Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
MagistratePartially AllowedNot stated in the judgment (Anti-Corruption and Economic Crimes case, Milimani)· [2026] KEMC 96 (KLR)

Republic v Obado & 17 others (Anti-Corruption and Economic Crimes Case E018 of 2020) [2026] KEMC 96 (KLR)

Anti-Corruption Court (Magistrates' Court), Milimani, Nairobi
15 May 2026
39,892 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~160 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

Kenya's Anti-Corruption Court approved a plea deal letting Okoth Obado and 17 others have all charges withdrawn after forfeiting over Kshs. 235 million in property.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The DPP and all 18 Accused Persons, including former Migori County Governor Okoth Obado, entered a Plea Agreement on 28th August 2025 selecting the withdrawal option under section 137A(1)(b) of the Criminal Procedure Code, anchored on a Civil Settlement Agreement in High Court ACEC Cases 32 of 2018 and E010 of 2021/2022 under which the Accused Persons forfeited property valued at over Kshs. 235,000,000 plus two motor vehicles - more than three times the Kshs. 73,474,376 alleged in the 25 counts. EACC, the investigating agency, refused to sign and objected to adoption. The court framed a two-branch legality test: procedural/formalities and substantive. On the procedural limb, it held EACC has locus standi grounded in the right to be consulted under section 137D; the proper parties to a bipartite Plea Agreement are only the DPP and the Accused Persons (the complainant signing only where compensation is included), so EACC's refusal to sign did not invalidate it; EACC was in fact consulted, and consultation does not equate to concurrence; a Plea Agreement need not result in admission of criminal liability; and withdrawal under a plea agreement is sui generis - section 87(a) of the CPC is inappropriate, though the mislabeling does not defeat the parties' unmistakable intention to withdraw under section 137A(1)(b). On the substantive limb, applying the Article 157(11) triple test, the court found the civil forfeiture a pivotal factor bearing a consequential effect on the plea negotiations and held the agreement non-speculative, lawful and in public interest. The court adopted the Plea Agreement as its judgment and deemed all charges withdrawn against all Accused Persons. No costs order was made.

Key legal issues

#
01

EACC's locus standi to challenge the Plea Agreement

Holding

EACC has locus standi, founded on the right to be consulted under section 137D of the CPC, distinguishable from the Chapia decision where EACC lacked standing to oppose withdrawal under section 87(a).

Reasoning

The court distinguished its earlier Chapia decision, which denied EACC standing to oppose a section 87(a) withdrawal. In the plea-bargaining context, section 137D imposes a mandatory obligation on the DPP to consult the investigating agency, thereby conferring a right on EACC. Breach or threatened breach of that right grounds standing, an exception to the general rule in Chapia.

p. 29
02

Proper parties and signing requirements of a Plea Agreement

Holding

A valid Plea Agreement is bipartite (DPP and Accused) or tripartite (with the complainant where compensation under section 175(2)(b) is included); EACC need not sign and its refusal does not invalidate the agreement.

Reasoning

Relying on the plain text of sections 137A, 137B, 137E and rules 2, 5, 6 and 14 of the Plea Bargaining Rules, the court held that only the prosecutor and the Accused Person (or representative) must sign. Attestation is not required. EACC's execution, while a goodwill best practice, is not a legal requirement, so its refusal to sign does not vitiate the agreement.

p. 32
03

Whether EACC was consulted and whether the DPP must concur with it

Holding

EACC was consulted; consultation does not entail concurrence, and the DPP may depart from EACC's views for sound reasons consistent with Article 157(11).

Reasoning

Applying Aylesbury Mushrooms, consultation is a genuine invitation with a receptive mind to give advice. EACC participated in the negotiation meetings and did not disclose the specific factors it had tabled that were left out of the agreement. Its objection was a mere protest; the DPP's independence under Article 157(10) survives meaningful consultation.

p. 34
04

Whether a proper Plea Agreement must result in admission of criminal liability

Holding

No; section 137A(1) is disjunctive and withdrawal under 137A(1)(b) is a lawful outcome of plea bargaining without admission of criminal liability.

