Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELRCPartially AllowedNot stated in the judgment

Ponty Pridd Holdings Limited v Oduya (Appeal E050 of 2024) [2025] KEELRC 1065 (KLR)

Employment and Labour Relations Court (implied by the nature of the award and setting; the judgment does not name the court)
4 April 2025
1,622 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~6 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan court allowed a company to pay a judgment debt in instalments, but only after paying Kshs. 400,000 upfront, warning that missing any payment triggers immediate execution.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The court, Nzioki wa Makau J at Kisumu, determined an application dated 20th March 2025 by the Appellant/Applicant, a logistics company, seeking stay of execution of a judgment delivered on 18th February 2025 and leave to pay the decretal sum of slightly over Kshs. 800,000/- in monthly instalments of Kshs. 50,000/-. The applicant attributed its inability to pay in a lump sum to a constricted economic environment and changing government policy, and feared execution against leased motor vehicles would cripple its business. The respondent opposed the motion, contending it was procedurally flawed, a delay tactic, and unsupported by evidence of financial hardship, citing Keshavji Jethabhai & Bros Limited v Saleh Abdullah and Mwangi Kengara & Company Advocates v Kibe for the proposition that a debtor must show bona fides by prompt payment of a fair proportion of the debt. The court held that although mere inability to pay in full is insufficient reason for indulgence, Article 159 required it to eschew the procedural objections raised. Finding no books of account substantiating the hardship claim and noting the proposed 16-month repayment schedule lacked a substantial upfront payment, the court granted conditional instalment terms: Kshs. 400,000/- within 14 days, then Kshs. 50,000/- monthly until payment in full, with the entire balance becoming due and execution issuing upon default of any instalment. Each party was ordered to bear their own costs of the application. The motion was thus partially allowed.

Questions the Court framed

#

The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.

  1. 1.Whether the applicant should be granted stay of execution of the judgment delivered on 18th February 2025
  2. 2.Whether the applicant should be granted leave to pay the decretal sum by instalments
  3. 3.Whether the procedure invoked by the applicant rendered the application incompetent

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether a judgment debtor unable to pay a decretal sum in a lump sum should be permitted to pay by instalments

Holding

Yes, but only on conditions demonstrating bona fides: prompt payment of a fair proportion of the debt (about half) followed by monthly instalments, with the whole balance falling due and execution issuing on default of any instalment.

Reasoning

The court adopted the four principles distilled from the two cited authorities: creditors' rights must be respected; mere inability to pay in full is insufficient; the debtor must show bona fides by prompt payment of a fair proportion; and hardship may justify indulgence only if it does not prejudice the creditor. The applicant offered no books of account to substantiate its claimed financial hardship and proposed instalments stretching over 16 months without a substantial upfront payment. The court therefore crafted conditional terms balancing the parties' interests.

p. 3
02

Whether the application was incompetent for invoking the wrong procedure

Holding

No. Procedural objections must yield to the overriding objective of doing justice under Article 159 of the Constitution.

Reasoning

The respondent argued that the application was premised on wrong provisions of law and was incompetent. The court held that in exercising the discretionary relief sought, it must be conscious of Article 159 which eschews technicalities, and the respondent's procedural objections had to be weighed against the requirement to do justice without undue regard to technicalities. The court proceeded to determine the application on its merits rather than striking it out for the alleged procedural defect.

p. 3
03

Whether the applicant's assertion of financial hardship justified indulgence

Holding

Not on the evidence offered. General assertions of economic hardship, unsupported by books of account or other proof, do not demonstrate sufficient reason.

Reasoning

The applicant attributed its inability to pay to a harsh economic environment and prevailing government directives but produced no books of account evidencing failing business or hardship. The court accepted that there may be a problem paying the full sum but found little evidential support for it. Following the cited precedent, a relative statement of tough economic hardship does not amount to sufficient reason to attract the court's discretion without more.

p. 3

Legal principles established

#
  • The mere inability of a debtor to pay in full at once is not a sufficient reason for a court to exercise its discretion to allow payment by instalments; the debtor must show bona fides by arranging prompt payment of a fair proportion of the debt.
  • A fair proportion of the decretal sum, approaching the halfway mark, should be paid promptly to demonstrate bona fides before instalment orders are granted, with execution lying on default.
  • In exercising discretion on instalment payments, the court must be conscious of Article 159 of the Constitution and eschew technicalities, including objections to the procedure by which relief is sought.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The Appellant is granted permission to pay the sum owed to the Respondent by way of instalments
  2. 2.Kshs. 400,000/- to be paid within 14 days
  3. 3.Kshs. 50,000/- at the end of each succeeding month till payment in full
  4. 4.In default of payment of any one instalment when due, the entire balance to become due and execution to issue for the balance unpaid at the point of default
  5. 5.Each party to meet their own costs for the application

The bench

#

One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.

majority

Wrote the judgment

Jurisdiction invoked
Inherent discretion of the court guided by Article 159 of the Constitution (justice without undue regard to technicalities)

Relief refused

#

Stay of execution of the judgment of 18th February 2025 as sought, on the terms proposed by the applicant

The applicant failed to demonstrate bona fides by arranging prompt payment of a fair proportion of the debt; the court instead granted conditional instalment payment terms with a default clause permitting execution

p. 3

Leave to pay the decretal sum in instalments of Kshs. 50,000/- per month commencing 30th March 2025 as prayed

The proposed instalments alone would stretch repayment to 16 months without any substantial upfront payment, failing the requirement of showing bona fides

p. 3

Costs

Each party to meet their own costs for the application

Quotable passages

#

Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.

The mere inability to pay the sum in full at once is not a suficient reason for the exercise of the discretion.
p. 3Instalment payment orders - insufficiency of mere inability to pay
The Court must, when exercising such discretion as that sought by the Appellant be conscious of Article 159 which eschews technicalities.
p. 3Overriding objective - technicalities
The final order is that the Appellant is granted permission to pay the sum owed to the Respondent by way of instalments as follows:
p. 3Final orders - instalment payment permitted
In default of payment of any one instalment when due, the entire balance to be come due and execution to issue for the balance unpaid at the point of default.
p. 4Default clause - acceleration and execution
Each party to meet their own costs for the application before me.
p. 4Costs

Issues in the judgment

#
minor

The court's stated view on the fair proportion figure is internally inconsistent, first suggesting Kshs. 500,000/- then computing Kshs. 400,000/- as the ordered sum

minor

The judgment uses the role labels 'Appellant/Applicant' and refers to a 'judgment delivered on the 18th February 2025' but does not identify the court or case number from which the appeal arises, nor the decretal sum precisely (described only as 'slightly over Kshs. 800,000/-')

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Ponty Pridd Holdings Limited v Oduya (Appeal E050 of 2024) [2025] KEELRC 1065 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2025). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelrc/2025/1065/eng@2025-04-04

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.