Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
MagistrateOther(not stated in the judgment provided)· [2026] KEMC 371 (KLR)

Republic v Ali (Criminal Case E009 of 2026) [2026] KEMC 371 (KLR)

Magistrates' Court (Lamu Law Courts)
28 July 2026
2,104 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~8 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Lamu court convicted a fuel-siphoning worker of assault causing bodily harm, rejecting the P3 form's claim that the victim's injuries amounted to grievous harm.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The accused was tried on a charge of doing grievous harm contrary to section 234 of the Penal Code, arising from an incident on 27 February 2026 at Patte area, Lamu East, in which it was alleged he unlawfully assaulted Samuel Arimba Odhiambo with a wooden stick. Four prosecution witnesses testified. The complainant, a supervisor, said he found the accused siphoning fuel from a water bowser, took photographs, and was attacked with a wooden stick, his phone snatched. An eyewitness, Pw2, corroborated this account. The medical officer produced the P3 form and treatment notes showing treatment for soft tissue injuries with pain killers and discharge. The accused gave sworn testimony asserting the complainant provoked the incident, which the court rejected as uncorroborated and unsupported by any medical evidence of his own injuries. The court found the assault proved and unlawful. However, applying the definition of grievous harm requiring permanent or likely permanent injury to health, the court found the soft tissue injuries did not meet that threshold and rejected the medical officer's P3 assessment of grievous harm, which had departed unexplained from the treatment notes. The injuries were classified as actual bodily harm. The court convicted the accused of assault causing actual bodily harm contrary to section 251 of the Penal Code under section 215 of the CPC. No sentence was recorded in the judgment provided.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the injuries sustained amounted to grievous harm

Holding

The injuries were soft tissue injuries with no evidence of permanent or serious injury to health; they amounted to actual bodily harm, not grievous harm

Reasoning

The medical officer testified the complainant was treated for soft tissue injuries, given pain killers and allowed home, and was in fair general condition with no major concerns. The court found the officer's P3 assessment of grievous harm unexplained and unreliable, departing as it did from the treatment notes. Applying the distinction between grievous harm (permanent or likely permanent injury to health) and bodily harm, the court classified the injuries as actual bodily harm under section 251.

p. 4
02

Whether the accused unlawfully assaulted the complainant

Holding

The assault was proved and was unlawful; the defence account that the complainant provoked or attacked him was rejected as uncorroborated and unsupported by medical evidence

Reasoning

The eyewitness Pw2 corroborated the complainant's account that the accused siphoned fuel and, when confronted after the complainant took photographs, attacked him with a wooden stick and snatched his phone. The accused's contrary account blaming the complainant was uncorroborated, and no medical evidence proved any injuries the accused claimed to have suffered. The court therefore found the assault unlawful.

p. 3

Legal principles established

#
  • Whether harm amounts to grievous harm must be determined from the evidence, assisted by medical evidence, guided by the definition in the Penal Code
  • Grievous harm requires injury to health that is permanent or likely to be permanent, whereas bodily harm need not be permanent

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The accused is convicted for the offence of assault causing actual bodily harm contrary to section 251 of the Penal Code under section 215 of the CPC
Jurisdiction invoked
Criminal jurisdiction over the offence of doing grievous harm contrary to section 234 of the Penal Code (first-instance trial)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Republic v Ali (Criminal Case E009 of 2026) [2026] KEMC 371 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). (not stated in the judgment provided). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/kemc/2026/371/eng@2026-07-28

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.