Reasoning

A plain, disjunctive reading of section 137A(1)(a) and (b) shows that reduction of a charge and withdrawal of the charge are independent options. Parliament could have expressly required admission of criminal liability but did not. Circumstances consistent with Article 157(11) may legitimately favour withdrawal, and restitution secured elsewhere cannot be barred from informing that choice.

p. 35
05

Whether section 87(a) of the CPC may be invoked to withdraw charges agreed under section 137A(1)(b)

Holding

No. Withdrawal under section 137A(1)(b) is sui generis and carries the finality of a judgment; section 87(a), which produces a discharge without a bar to further proceedings, is incompatible with that finality and cannot be used for plea-bargaining withdrawals.

Reasoning

The court identified four typologies of withdrawal (sections 87(a), 87(b), 204 and 137A(1)(b)). Section 87(a) yields a discharge open to re-arrest, inconsistent with the finality of judgment underpinning section 137L and the doctrine of autrefois. However, under Article 159(2)(d), the parties' unmistakable intention was withdrawal under 137A(1)(b), so the mislabeling as section 87(a) does not defeat the agreement.

p. 39
06

Substantive legality and the interface between civil and criminal forfeiture

Holding

The Plea Agreement passed the triple test; civil forfeiture achieved through ADR may constitute a pivotal factor in choosing the plea-bargaining pathway where both proceedings arise from the same facts.

Reasoning

The court found the eight reasons advanced (chiefly the forfeiture of property worth over Kshs. 235,000,000 plus two motor vehicles, more than three times the alleged loss) non-speculative and compelling. Civil and criminal anti-corruption tools are not mutually exclusive; the civil settlement bore a consequential effect on the plea negotiations, and EACC failed to demonstrate abuse of power on a preponderance of probabilities.

p. 60

Legal principles established

#
  • EACC's locus standi to challenge a Plea Agreement rests on the right to be consulted under section 137D of the CPC, not on being a party to the agreement
  • Proper parties to a valid bipartite Plea Agreement are the DPP and the Accused Person (or legal representative); the complainant signs only where a compensation order under section 175(2)(b) is included; investigator signature is not mandatory
  • Consultation does not mean concurrence; the DPP has no obligation in law to concur with the views of the investigating agency
  • A Plea Agreement need not result in an admission of criminal liability; withdrawal under section 137A(1)(b) of the CPC is a lawful option
  • Withdrawal agreed under section 137A(1)(b) in a Plea Agreement is sui generis and must not be effected under section 87(a) of the CPC, which would be inconsistent with the finality of a judgment
  • Successful civil forfeiture pursued through ADR under Article 159(2)(c) may be a pivotal factor in selecting the pathway in plea bargaining

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Adopted the Plea Agreement dated 28th August 2025 as a Judgment of the Court
  2. 2.Deemed all charges against all the Accused Persons withdrawn under section 137A(1)(b) of the Criminal Procedure Code

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Constitution of Kenya, 2010Articles 2, 10(2)(a), 157, 158, 159(2)(c), 159(2)(d), 165(3)(d)(ii), 175(2)(b), 2(5) & (6), 50(2)(o), 259, 260
  • Criminal Procedure Code (Cap 75)Sections 2, 83, 86, 87(a), 87(b), 88, 104, 137A–137O (esp. 137A, 137B, 137C, 137D, 137E, 137F, 137G, 137H, 137I, 137J, 137L, 137N), 175(2)(b), 193A, 204
  • Criminal Procedure (Plea Bargaining) Rules, 2018Rules 2, 5, 6, 7(2), 14(1)–(3)
  • Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions Act, No. 2 of 2013Sections 2, 4, 5, 6, 23, 25, 5(1)(iii), 5(4)(e)
  • Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission ActSection 11(j)
  • Anti-Corruption and Economic Crimes Act, No. 3 of 2003Sections 42(3), 45(1)(a), 47A(3), 48, 48(1)(a) & (b), 35
  • Proceeds of Crime and Anti-Money Laundering ActSections 3(1)(a), 16
  • Sexual Offences ActNot specified (excluded offences)
  • Law of Contract ActSection 3(3)
  • Judicature ActSection 3

Cases cited (67)

