Republic v Were (Anti-Corruption and Economic Crimes Case E008 of 2025) [2025] KEMC 115 (KLR)
The bottom line
#A Kenyan IEBC official who used a forged degree avoided prison by pleading guilty, paying fines totalling Kshs. 220,000.
What this practically means
#Executive summary
#Questions the Court framed
#The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.
- 1.Whether to accept and adopt the Plea Agreement as a Judgment of the Court
- 2.What sentence to impose on Counts I, III, V and VII following the Plea Agreement
- 3.What factors and principles apply to sentencing upon a plea agreement
Key legal issues
#Effect of adopting a plea agreement
Adoption of a plea agreement is a judgment of the court and is followed by conviction and sentencing under sections 137H(2) and 137L of the CPC.
The court accepted the plea agreement under sections 137H(1) and 137J of the CPC on 26th May 2025. Because section 137H(2) requires the court to convict once a plea agreement is accepted, the adoption operated as a judgment. The marginal note to section 137L confirms that sentencing logically follows. Counts II, IV and VI were withdrawn by the DPP under section 137A(1)(b), leaving Counts I, III, V and VII on which guilty pleas were recorded and convictions entered.
Applicable sentencing principles upon a plea agreement
The court retains ordinary sentencing discretion under sections 137I and 216 CPC, taking into account custody period, victim impact, the stage of the plea, restitution, mitigation, aggravating factors and the reconciliatory tone of the agreement.
Section 137I mandates consideration of time in custody, victim impact statements, the stage at which the accused indicated intention to plea, and any restitution or compensation. Section 216 permits receipt of evidence to inform sentence. The court canvassed broad sentencing purposes (retribution, deterrence, rehabilitation, restorative justice, community protection, denunciation) and principles of proportionality, appropriateness and adequacy, and applied them to a first-time offender who demonstrated deep remorse by entering a plea agreement admitting all counts.
Custody period and first-offender status
Time spent in custody must be accounted for under section 333(2) CPC; first offenders should ordinarily receive non-custodial or fine options where available.
The court reviewed authority holding that section 333(2) obliges courts to discount periods spent in custody, and that where an offence is fineable and the convict is a first offender without aggravating circumstances, a fine should be considered first, since custodial sentences burden the state. These principles favoured a non-custodial sentence here, consistent with the DPP's recommendation in paragraph 18 of the plea agreement and the accused's own desired sentence.
Legal principles established
#- Acceptance and adoption of a plea agreement constitutes a judgment of the court, and the court must then convict and proceed to sentence.
- A plea agreement does not clip the court's sentencing discretion; the court retains full sentencing discretion, but the reconciliatory tone of the agreement weighs heavily on it.
- Imprisonment should be imposed only where absolutely necessary on legitimate penological grounds of punishment, deterrence, public protection and rehabilitation.
- Judgment and sentence entered upon a plea agreement are final and not appealable except as to the extent or legality of the sentence.
Court orders
#- 1.Counts II, IV and VI withdrawn by the DPP; guilty pleas recorded on Counts I, III, V and VII and the Accused convicted accordingly
- 2.Under Count I, the Accused is sentenced to pay a fine of Kshs. 70,000, in default twelve (12) months imprisonment
- 3.Under Count III, the Accused is sentenced to pay a fine of Kshs. 50,000, in default twelve (12) months imprisonment
- 4.Under Count V, the Accused is sentenced to pay a fine of Kshs. 50,000, in default twelve (12) months imprisonment
- 5.Under Count VII, the Accused is sentenced to pay a fine of Kshs. 50,000, in default twelve (12) months imprisonment
- 6.The cash bail deposited in Court may be utilized to pay the fine
- 7.The Accused informed that the Judgment and Sentence upon Plea Agreement are final except as to extent or legality of sentence, with 14 days to appeal
The bench
#One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.
Wrote the judgment
- Jurisdiction invoked
- Sections 137A-137L of the Criminal Procedure Code (plea bargaining) and section 216 of the Criminal Procedure Code, exercised in first-instance criminal proceedings
Quotable passages
#Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.
Under Count I, the Accused is sentenced to pay a fine of Kshs. 70,000, the default of which the Accused shall serve a term of imprisonment of twelve (12) months.
Under Count III, the Accused is sentenced to pay a fine of Kshs. 50,000, the default of which the Accused shall serve a term of imprisonment of twelve (12) months.
Under Count V, the Accused is sentenced to pay a fine of Kshs. 50,000, the default of which the Accused shall serve a term of imprisonment of twelve (12) months.
Under Count VII, the Accused is sentenced to pay a fine of Kshs. 50,000, the default of which the Accused shall serve a term of imprisonment of twelve (12) months.
The cash bail deposited in Court may be utilized to pay the fine.
this Court concurs with the recommendation recorded in paragraph 18 of the Plea Agreement for a non-custodial sentence.
both the Judgment entered upon a Plea Agreement and the attendant Sentence upon Plea Agreement are final and not amenable to appeal, except on basis of the extent or legality of the sentence, for which limited grounds the Accused has fourteen (14) days within which to exercise his right to appeal
Issues in the judgment
#The judgment does not state the criminal case number of the matter; the case number field is filled from contextual description only.
The judgment contains recurring typographical errors rendering 'offence' as 'ofience' and 'effect' as 'efiect' throughout, including in quoted passages.
Count I particulars state the Accused stated 'that the Graduation Booklet of the 17th Graduation held on 17th December bears his name' without a year, an apparent internal omission.
Key timeline
#Practical implications
#Frequently asked questions
#Cite this brief
#Cite this brief
Caselaw, "Republic v Were (Anti-Corruption and Economic Crimes Case E008 of 2025) [2025] KEMC 115 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2025). Not stated in the judgment (Milimani Anti-Corruption Court, Plea Agreement and Sentence). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/kemc/2025/115/eng@2025-05-26
Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.