Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
MagistratePartially AllowedNot stated in the judgment as provided (Bungoma Chief Magistrate's Court civil suit)

Barasa v Wamalwa (Civil Case E261 of 2025) [2026] KEMC 560 (KLR)

Chief Magistrate's Court (Magistrates' Court), Bungoma
30 April 2026
4,046 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~16 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
This was a first-instance road traffic accident suit before the Bungoma magistrates' court. The Plaintiff, a motorcycle rider, sought general damages, Kshs. 500,000/= for rehabilitation and fixing of an artificial leg, special damages of Kshs. 57,725/=, loss of earning capacity, interest and costs, alleging that on 17th April 2025 the Defendant's motor vehicle KBM 865 X lost control, encroached into his lane along the Bunambobi–Kimwanga murram road near Mayanja bridge, and caused an accident that led to amputation of his left leg above the knee, loss of his security guard income and 40% permanent incapacity. The Defendant denied negligence and, in the alternative, blamed the Plaintiff. The court framed two issues: liability and quantum. Finding the direct testimony of PW1 corroborated by the investigating officer PW2, whose credibility it accepted, and rejecting the absence of sketch maps and photographs as fatal, the court held the accident occurred when the motor vehicle encroached into the motorcycle's lane and found the Defendant 100% liable. On quantum, guided by comparable-amputation awards, it awarded general damages of Kshs. 2,000,000/=. Treating the mischaracterised pleading as poor draftsmanship and invoking equity as a constitutional imperative under Article 10, it awarded loss of earnings of Kshs. 720,000/= using a four-year multiplier on the pleaded Kshs. 15,000/= monthly income. It awarded Kshs. 200,000/= as a global figure for future medical expenses and only Kshs. 8,550/= in special damages, rejecting an unendorsed hospital invoice. Judgment was entered for a total of Kshs. 2,928,550/= with interest and costs to the Plaintiff.

Questions the Court framed

#

The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.

  1. 1.Liability for the road traffic accident of 17th April 2025
  2. 2.Quantum of damages: general damages for pain, suffering and loss of amenities; loss of earnings/earning capacity; future medical expenses; and special damages

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the Defendant was liable for the road traffic accident

Holding

The Defendant was found 100% liable because the motor vehicle encroached into the motorcycle's lawful lane on a narrow murram road

Reasoning

PW1 gave direct evidence that the motor vehicle, coming from the opposite direction at speed, encroached into his lane and that his attempt to swerve could not avert the collision. PW2, the investigating officer, visited the scene on the day of the accident and corroborated PW1. The court found PW2 credible on observing his demeanour, rejected the challenge to his status as investigating officer (the police abstract named him), and held that although sketch maps and photographs would have been desirable, the direct testimony was sufficiently corroborated.

p. 4
02

Whether the Plaintiff was entitled to damages for loss of earnings despite pleading loss of earning capacity

Holding

The court treated the mischaracterised pleading as poor draftsmanship and awarded loss of earnings of Kshs. 720,000/= using the multiplier approach

Reasoning

A purposive reading of the Amended Plaint showed the Plaintiff had given the Defendant sufficient notice that he was claiming the monthly income of Kshs. 15,000/= lost due to the amputation, pleaded and corroborated by evidence. Invoking equity, which the court held Article 10 of the Constitution elevates to a constitutional imperative, the court refused to deny the lawful claim merely because counsel mischaracterised it. With the Plaintiff aged 59 and a life expectancy of about 64 for Kenyan males, a multiplier of four years was adopted for the vicissitudes of life.

p. 6
03

Quantum of general damages for amputation of the left leg above the knee with 40% permanent incapacity

Holding

General damages of Kshs. 2,000,000/= awarded, taking cue from comparable amputation awards, particularly the C M case

Reasoning

Guided by the principle of comparable injuries attracting comparable awards, the court reviewed awards for traumatic leg amputations, including Kshs. 2,100,000/= upheld by the Court of Appeal for amputation above the knee and Kshs. 2,000,000/= for an amputation with 40% permanent incapacity. It rejected the Plaintiff's reliance on an unrelated multiple-fractures case and the Defendant's outdated 2014-2017 awards of Kshs. 800,000/- to 1,300,000/-, which failed to account for inflation. Following C M (supra), it made an award of Kshs. 2,000,000/=.

p. 5
04

Whether future medical expenses of Kshs. 500,000/= for a prosthesis were proved

Holding

The claim was well-founded but, as Dr. Ekesa did not testify on the type and cost of the prosthesis, a global award of Kshs. 200,000/= was made

Reasoning

There was no dispute the Plaintiff required a prosthesis for mobility, and Dr. Ekesa's report placed the cost between Kshs. 50,000/= and Kshs. 500,000/= depending on type and functionality. Since Dr. Ekesa did not testify, the court was left at sea on the exact sum. Considering the totality of the circumstances, including that temporary prostheses require replacement and are costly in the long run, a global award of Kshs. 200,000/= was appropriate.

