Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
MagistratePartially AllowedNot stated in the judgment

Machoka v Bidco Oil Refineries Ltd & another (Civil Suit 523 of 2018) [2026] KEMC 197 (KLR)

Chief Magistrates' Court (Magistrates' Court), Nakuru
25 June 2026
2,123 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~8 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Nakuru court awarded a former security guard Kshs. 1.6 million after his employer's careless theft complaint led to his arrest, detention and failed prosecution.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The plaintiff, a security guard at the 1st defendant's premises, sued over his arrest, 4-day detention without charge and prosecution for theft of crude oil valued at Kshs. 664,000/- following an oil spillage on 01/11/2013. He was acquitted under section 210 of the CPC for lack of evidence and sought general and exemplary damages, interest and costs. The 1st defendant denied liability, contending it merely reported the matter to police, who acted under statutory powers; the 2nd defendant likewise relied on statutory powers and called no evidence at trial. Applying the settled elements of malicious prosecution from the authorities cited, the court found that the 1st defendant, without due diligence or internal audit records, instigated the arrest; that termination in the plaintiff's favour was undisputed; and that once the plaintiff's testimony imputing malice (including alleged bribery) discharged the legal burden under section 107 of the Evidence Act, the evidential burden shifted to the 1st defendant, which failed to produce investigative reports, valuations or the investigating officer. Malice and absence of reasonable and probable cause were therefore proved. The court awarded Kshs. 1,600,000/- as consolidated general damages, raised from the comparable award in Nahashon Mwangi Mwaura due to inflation, taking into account the 4-day confinement infringing liberty and the 3 years and 7 months of prosecution. Exemplary damages were declined as the award was deemed sufficient. The plaintiff was awarded costs and interest on all sums at court's rates. Judgment delivered at Nakuru on 25th June 2026 by Senior Principal Magistrate Aloyce Peter Ndege.

Questions the Court framed

#

The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.

  1. 1.Whether the plaintiff has been able to prove his case against the defendants herein, i.e. whether all the essential elements of the tort of malicious prosecution were proved
  2. 2.Whether the prosecution of the plaintiff was instigated by the 1st defendant
  3. 3.Whether the prosecution terminated in the plaintiff's favour
  4. 4.Whether the prosecution was instituted and continued without reasonable and probable cause
  5. 5.Whether the prosecution was actuated by malice
  6. 6.What reliefs (general and exemplary damages, interest and costs) should be awarded

Key legal issues

#
01

Instigation of the prosecution by the 1st defendant

Holding

The 1st defendant, without due diligence, caused the plaintiff's arrest; the whole process was instigated by it

Reasoning

The court found the plaintiff's testimony more believable than DW1's on a balance of probability. DW1 alluded to due diligence involving the production manager, but no internal report, memo or internal audit was produced to substantiate the claim, so the complaint to police that set the law in motion was attributed to the 1st defendant.

p. 3
02

Favourable termination

Holding

The prosecution terminated in the plaintiff's favour by acquittal under section 210 of the CPC for lack of evidence

Reasoning

It was not disputed that the proceedings ended in the plaintiff's favour. From the acquittal ruling, only one witness testified and his evidence did not implicate the plaintiff; indeed he confirmed the plaintiff was a diligent worker.

p. 3
03

Absence of reasonable and probable cause and malice; burden of proof

Holding

Once the plaintiff discharged his legal burden by testimony imputing malice, the evidential burden shifted to the 1st defendant, which failed to produce investigative reports; malice was proved

Reasoning

Section 107 of the Evidence Act places the burden on the plaintiff, who testified he was arrested without proper interrogation and that bribery explained the charging of only three of six arrested. The 1st defendant failed to produce the internal audit, investigation reports or the valuation report of the stolen oil, and the investigating officer was not called, so dishonesty and malice were proved to the required standard.

p. 4
04

Quantum of damages

Holding

Consolidated general damages of Kshs. 1,600,000/- awarded, considering the 4 days' detention and the 3 years 7 months of prosecution; exemplary damages declined

Reasoning

The court relied on the comparable decision in Nahashon Mwangi Mwaura v Commissioner of Police & Another, raised the award therein to Kshs. 1,600,000/- due to inflation, and factored in the arrest, 4-day confinement infringing liberty, and the length of prosecution during which the 2nd defendant produced only 4 witnesses. The award was found sufficient, making exemplary damages unnecessary.

p. 4

Legal principles established

#
  • To succeed in malicious prosecution the plaintiff must prove prosecution instigated by the defendant, favourable termination, absence of reasonable and probable cause, and malice
  • The burden of proving absence of reasonable and probable cause and malice lies on the plaintiff, though an evidential burden may shift to the defendant to produce investigation records
  • An acquittal does not by itself connote malice, but absence of the complainant's investigation records may support a finding of malice

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Award of Kshs. 1,600,000/- as consolidated general damages for malicious prosecution, raised from the comparable award in Nahashon Mwangi Mwaura v Commissioner of Police & Another due to inflation
  2. 2.Refusal to award exemplary damages
  3. 3.Award of costs of the suit to the plaintiff
  4. 4.Award of interest on all sums at court's rates

The bench

#

One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.

Wrote the judgment

Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil jurisdiction of the magistrates' court over the tort of malicious prosecution

Relief refused

#

Exemplary damages

The consolidated general damages award was found sufficient; exemplary damages unnecessary

p. 4

Costs

The plaintiff is awarded the costs of the suit and interest on all sums at court's rates

Quotable passages

#

Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.

The plaintifi is also hereby awarded the costs and interest on all the sums herein at court’s rates.
p. 4Final orders - costs and interest
due to the costs of infiation, I do hereby raise the award therein to Kshs. 1,600,000/as consolidated general damages award herein
p. 4Award of general damages
I thus do not find it necessary to award exemplary damages herein
p. 4Refusal of exemplary damages
Applying the above principles, and having considered the fact that the plaintifi discharge his legal burden of proving the dishonesty in the whole process I do find malice has been proved to the required standards.
p. 4Finding on malice
To prosecute a person is not prima facie tortious, but to do so dishonestly or unreasonably is.
p. 4Principles of malicious prosecution (as cited from James Karuga Kiiru)

Issues in the judgment

#
minor

Judgment refers to the 1st defendant as 'Appellant' in paragraph 11, although this is a first-instance suit

minor

Delivery date stated as 25th June 2026, which appears anomalous relative to a suit filed in 2018 and heard earlier

minor

Recurring typographical errors ('plaintifi', 'efience', 'Chrage sheet', 'overfiated') suggesting OCR defects in the text

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Machoka v Bidco Oil Refineries Ltd & another (Civil Suit 523 of 2018) [2026] KEMC 197 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/kemc/2026/197/eng@2026-06-25

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.