Mbaruku (Suing as an administrator of the Estate of Ali Masudi Karoyo alias Ali Masudi Mbaruku) v County Land Registrar Kwale & 8 others (Environment and Land Case E121 of 2025) [2026] KEELC 5279 (KLR)
The bottom line
#The Environment & Land Court in Kwale froze two disputed land plots so they cannot be sold while a family's ownership fight is decided.
What this practically means
#Executive summary
#Questions the Court framed
#The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.
- 1.Whether the Notice of Preliminary Objection meets the threshold of an objection as founded under the Law and the Precedents
- 2.Whether the Notice of Preliminary Objection as taken is well founded, valid and merited
- 3.Has suit abated against the Defendants/Respondents herein
- 4.Is the suit Res Judicata? And more so is the court functus officio?
- 5.Whether or not a case has been made for grant of the inhibition orders sought
- 6.Who will bear the costs of both applications and the preliminary objection?
Key legal issues
#Whether the preliminary objection met the threshold of a true preliminary objection
It did not; the grounds raised (res judicata, functus officio, abatement, locus standi) are a mix of facts and law requiring ascertainment of facts and evidence.
Applying Mukisa Biscuits and related authorities, a preliminary objection must be a pure point of law argued on the assumption that all pleaded facts are correct. The objections here required the court to ascertain whether issues had previously been determined, whether the deceased persons were identical, and similar factual questions, which can only be resolved by taking evidence at trial. Upholding the objection at this stage would be injudicious and would delve into the merits prematurely.
Whether the suit had abated following the death of the 4th Defendant
The suit abated only as against the deceased 4th Defendant; it continues against the surviving Defendants.
Order 24 of the Civil Procedure Rules governs death of parties. Although a death certificate showed the 4th Defendant died on 30th November 2024, the suit has several surviving Respondents, so the cause of action against them is not diminished. Abatement operates by operation of law and only affects the claim against the deceased party.
Whether the suit is res judicata and whether the court is functus officio
It is premature to find the suit res judicata or the court functus officio; the prior consent order in ELC E002 (OS) of 2025 has not been finally determined and allegations of fraud in obtaining the consent require full ventilation.
For res judicata, the issues must have been heard and finally decided between the same parties in a competent court. The prior suit has not been determined; what the Respondents relied on was a consent order on an application for joinder and inhibition. Allegations that the consent was fraudulent and that the mother parcel did not exist at filing cannot be conclusively determined at an interlocutory stage without oral and documentary evidence; if the consent judgment was obtained by fraud, it cannot stand.
Whether a case was made for inhibition orders
Yes; inhibition orders were granted to preserve the suit property pending hearing and determination of the suit.
Section 68 of the Land Registration Act empowers the court to inhibit registration of dealings with land. Applying the conditions in Rosemary Wanjiku Njigi v Nancy Munjiru Ngige, the Applicant demonstrated that the Defendants had obtained Land Control Board consent and were disposing of the sub-divisions to a real estate company, that refusal would render his suit nugatory, and that he has an arguable case on the legality of the titles. Preservation is in the interest of justice pending full hearing.
Legal principles established
#- A preliminary objection must raise a pure point of law argued on the assumption that all facts pleaded by the other side are correct; it cannot be raised where facts must be ascertained or where the exercise of judicial discretion is sought
- A suit abates by operation of law, not by declaration of the court, and abatement against a deceased party does not extinguish the cause of action against surviving Defendants
- A judgment obtained by fraud cannot stand; fraud unravels everything
- The functus officio doctrine prevents re-opening of a matter before a court that rendered the final decision thereon
Court orders
#- 1.An inhibition order issued pursuant to Section 68(1) & (2) of the Land Registration Act, No. 3 of 2012 and Section 79(1) & (2) of the Land Registration (General) Regulations 2017 restraining any disposition or dealings with parcels Kwale/Galu Kinondo/5059 and Kwale/Galu Kinondo/5060 (sub-divisions of Kwale/Galu Kinondo/616) pending hearing and determination of the suit
- 2.The Land Registrar, Kwale Land Registry directed, within thirty (30) days, to register the Inhibition Order on the register in respect of Title Numbers Kwale/Galu Kinondo/5059 and Kwale/Galu Kinondo/5060
- 3.Mention on 22nd October, 2026 for Pre-Trial Conference and hearing on 15th February, 2027 before ELC No. 2 preferably by physical means
- 4.Costs of both applications and the Preliminary Objection awarded to the Plaintiff/Applicant, to be borne by the 7th, 8th and 9th Respondents jointly and severally
The bench
#One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.