p. 8
05

Whether special damages of Kshs. 57,725/= were proved

Holding

Only Kshs. 8,550/= (Kshs. 8,000/= for medical reports and Kshs. 550/= NTSA receipt) was proved; the Kshs. 39,175/= hospital invoice failed

Reasoning

Dr. Ekesa's receipts proved Kshs. 8,000/= and the NTSA receipt Kshs. 550/=. The Kshs. 39,175/= invoice from Bungoma County Referral Hospital was a proforma-type invoice not endorsed 'paid' and unaccompanied by a receipt; following the Total Kenya Ltd/Great Lakes Transport line of authority, it could not prove expenditure. Witness expenses were held to be costs of the suit, assessable at the costs stage, not special damages.

p. 8

Legal principles established

#
  • In assessment of damages, comparable injuries should as far as possible be compensated by comparable awards keeping in mind the correct level of awards in similar cases
  • Loss of income/future earnings is a real assessable loss proved by evidence, while loss of earning capacity is compensated by an award in general damages once proved
  • An invoice not endorsed 'paid' and not accompanied by a corresponding receipt cannot be used to prove an expenditure
  • A court may adopt either the multiplier approach or a global award in assessing loss of earnings, the multiplier approach being only one aid in the assessment of damages

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Judgment entered against the Defendant with liability at 100%
  2. 2.General damages of Kshs. 2,000,000/= for pain, suffering and loss of amenities
  3. 3.Loss of income of Kshs. 720,000/= (Kshs. 15,000/= x 12 x 4 multiplier approach)
  4. 4.Future medical expenses of Kshs. 200,000/= for rehabilitation and prosthesis
  5. 5.Special damages of Kshs. 8,550/= proved
  6. 6.Total award of Kshs. 2,928,550/= to the Plaintiff
  7. 7.General damages to accrue interest at court rate from the date of judgment till payment in full
  8. 8.Special damages to accrue interest at court rate from the date of filing suit till payment in full
  9. 9.Plaintiff awarded the costs of the suit

The bench

#

One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.

TO
T.O. OmonoSenior Resident Magistrate
majority

Wrote the judgment

Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil jurisdiction of the magistrates' court over the tort claim (the Defendant expressly conceded that the court had the requisite jurisdiction to hear and determine the suit)

Relief refused

#

Special damages claim of Kshs. 39,175/= for treatment expenses supported only by a hospital invoice

The invoice was not endorsed 'paid' and was not accompanied by a corresponding receipt, so it could not prove the expenditure

p. 8

Witnesses' expenses as special damages

Costs of the suit are assessed during assessment of costs and cannot be claimed under the rubric of special damages

p. 8

Costs

The Plaintiff will have the costs of this suit.

Quotable passages

#

Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.

Given the reasons above, this court finds the Defendant 100% liable for the occurrence of the accident.
p. 4Liability
The upshot of the foregoing is that judgment is entered against the Defendant in the following terms
p. 8Final orders/disposition
The general damages will accrue interest at court rate from the date of this judgment till payment in full, while special damages will accrue interest at court rate from the date of filing this suit till payment in full.
p. 9Interest
The Plaintifi will have the costs of this suit.
p. 9Costs
in assessment of damages, the general approach should be that comparable injuries should, as far as possible, be compensated by comparable awards keeping in mind the correct level of awards in similar cases.
p. 4Assessment of damages
Loss of income or future earnings is compensated for real assessable loss, which is proved by evidence. On the other hand, loss of earning capacity is compensated by an award in general damages, once proved.
p. 6Loss of earnings vs loss of earning capacity
Since 2010, the maxims of equity are constitutional values such that, for instance, whoever is guilty of laches is not in consonance with the Constitution
p. 6Equity as a constitutional imperative

Issues in the judgment

#
minor

The Plaintiff's pleaded monthly income and his testimony differ - the Amended Plaint pleaded Kshs. 15,000/= while his testimony referred to Kshs. 16,000/=, and the court awarded on the pleaded figure

minor

The names of the medical report authors differ between the evidence recital and the consent admitting the report - the judgment discusses reports by Dr. Ekesa and Dr. Osuri, while the consent recorded on 09th April 2026 admitted a report by 'Dr. Daniel Osiro'

minor

The award figure is inconsistently written as 'Kshs. 2000,000/=' in the judgment text and the final orders, evidently intended as Kshs. 2,000,000/=

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Barasa v Wamalwa (Civil Case E261 of 2025) [2026] KEMC 560 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Not stated in the judgment as provided (Bungoma Chief Magistrate's Court civil suit). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/kemc/2026/560/eng@2026-04-30

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.