Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
Court of AppealPartially AllowedNot stated in the judgment copy

Ngura v Republic (Criminal Appeal E076 of 2026) [2026] KECA 1496 (KLR)

Court of Appeal of Kenya
24 July 2026
1,274 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~5 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

Kenya's Court of Appeal refused to reduce a statutory minimum 20-year defilement sentence but backdated it to the date of first arrest arraignment.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
This is a second appeal to the Court of Appeal at Eldoret against sentence only. The appellant had been convicted by the Principal Magistrate's Court at Kapenguria on five counts of defilement contrary to section 8(1) as read with section 8(3) of the Sexual Offences Act and sentenced to 20 years' imprisonment on each count, the sentences to run concurrently. The trial court rejected his defence that the 15-year-old complainant was his wife, terming child marriage repugnant to justice and morality and contrary to the Constitution. The High Court dismissed his first appeal, upholding both conviction and sentence. Before the Court of Appeal the appellant abandoned the appeal against conviction and pressed two complaints: that the 20-year term should be reduced given his claimed remorse, reform and rehabilitation, and that both courts below failed to credit the period he had spent in custody before conviction and sentence. The Court confirmed that its jurisdiction on second appeal is confined by section 361(1) of the Criminal Procedure Code to matters of law. It declined to reduce the sentence: 20 years is the statutory minimum for defilement under section 8(3), and binding Supreme Court decisions in Republic v Manyeso and Republic v Ayako leave courts no room to tinker with statutory minimum sentences. On custody, however, applying the proviso to section 333(2) of the Criminal Procedure Code, the Court found that neither court below had accounted for the appellant's custody from his first arraignment on 25 March 2014. The appeal was allowed only to the extent that the effective date of the sentence was declared to be 25 March 2014.

Questions the Court framed

#

The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.

  1. 1.Whether the sentence of 20 years should be reduced.
  2. 2.Whether the period spent in custody during trial should be taken into account.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the Court of Appeal on second appeal may reduce a sentence that is the statutory minimum prescribed by section 8(3) of the Sexual Offences Act.

Holding

No. The 20-year term is the statutory minimum for defilement under section 8(3); where a statute imposes a minimum sentence, courts have no room to tinker with it, and this Court is bound by the Supreme Court's decisions to that effect.

Reasoning

The appellant sought reduction on the ground of remorse, reform and rehabilitation. The Court accepted his stated change of heart but held that the 20-year term is the minimum prescribed for defilement under section 8(3) of the Sexual Offences Act. Citing the Supreme Court's decisions in Republic v Manyeso and Republic v Ayako, which bind it, the Court stated that where a statute imposes a minimum sentence, courts have no room to tinker with it, and it therefore had no power to interfere.

p. 2
02

Whether the period spent in custody before conviction and sentence must be taken into account, and from what date the sentence runs.

Holding

Yes. Under the proviso to section 333(2) of the Criminal Procedure Code a sentence must take account of pre-sentence custody, meaning proportionate reduction of the imposed term, not a bare statement that the period was considered. Because the appellant was in custody from first arraignment, his sentence runs from 25th March 2014.

Reasoning

The proviso to section 333(2) of the Criminal Procedure Code, introduced in 2007, obliges a sentencing court to take account of time spent in custody during trial; the Judiciary Sentencing Policy Guidelines warn that failure to do so produces punishment disproportionate to the offence. This Court's precedents require proportional reduction, not a bare statement that custody was considered. The record showed the appellant was first arraigned on 25 March 2014, could not meet bail terms and remained in custody until conviction on 5 November 2014. Neither court below credited that period, so the Court corrected the error by backdating the sentence.

p. 3
03

What is the scope of this Court's jurisdiction on a second appeal under section 361(1) of the Criminal Procedure Code?

Holding

A second appeal is confined to matters of law; the Court will not interfere with concurrent findings of fact unless they are based on no evidence, on a misapprehension of the evidence, or were reached on demonstrably wrong principles.

