Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
MagistratePartially AllowedNot stated in judgment (suit filed 13/3/2018, plaint dated 5/3/2018)· [2025] KEMC 326 (KLR)

Mutie v China Road and Bridge Corporation Kenya (Civil Case 59 of 2018) [2025] KEMC 326 (KLR)

Magistrates' Court (Senior Principal Magistrate's Court)
23 December 2025
4,540 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~18 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan court threw out a work injury discharge voucher for vagueness, awarding an injured worker over Ksh. 486,000 despite an earlier payment.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The plaintiff, Michael Mutua Mutie, sued China Road and Bridge Corporation Kenya for injuries sustained on 8/7/2016 when he was crushed between slippers at the Kathekani SGR site in the course of his employment. By a consent adopted on 4/8/2025, judgment on liability was entered at 20% against the plaintiff and 80% against the defendant, and the medical reports were admitted without calling their makers. The issues for determination were whether the plaintiff had been fully compensated, his entitlement to damages and quantum, and costs. The plaintiff admitted receiving Ksh. 76,199/= but denied receiving the Ksh. 83,081/= shown on a work injury discharge voucher produced by the defendant. The court found the voucher internally inconsistent, since its workings totalled Ksh. 76,199/= while displaying Ksh. 83,081/=, and found no evidence that the payment was made under the Work Injury Benefits Act as claimed, since the accident was never reported to the Director of Occupational Safety and Health Services nor the compensation approved by the Director. Applying the contra proferentem rule against the defendant, who drafted the voucher, the court declared the discharge voucher void for uncertainty but ordered that benefits gained under it be taken into account. Assessing quantum on the proved injuries of fracture of the right tibia fibula and a cut wound, the court awarded general damages of Ksh. 700,000/= and special damages of Ksh. 3,500/=. After applying 20% liability and offsetting the proven payment of Ksh. 76,199/=, the balance due to the plaintiff was Ksh. 486,601/=. Interest was awarded on general damages from judgment and on special damages from the date of filing suit, with costs of the suit to the plaintiff.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the plaintiff was fully compensated by the payment of Ksh. 83,081/= under the discharge voucher

Holding

The court held the discharge voucher void for uncertainty; the proven payment was Ksh. 76,199/=, which was offset against the award.

Reasoning

The workings on the voucher totalled Ksh. 76,199/= while the top displayed Ksh. 83,081/=, creating confusion about what was being discharged and whether the money was actually received. The payment was not made under the Work Injury Benefits Act since the statutory procedure of reporting to and approval by the Director was never followed, amounting to misrepresentation. The vagueness defeated any meeting of minds.

p. 6
02

Whether compensation under the Work Injury Benefits Act barred the common law claim

Holding

The payment was not compensation under the Work Injury Benefits Act because the statutory procedure was not followed.

Reasoning

Sections 22, 23, 26 and 30 of the Act require the employer to report the accident to the Director of Occupational Safety and Health Services, an inquiry to be conducted, and compensation to be determined or approved by the Director. There was no evidence of any of this; the defence witness said the claim was presented to the insurer.

p. 4
03

Quantum of general damages for fracture of the right tibia fibula and a cut wound on the right leg

Holding

An award of Ksh. 700,000/= in general damages was made, adopting the plaintiff's proposal.

Reasoning

Applying the principles in West (H) and Sons Ltd v Shepherd and Kim Pho Choo, and guided by comparable awards in Odhiambo v Obiero (Ksh. 700,000/= affirmed) and Julie Akoth Onyango (reduced to Ksh. 500,000/=), the court found Ksh. 700,000/= sufficient given the age of the awards and inflation.

p. 7
04

Whether special damages of Ksh. 3,500/= were recoverable

Holding

Awarded in full as pleaded and proven.

Reasoning

The claim for the medical report was specifically pleaded in the plaint and strictly proved, satisfying the rule in Nizar Virani and Ouma v Nairobi City Council.

p. 8
05

Appropriate interest on the award

Holding

Interest on general damages at court rates from judgment; interest on special damages from the date of filing suit.

Reasoning

Section 26 of the Civil Procedure Act confers discretion on the court to award interest; following Omunyokol Akol Johnson and Jane Ovuyanzi Raphael, special damages are ascertainable from the date of loss while general damages are ascertained only at judgment.

p. 9

Legal principles established

#
  • A discharge voucher binds the parties unless impugned on grounds that vitiate a contract.
  • A discharge voucher is sufficient proof of its contents unless shown to have been executed through fraud, misrepresentation or other vitiating factors.
  • Compensation under the Work Injury Benefits Act must follow the statutory procedure, including reporting to and approval by the Director; a private payment cannot be said to be compensation under the Act.
  • A vague contract cannot be enforced for want of a meeting of minds; ambiguity in a contract drafted by one party is construed against that party under the contra proferentem rule.
  • Special damages must be specifically pleaded and strictly proved.
  • Interest on special damages runs from the date of loss/filing of suit, while interest on general damages runs from the date of judgment.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.General damages for pain, suffering and loss of amenities of Ksh. 700,000/= awarded to the plaintiff
  2. 2.Special damages of Ksh. 3,500/= awarded to the plaintiff
  3. 3.Total award of Ksh. 703,500/= reduced by 20% liability (Ksh. 140,700/=), less the sum of Ksh. 76,199/= already paid to the plaintiff, leaving a balance of Ksh. 486,601/= due to the plaintiff
  4. 4.Interest on general damages at court rates from the date of judgment/decree until payment in full
  5. 5.Interest on special damages from the date of filing suit to the date of judgment
  6. 6.Costs of the suit awarded to the plaintiff
Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil jurisdiction of the magistrates' court over a personal injury claim arising from an industrial accident (plaint filed 13/3/2018); no specific constitutional or statutory jurisdictional provision invoked in the judgment.

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Mutie v China Road and Bridge Corporation Kenya (Civil Case 59 of 2018) [2025] KEMC 326 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2025). Not stated in judgment (suit filed 13/3/2018, plaint dated 5/3/2018). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/kemc/2025/326/eng@2025-12-23

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.