  • Roy Richard Elireima & another v Republic
    [2003] eKLR
  • Geoffrey K. Sang v DPP & 4 Others
    [2020] eKLR
  • Joseph Lendrix Waswa v Republic
    [2020] eKLR / [2020] KESC 23 (KLR)
  • Republic v Kebwaro & 5 others
    [2024] eKLR
  • Director of Public Prosecutions v Chapia & another (Anti-Corruption Case E041 of 2020)
    [2024] KEMC 46 (KLR)
  • Mohammed Gulam Husseign Fazal Karmali & Hyundai Motors Kenya Limited v Chief Magistrate's Court Nairobi & Attorney General
    [2006] KEHC 3433 (KLR)
  • Director of Public Prosecutions v Mutua & another (Anti-Corruption and Economic Crimes Case E027 of 2024)
  • Christopher Ndarathi Murungaru v Kenya Anti-Corruption Commission & another
    [2006] eKLR
  • Jago v District Court of NSW and Others
    [1989] HCA 46
  • Republic v Director of Public Prosecution & Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission Ex Parte Chamanlal Vrajlal Kamani & 2 others
    [2015] eKLR / Judicial Review Application 78 of 2015
  • Republic v Attorney General & 3 others; Pattni (Ex parte)
    [2013] KEHC 6092 (KLR)
  • Republic v Nyakundi
    [2023] KEHC 1063 (KLR)
  • Kennedy Otieno Agwaro & 2 others v Director, Criminal Investigations Department & 2 others
    [2017] KEHC 8820 (KLR)
  • Agricultural, Horticultural and Forest Industry Training Board v Aylesbury Mushrooms Ltd
    [1972] 1 All ER 280
  • SDV Transami Kenya Limited & 19 others v Attorney General & 2 others; Container Freight Association of Kenya (Interested Party)
    [2016] KEHC 571 (KLR)
  • Centre for Rights Education and Awareness (CREAW) & 7 others v Attorney General
    [2011] KEHC 4297 (KLR)
  • Solomon Chemjor & 7 others v Commission for University Education & 3 others
    [2017] KEHC 5845 (KLR)
  • Saisi & 7 others v Director of Public Prosecutions & 2 others (Petition 39 & 40 of 2019 (Consolidated))
    [2023] KESC 6 (KLR)
  • Dande & 3 others v Inspector General, National Police Service & 5 others
    [2023] KESC 40 (KLR)
  • Kenya Vision 2030 Delivery Board v Commission on Administrative Justice & 2 others
    SC Petition No 42 of 2019; (2021) eKLR
  • In the Matter of Council of Governors & 47 others (Reference 3 of 2019)
    [2020] KESC 65 (KLR)
  • Thuita Mwangi & Anor v The Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission & 3 Others
    Petition No. 153 & 369 of 2013
  • Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission v James Makura M'abira
    [2020] eKLR
  • R. v Director of Criminal Investigation Department & Others
    (2016) eKLR
  • Charles Okello Mwanda v Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission & 3 Others
    (2014) eKLR
  • Ramalingam Ravinthran v Attorney General
    [2012] SGCA 2
  • Republic v Director of Public Prosecutions & 2 others; Wanyama (Ex Parte Applicant)
    [2024] KEHC 7362 (KLR)
  • Mbuthia v Attorney General & 3 others
    [2022] KECA 980 (KLR)
  • Development Bank of Kenya Ltd v Director of Public Prosecutions & Inspector General of Police; Giriama Ranching Company Limited (Interested Party)
    [2020] KEHC 9416 (KLR)
  • Joseph Karanja Kanyi t/a Kanyi J & Co Advocates v Director of Public Prosecutions & others
    [2020] KEHC 5987 (KLR)
  • Diamond Hasham Lalji & Ahmed Hasham Lalji v Attorney General & others
    [2018] KECA 856 (KLR) / [2018] eKLR
  • Republic v Judicial Commission of Inquiry into The Goldenberg Affair & 2 others Ex-parte George Saitoti
    [2006] KEHC 3533 (KLR)
  • Republic v Fahmi Salim Said
    [2013] KEHC 1743 (KLR)
  • Ahmed Rashid Jabril & another v Director of Public Prosecutions