Reasoning

Section 361(1) of the Criminal Procedure Code restricts a second appeal to matters of law. Restating the principle recently reaffirmed in Mwangi v Republic, the Court held that it will not disturb concurrent findings of fact of the two courts below unless those findings are unsupported by evidence or demonstrably perverse. The principle was not decisive here because the appellant abandoned the appeal against conviction, leaving only questions of sentence, which are matters of law.

p. 2

Legal principles established

#
  • A second appeal is confined to matters of law: a second appellate court will not interfere with concurrent findings of fact of the trial court and first appellate court unless those findings are based on no evidence, on a misapprehension of the evidence, or were reached on demonstrably wrong principles.
  • Where a statute prescribes a minimum sentence, sentencing courts have no discretion to reduce or otherwise tinker with that sentence.
  • A sentencing court must take account of the period an accused spent in custody before sentence; doing so requires reducing the imposed period proportionately by that time, and a bare statement that the period was considered while the sentence runs from conviction amounts to ignoring it altogether.
  • Where an accused remained in custody from first arraignment, the sentence takes effect from the date of first arraignment rather than from the date of conviction or sentence.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The appeal succeeds only to the extent that the effective date of the appellant's sentence of 20 years' imprisonment is declared to be 25th March 2014, being the date he was first presented for plea; the conviction and the concurrent 20-year sentences otherwise stand undisturbed.

The bench

#

One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.

majority
majority
majority
On appeal from
High Court of Kenya
Jurisdiction invoked
Section 361(1) of the Criminal Procedure Code - on second appeal the Court's jurisdiction is restricted to matters of law.

Relief refused

#

Reduction of the 20-year term of imprisonment

The 20-year term is the statutory minimum for defilement under section 8(3) of the Sexual Offences Act; bound by the Supreme Court's decisions in Republic v Manyeso and Republic v Ayako, the Court had no power to reduce it notwithstanding the appellant's plea of remorse, reform and rehabilitation.

p. 2

Costs

No order as to costs was made in the judgment.

Quotable passages

#

Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.

This appeal therefore succeeds only to the extent that the efiective date of the appellant's sentence of 20 years' imprisonment is declared to be 25th March 2014, being the date he was first presented for plea. We so direct.
p. 3Final orders - effective date of sentence declared to be the date of first arraignment
we recognise that the 20 years' imprisonment handed to him is the minimum sentence for a charge of defilement under section 8(3) of the Sexual Offences Act.
p. 2Statutory minimum sentence
Provided that where the person sentenced under subsection (1) has, prior to such sentence, been held in custody, the sentence shall take account of the period spent in custody.
p. 2Proviso to section 333(2) of the Criminal Procedure Code
It is clear that the period during which an accused has been in custody before being sentenced must be taken into account in meting out the sentence.
p. 3Custody before sentence must be credited
It is not enough for the court to merely state that it has taken into account the period already spent in custody and still order the sentence to run from the date of conviction because that amounts to ignoring altogether the period already spent in custody.
p. 3Meaning of taking custody into account - proportionate reduction required
From the record, neither the trial court nor the first appellate court took into account the period the appellant was in custody, prior to conviction. As a consequence, it falls on us to correct this error, committed by the two courts below.
p. 3Error of the courts below on custody credit
His sentence should consequently run from 25th March 2014, when he was first arraigned in court.
p. 3Sentence commencement date

Issues in the judgment

#
material

The provided copy of the judgment contains no caption: the appeal number, neutral citation and the appellant's name are nowhere stated (the appellant is referred to only as 'the appellant'), so caseTitle, caseNumber and neutralCitation are placeholders.

minor

The copy contains apparent typographical/OCR errors ('ofiences' for offences, 'afirmed' for affirmed, 'efiective' for effective); all verbatim quotes are reproduced exactly as they appear in the copy.

minor

Internal inconsistency: the sentence introducing the Ahamad Abolfathi Mohammed decision describes the proviso as being to 'section 333(2) of the Penal Code', whereas the judgment elsewhere correctly attributes the proviso to section 333(2) of the Criminal Procedure Code.

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Ngura v Republic (Criminal Appeal E076 of 2026) [2026] KECA 1496 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Not stated in the judgment copy. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keca/2026/1496/eng@2026-07-24

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.