Wrote the judgment
- Jurisdiction invoked
- Article 159(2) of the Constitution of Kenya, 2010; Sections 4 & 13 of the Environment & Land Court Act, No. 19 of 2011 (inherent power and jurisdiction of the Court)
Relief refused
#Striking out/dismissal of the suit and the application dated 19th January 2026 sought by the 7th Defendant
The preliminary objections and the 7th Defendant's application failed; factual issues (res judicata, fraud, locus standi) require evidence and cannot be determined at an interlocutory stage
Declaration that the suit has wholly abated
Only the 4th Defendant is deceased; the cause of action survives against the other Defendants who are still alive
Costs
Costs of both applications and the Preliminary Objection awarded to the Plaintiff/Applicant, to be borne by the 7th, 8th and 9th Respondents jointly and severally.
Quotable passages
#Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.
THAT an inhibition order be and is hereby issued pursuant to the provision of Section 68 ( 1 ) & ( 2 ) of the Land Registration Act, No. 3 of 2012 and Section 79 ( 1 ) & ( 2 ) of the Land Registration (General) Regulations 2017 restraining any disposition or dealings with the parcel of land known as Kwale/Galu Kinondo/5059 and Kwale/Galu Kinondo/5060 which are the sub - division of the parcel of land, LR. No. Kwale/Galu Kinondo/616 pending the hearing and determination of this suit.
THAT the Land Registrar Kwale Land Registry is hereby directed WITHIN THE NEXT THIRTY (30) DAYS from this date to register an Inhibition Order on the register in respect of Title Numbers Kwale/Galu Kinondo/5059 and Kwale/Galu Kinondo/5060 which are the sub-division of the parcel of land, Kwale/Galu Kinondo/616.
THAT the costs to be awarded to the Plaintifi/Applicant for both the applications and the Preliminary Objection to be borne by the 7th, 8th and 9th Respondents jointly and severally.
Consequently, the Court finds and holds that at this juncture, it would be injudicious to dismiss the Plaintifis' suit and or application as the suit ought to be heard and facts ascertained to arrive at a just determination.
If anything, indeed the Consent Judgement was obtained by fraud, then it cannot stand.
Be that as it may, as it is until this issue is intensively and thoroughly canvassed and the allegations of fraud are proved, the court cannot dismiss the suit at an interlocutory stage.
Issues in the judgment
#The dates of the applications and events are internally inconsistent, appearing to post-date the ruling date; the 7th Defendant's replying affidavit is dated 11th June, 2026 and the Plaintiff's supplementary affidavit 22nd May, 2026, while submissions directions were issued on 10th March, 2026 and the ruling is dated 27th July, 2026, yet the applications are dated 19th January, 2026 and 3rd March, 2026 – the sequence is implausible as printed.
The judgment states the consent judgment 'was delivered on 30th July, 2025' in the Respondents' submissions, whereas elsewhere the consent dated 23rd July, 2025 is said to have been adopted as an order of the court on 24th July, 2025 and an order of the court dated 30th July, 2025 is referenced – inconsistent dates for the same consent.
The suit number of the present suit is not stated anywhere in the ruling; only the related suit ELC E002 (O.S) of 2025 is identified.
The court's own numbering of issues is inconsistent – the issues listed are six but are labelled a) to f) with two issues both lettered 'b' and one lettered 'd' and 'e' inconsistently in the body of the ruling.
Key timeline
#Practical implications
#Frequently asked questions
#Cite this brief
#Cite this brief
Caselaw, "Mbaruku (Suing as an administrator of the Estate of Ali Masudi Karoyo alias Ali Masudi Mbaruku) v County Land Registrar Kwale & 8 others (Environment and Land Case E121 of 2025) [2026] KEELC 5279 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Environment & Land Court at Kwale (suit number not stated in the ruling; related suit: ELC E002 (O.S) of 2025). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2026/5279/eng@2026-07-27
Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.