Vine Fresh (East Africa) Limited v Muranga Freight Logistics Limited (Civil Case E081 of 2021) [2025] KEMC 324 (KLR)
The bottom line
#What this practically means
#Executive summary
#Questions the Court framed
#The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.
- 1.Whether the plaintiff suffered loss and damage as a result of the alleged incident
- 2.Whether the plaintiff is entitled to damages and if so, the nature and quantum thereof
- 3.Who should bear the costs of this suit?
Key legal issues
#Whether a discharge voucher suffices as proof of indemnification for purposes of invoking subrogation
Yes. A discharge voucher is a binding contract and prima facie evidence of payment; only the insured (not a third party) may validly challenge it, and absent contrary evidence the insurer is entitled to claim under subrogation.
The court drew on authorities equating a duly executed discharge voucher with a contract, binding unless vitiated by fraud, misrepresentation or the like. The plaintiff relied on a discharge voucher showing the insured received Ksh. 4,338,540/= on 20/8/2018. The defendant argued bank records were necessary, but the court held the voucher constituted prima facie evidence of payment, controvertible only by contrary evidence, and the defendant called no witness. It was therefore unnecessary for the plaintiff to produce bank records or call the insured to confirm payment.
Quantum of recoverable special damages where salvage proceeds are partly unaccounted for
The plaintiff recovered a reduced sum: the gross loss of mangoes was reduced by salvage, with the 623 unaccounted cartons valued at their export value, and the Reefer container loss reduced by its salvage value, then subjected to the 20% consent contribution.
The court applied the doctrine of indemnity: the plaintiff could not use mitigation selectively while refusing to account for salvage proceeds. Although invoices accounted for only 324 of 947 sold cartons, the court treated the unaccounted 623 cartons as salvage at export value (USD 3,924.90 = Ksh. 397,933.83), yielding Ksh. 3,111,475.48 for the mangoes. For the Reefer container, Ksh. 1,000,000 insured value less Ksh. 105,250 salvage gave Ksh. 894,750, subject to policy excess of Ksh. 50,694, totalling Ksh. 3,955,531.48 before the 20% contribution.
Whether the plaintiff could claim for the Reefer container despite lack of ownership and absence of an assessment report
Yes. The plaintiff suffered an insured loss in respect of the container and was indemnified by its insurer; a formal damage assessment report was not a strict legal prerequisite where other credible evidence shows the loss was incurred and compensated.
The court noted that Maersk Kenya Limited demanded USD 16,825 for the loss of the container and that the loss adjuster's report showed the container was insured at Ksh. 1,000,000. Since the claim was based on subrogation rather than a strictly material damage claim, and the defendant called no evidence to dispute the damage, the absence of an assessment report was not fatal.
From what date interest on special damages accrues
Interest on the special damages awarded accrues from the date of filing suit to the date of judgment/decree.
Guided by section 26 of the Civil Procedure Act and the authorities on the trial court's discretion over interest, the court adopted the principle that special damages carry interest from the date of loss (or filing of suit), whereas general damages attract interest only from the date of judgment since they are ascertained at judgment.
Legal principles established
#- The doctrine of subrogation arises only where the insurer has indemnified the insured; subrogation presupposes the existence of an insurance contract and its extent is limited to what was paid to the insured
- A duly executed discharge voucher constitutes prima facie evidence of payment/settlement and a binding contract, which cannot be challenged by a third party absent contrary evidence; corroboration by bank records is not required unless the voucher is impugned
- Special damages must be specifically pleaded and strictly proved
- Where the insured fails to account for salvage, the subrogated insurer inherits that weakness; ambiguity in salvage accounting works against the plaintiff/insurer and indemnity cannot place the insured in a better position
- Salvage proceeds are to be valued at what was actually received, not at expected export value in US dollars
- Interest on special damages runs from the date of loss/filing of suit, while interest on general damages runs from the date of judgment
Court orders
#- 1.Total special damages of Ksh. 3,955,531.480/= awarded
- 2.Less 20% contribution of Ksh. 791,106.296/=, leaving a balance due to the plaintiff of Ksh. 3,164,425.184/=
- 3.Costs of the suit awarded to the plaintiff
- 4.Interest on the special damages awarded to accrue from the date of filing suit to the date of judgment/decree
The bench
#One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.
Wrote the judgment
- Jurisdiction invoked
- Original civil jurisdiction of the magistrates' court over claims in negligence, breach of contract and subrogation under the Civil Procedure Act (not expressly cited in the judgment; section 26 of the Civil Procedure Act invoked on interest)
Relief refused
#The full pleaded special damages of Ksh. 4,437,340/= (as claimed)
The court discounted salvage for 623 cartons of mangoes not accounted for, and deducted the 20% liability contribution under the consent; the award fell short of the sum claimed
Costs
The plaintiff is awarded costs of the suit and interest on the special damages from the date of filing suit to the date of judgment/decree.
Quotable passages
#Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.
In summary, I hold that the plaintifi has proven his case on a balance of probability as against the defendant. Consequently, I make the following awards:
Total Special damages.......... Ksh. 3,955,531.480/= Less 20% contribution............. Ksh. 791,106.296/= Balance due to the plaintifi............ Ksh. 3,164,425.184/=
The plaintifi is also awarded costs of the suit and interest.
Consequently, interest on the special damages awarded shall accrue from the date of filing suit to the date of judgment/decree.
my finding is that the discharge voucher produced in evidence is suficient proof that the insurer settled the claim by the insured.
If the insured failed to account for salvage, the insurer inherits that weakness and any ambiguity in salvage accounting works against the plaintifi/insurer, not the defendant.
Issues in the judgment
#Discrepancy in the total special damages claimed: the plaint prays for special damages of Ksh. 4,437,340/= but the pleaded breakdown totals Ksh. 4,437,140/=, and the insurance witness testified to payment of Ksh. 4,338,540/= plus Ksh. 98,600/= to the loss adjuster.
The trial court refers to the awards stage as if the loss adjuster's fee is subsumed, but the final computation table for the mangoes and Reefer container does not expressly show the Ksh. 98,600/= loss adjuster's fee claimed; the total award of Ksh. 3,955,531.48/= appears to be built from the mangoes (Ksh. 3,111,475.48) and container figures (Ksh. 894,750 less policy excess of Ksh. 50,694) without a visible line for the loss adjuster's fee.
The disposition is dated 22 December 2025 while the suit was filed on 25 March 2021, indicating a delay of over four years to judgment; the judgment itself does not explain the delay.
Key timeline
#Practical implications
#Frequently asked questions
#Cite this brief
#Cite this brief
Caselaw, "Vine Fresh (East Africa) Limited v Muranga Freight Logistics Limited (Civil Case E081 of 2021) [2025] KEMC 324 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2025). Not stated in the judgment (plaint dated 18/3/2021, filed 25/3/2021). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/kemc/2025/324/eng@2025-12-22
Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.