Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
MagistrateDismissed(Criminal case, Lamu Law Courts - number not stated in judgment)

Republic v Said (Criminal Case E275 of 2024) [2025] KEMC 312 (KLR)

Magistrates' Court (Criminal)
25 November 2025
5,848 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~23 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Lamu court acquitted a man of land fraud because prosecutors failed to prove forgery with expert comparison of documents, original receipts, or witness identification.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
This is a first-instance criminal trial before the Resident Magistrate's Court at Lamu in which Anwar Sheikh Said faced four counts arising from the registration of leasehold title over parcel Lamu/Manda Island/381: obtaining registration of a land certificate by false pretences (s.320 Penal Code), forgery of an allotment letter (ss.345/349), uttering a false document (s.353) and forgery of a fee receipt (s.349). The prosecution, which called nine witnesses, alleged that the accused fraudulently procured registration of the parcel ahead of the complainant Ali Haidar Ali, who claimed he had been allotted the land in 1998. The defence asserted that the accused held a valid allotment letter dated 9 July 1998, complied with its conditions and was duly registered as first leaseholder in 2021, and relied on the judgment in Malindi ELC Petition No. 10 of 2023, in which the complainant's petition for cancellation of the titles was dismissed on grounds that the complainant had no capacity to hold land as a minor and failed to comply with allotment conditions. The court, having weighed the evidence and submissions, found that no false pretence was established, that the document examiner never compared the documents alleged to be forged with originals, that the impugned receipt was never produced and its absence from the analysis book rested only on an internal memo, and that no witness identified who uttered the allotment letter. All four counts were found unproved beyond reasonable doubt and the accused was acquitted under section 215 of the Criminal Procedure Code. The magistrate also urged digitization of land records and creation of an independent land fraud forensic unit.

Questions the Court framed

#

The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.

  1. 1.Whether the prosecution has proved all the 4 counts as against the accused person beyond any reasonable doubt

Key legal issues

#
01

Count 1 - obtaining registration of land certificate by false pretences (s.320 Penal Code)

Holding

Not proved; the accused complied with the allotment conditions and obtained registration from the government as first registered owner, so no false pretence existed

Reasoning

The ingredients of false pretence were examined against the evidence. The accused obtained an allotment letter in 1998, complied with its conditions and was registered as leaseholder in 2021, before the complainant began processing in 2022. The complainant, who was a minor when allotted land and never complied with allotment conditions (as found by the ELC court), could not be the owner from whom anything was fraudulently induced. The proper complainant, if any, would be the government.

p. 7
02

Counts 2 & 4 - forgery of allotment letter and fee receipt (ss.345, 349 Penal Code)

Holding

Not proved; no expert comparison of the alleged forged documents with originals was done, the receipt was never produced in evidence, and absence from the analysis book was evidenced only by an internal memo

Reasoning

The document examiner compared signatures on transfer forms and pleadings, not the allotment letter or receipt alleged to be forged. No evidence showed traces of forgery in the allotment letter. The receipt was never produced, and its absence from the analysis book could not be blamed on the accused who had no control over ministry records, nor was the book or counterfoil produced.

p. 9
03

Count 3 - uttering a false document (s.353 Penal Code)

Holding

Not proved; no evidence established that the allotment letter was false, that the accused knew it was false, or that he uttered it

Reasoning

Uttering requires knowledge of falsity and intent to defraud. No witness could identify who lodged the allotment letter for registration, and no registry record of lodgement was produced. The land registrar found nothing amiss in the documents registered in favour of the accused.

p. 9
04

Effect of the ELC judgment in Malindi ELC Petition No. 10 of 2023

Holding

The findings of the ELC court on capacity and non-compliance with allotment conditions are binding on this lower court and undermine the complainant's claim

Reasoning

The complainant's petition seeking cancellation of the accused's titles was dismissed on the grounds that the complainant lacked capacity to hold land as a minor without trustees and did not comply with the allotment letter's conditions. The judgment was not appealed, and the magistrate concurred with those findings, meaning the offer had lapsed and the accused was entitled to the allotment.

p. 10

Legal principles established

#
  • Ingredients of obtaining registration by false pretence: a representation of fact, falsity known to the maker, intention to defraud, acted upon to the disadvantage of the complainant
  • Ingredients of forgery as stated in Elizabeth Achieng Nyanya v Republic: a document in writing, that it is forged, that the forgery is by the accused, knowledge of falsity, and intent that it be acted upon as genuine
  • A forged document cannot be established without comparing the alleged fake with the known original
  • An internal ministry memo is not conclusive proof of the absence of a receipt without production of the analysis book or counterfoil

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The accused is not found guilty in counts 1, 2, 3 and 4 and is acquitted in each of them under section 215 of the Criminal Procedure Code

The bench

#

One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.

majority

Wrote the judgment

Jurisdiction invoked
First-instance criminal trial under the Penal Code and Criminal Procedure Code

Relief refused

#

Conviction on counts 1-4 (obtaining registration by false pretences, forgery x2, uttering a false document)

Ingredients of each offence not proved beyond reasonable doubt; no pretence or falsity established; document examiner's report did not address the documents alleged to be forged; receipts never produced in evidence

p. 10

Costs

No costs order (criminal proceedings)

Quotable passages

#

Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.

The upshot is that counts 1,2,3 and 4 have not been proved beyond any reasonable doubt.
p. 10Disposition - acquittal
The accused is as a consequence thereof not found guilty in each of those counts and he is accordingly acquitted in each of them under section 215 of the Criminal Procedure Code.
p. 10Final orders - acquittal under s.215 CPC
The lands registry has ofi late been more pronounced and notorious as a site of land crime where instances of missing deed files, inconsistent approval of documents, irregular amalgamation and surrender and registration without lawful foundational instruments are the order of the day
p. 1Institutional complicity in fraudulent land records
It would be an absurdity for this court to make a finding that such a document was forged on the basis of an internal memo dated 23/8/2023 and in the absence of any expert report.
p. 9Proof of forgery - expert evidence required
Given the ingredients aforementioned, the proper complainant ought to be government of Kenya and not the complainant.
p. 7Count 1 - locus of the complainant in false pretence charge

Issues in the judgment

#
minor

Judgment omits its own case number and neutral citation; only the court, station and delivery date appear

minor

Counsel for the DPP recorded as 'Ahmed Omar for DPP' in presence list, but defence submissions dated 21st August 2025 and 21st October 2025 are both described as filed in favour of the accused with no prosecution submissions; prosecution 'chose to rely on the evidence on record'

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Republic v Said (Criminal Case E275 of 2024) [2025] KEMC 312 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2025). (Criminal case, Lamu Law Courts - number not stated in judgment). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/kemc/2025/312/eng@2025-11-25

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.