessing, evicting, subdividing or curtailing the Applicants' use of parcels Makueni/Unoa/2790 and 2798 pending hearing and determination of the suit

The Applicants failed to establish a prima facie case with a probability of success; allegations of fraud had not been proved at the interlocutory stage, and title under Section 26 of the Land Registration Act stands in the names of the 3rd and 4th Respondents

p. 5

Costs of the application borne by the Defendants/Respondents

Application dismissed with costs to the Respondents

p. 6

Costs

The application dated 29th May, 2025 is dismissed with costs to the Defendants/Respondents.

Quotable passages

#

Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.

The upshot of the foregoing is that the application dated 29th May, 2025 is devoid of merit and is to be dismissed with costs. It is so ordered.
p. 6Final orders - dismissal of the injunction application
At this interlocutory stage, the Applicants herein cannot prove any of the vitiating factors under Section 26 (1) (a) and (b) of the Land Registration Act.
p. 5Prima facie case and indefeasibility of title
A conclusive determination of the validity of the 3rd and 4th Defendants’ title to the suit properties can only be determined at a full hearing of the parties.
p. 6Limits of interlocutory findings
…these are the three pillars on which rest the foundation of any order of injunction, interlocutory or permanent.
p. 5Sequential application of Giella conditions (as stated in Nguruman, adopted by the court)

Issues in the judgment

#
minor

The judgment's list of parties/roles is inconsistent - the pleading is by 'Plaintiffs/Applicants' against 'Defendants/Respondents', and the coram/caption does not state the full names of the 2nd, 3rd and 4th Defendants or the name of the 6th Defendant (bank) or the suit case number

minor

Section 26 of the Land Registration Act is quoted with a stray '(1)' before the quoted text, and the Applicants' further affidavit is dated 5th February, 2026 with submissions dated 5th February, 2026 while the ruling is dated 14th July, 2026 - dates are internally consistent but the suit number is never given

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Ndaka & 2 others v Mwongela & 6 others (Environment and Land Case E021 of 2025) [2026] KEELC 4362 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Makueni ELC (number not stated in judgment; Notice of Motion dated 29th May, 2025). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2026/4362/eng@2026-07-14

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.