    [2020] eKLR
  • Republic v Enock Wekesa & another
    [2010] KEHC 4133 (KLR)
  • Reuben Mwangi v DPP & 2 others; UAP Insurance & another (Interested Parties)
    [2021] eKLR
  • Anthony Murimi Waigwe v Attorney General & 4 others
    [2020] eKLR
  • Richard Malebe v Director of Public Prosecutions & others
    [2020] KEHC 5413 (KLR)
  • Johnson Kamau Njuguna & anor v DPP
    [2018] eKLR
  • Kipkoi Oreu Tasur v Inspector General of Police & 5 Ors
    (2014) eKLR
  • Republic v Leonard Date Sekento
    [2019] eKLR
  • Mohammed Ali Swaleh v DPP & anor Ex Parte Titus Musau Ndome
    [2017] eKLR
  • Waweru Munyi Jackson v DCI & 4 others; Grace Wamboi Mukuna (Interested Party)
    [2021] eKLR
  • Eunice Khalwali Miima v Director of Public Prosecutions & 2 others
    [2017] eKLR
  • Kinyanjui v Kinyanjui
    [1995-98] 1 EA 146
  • Republic v Commissioner of Lands & Another Ex Parte Chetan Devji Shah & Another
    [2011] eKLR
  • British American Tobacco Kenya Ltd v Cabinet Secretary for the Ministry of Health, Tobacco Control Board & Attorney General of Kenya
    [2015] KEHC 8193 (KLR)
  • Republic v Ministry of Health & others Ex-parte Kennedy Amdany Langat & 14 others & Amit Kwatra & 12 others
    [2018] KEHC 5221 (KLR)
  • Modevao v Department of Labour
    [190] INZLR 464
  • Jared Benson Kangwana v Attorney General
    Nairobi High Court Misc. Application No. 446 of 1995 (unreported)
  • J.P. Machira T/A Machira & Company Advocates v Wangethi Mwangi & another
    [1998] eKLR
  • George P. B. Ogendo v James Nandasa & 4 others
    [2006] eKLR
  • Williams v Spautz
    [1992] 66 NSWLR 585
  • Lawrence v Lord Norreys
    15 A.C. 210
  • D.T. Dobie & Company (Kenya) Limited v Joseph Mbaria Muchina & Another
    [1980] eKLR
  • R v DPP & Others Ex Parte Qian Guo Jun & Anor
    [2013] eKLR
  • G & C Kreglinger v New Patagonia Meat & Cold Storage Co. Ltd
    [1913] UKHL 1; [1914] AC 25
  • Stanbic Bank Kenya Ltd v Santowels Ltd (Petition E005 of 2023)
    [2024] KESC 31 (KLR)
  • Wafula v Director of Public Prosecutions; Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission & 2 others (Interested Parties) (Petition E045 of 2024)
    [2025] KESC 46 (KLR)
  • Cyrus Shakhalanga Khwa Jirongo v Soy Developers Ltd & 9 others
    SC Petition No 38 of 2019; (2021) eKLR
  • Commissioner of Police & the Director of Criminal Investigation Department v Kenya Commercial Bank Ltd & 4 others
    Civil Appeal No 56 of 2012 (2013) eKLR
  • RP Kapur v State of Punjab
    AIR 1960 SC 866
  • George Taitumu v Chief Magistrates Court, Kibera, Attorney General & Director of Public Prosecutions
    [2014] KEHC 6173 (KLR)
  • Fedrick Mulaa v Kenya Human Rights Commission And ODPP and 5 Others
    ACEC Pet No. E004 of 2024
  • Njenga v Inspector General of Police & 3 others; Kimani (Interested Party)
    (2023) KEHC 487 (KJLR)
  • Republic v Kenya Revenue Authority; Proto Energy Limited (Exparte)
    (2022) KEHC 5 (KLR)
  • Mwangi and Seven Others v Attorney General
    {2002} 2 KLR
Jurisdiction invoked
Sections 137D(3), 137A–137O of the Criminal Procedure Code; Articles 157(11), 159(2)(c) of the Constitution

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Republic v Obado & 17 others (Anti-Corruption and Economic Crimes Case E018 of 2020) [2026] KEMC 96 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Not stated in the judgment (Anti-Corruption and Economic Crimes case, Milimani). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/kemc/2026/96/eng@2026-05-15

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.